Posted in Recipes

Delia’s jerusalem artichokes & carrot soup

A tasty, warm good-for-you soup!

Every winter, I make this tasty, thicker winter soup a few times.

It is a lovely recipe from Delia Smith.
It is also a ” good for you ” soup. It has Jerusalem artichokes, carrots, celery roots , one onion & vegetable stock. 
I am sending this tasty soup over @ my friend’s Brittany’s blog: Real Sustenance. She organises a speciall Seasonal’s Sundays & you can also take part! Juct click onto the link & you will find out!!
Ingredients:
450 gr of peeled carrots, top & tail removed & cut into rounds
1100 gr of Jerusalem artichokes,weighted with peel on, peeled & cut into 2 or 4, placed into a bowl with cold water & some white wine vinegar( to keep the white colour )
baking margarine or some butter
3 or 4 celery roots & tops, cleaned & cut into little pieces
1 large white onion, peeled & finely diced
1.5 liter of a good gluten-free vegetable stock

Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot or a steam cooker & heat up on medium. Add some baking margarine or some butter to the pot & let it melt.
2. When hot & sizzling, add the chopped onion & chopped celery, stir frequently for about 5 minutes. Drain the Jerusalem artichokes & add them to the pot. Stir well. Let the vegetables sweat for another 10 minutes on medium heat. When the vegetables are soft, add the vegetable stock & stir well. Turn the heat on high. When the soup is just boiling, I place the steamlid on the cooking pot & let it sit for about 10 to 15 minutes on a high heat or until the air is sizzling very much, makes a lot of noise & then I turn the heat off. Carefully, place the pot on another place on the stovepot. With the help of a wooden spoon, I open the valve of the steamcooker & let the steam slip away! When there is no steam left and it has stopped sizzling, you can open the steamlid. If you don’t have a steamcooker, just cook the veggies al dente. Taste the soup. If you want, add a few grinds of black pepper. Taste again. Now, mix the soup. It is a thicker but lovely soup.
3. Laddle your soup in nice soup bowls & add a few fresh washed parsley leaves on top! Enjoy!
This is also good with some fresh cream poured over the top of the soup!

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

83 thoughts on “Delia’s jerusalem artichokes & carrot soup

  1. Sophie, what a beautiful picture! I love all of your unique and delicious soups. Thank you for posting this one!

  2. I'm not sure I've ever tried Jerusalem artichokes, let alone cooked with them. The soup looks wonderful, and the picture is of great quality!

  3. Lovely soup, actually I still have not used artichokes in my cooking yet. I saw many today in the supermarket. Hope to try soon. Your soup looks very comforting. BTW, thanks for your resto suggestion last time. I managed to go out in Brussels for a few hours in dry condition for the two days I was there.

  4. This IS a very lovely photo and I like that the ingredients are simple, so that even I could probably make it. Yum!Have a good Sunday.Paz

  5. SophieI can't believe this soup does not contain any cream and yet it looks so creamy and rich! I love it! It is high time I start using Jerusalme artichokes!

  6. Hi Sophie!This is a beautiful soup. I just bought some Jerusalem artichokes today, so guess what I'm making tonight? 🙂

  7. I learned to love jerusalem artichokes in Paris last year – we had it roasted with monkfish – it was so delicious we ended up eating it three times while we were there! I always thought it would only taste good roasted – but now, you've convinced me otherwise!

  8. That soup is beautiful! What an appealing color. never had Jerusalem artichokes but now I definitely want to!

  9. I love the color, and it sounds delicious! I should look into Delia's recipes–I've never cooked her food and it always sounds great.

  10. How perfect, I was just day dreaming about buying some sunchokes, but couldn't figure out what to do with them. This soup looks like a great place to start!

  11. You now doing Delia, or your own versions of her soup…I must say it looks very very nice for this cold weather we having of -5 Celsius, very nice and thick soup is very comforting. Cheers for the lovely recipe. kisses xx

  12. Hey Sophie!!Greetings from Nashville Tennessee! Home of Feeding Groom. Thanks so much for all of your support this year. You're my inspiration and I can't wait to try this soup.Happy March…Mary

  13. beautiful soup, sophie! i love the color that carrots lend to a dish, and i really think artichokes should be used more often. great recipe!

  14. Love this soup, Sophie. I'm familiar with celery root but I've never tasted Jerusalem artichoke. Does it taste like the plain, old grocery store variety. Great flavors going on here.

  15. j'adore le topinambour, en soupe, en gratin ou encore à la vinaigrette !!!je dois en planter cette année au potager !!!merci pour cette jolie recette !!bises virginie

  16. Hi Sophie,I've missed all my bloggie friends, I've been working flat out at the hospital, hope you're well. I will give your soup a go this weekend, I have to admit I have yet to try Jerusalem artichokes, so it will be a first for me, hope I can get them at the supermarket x

  17. Sophie, if you make this luscious, thick, warming soup every year it must be great! It looks delicious! And with the winter back in full force soup is a must.

  18. We never eat Jerusalem artichokes or sun chokes very often, they are hard to come by here. The Food Co-op usually has them, but I rarely think of them. That soup looks delicious, just added the chokes to my grocery list!

  19. that is a lovely soup Sophie. I always trust you to make something health every time and delicious too! I love delia smith…I have her book on bakes …I used to watch her tv show a long time ago…shes really cute .

  20. The only thing I am going to miss about winter is "good for you" soups. Yours looks lovely. The color is beautiful. Thank you for sharing, Sophie…

  21. That's a lovely photo, Sophie! I love artichokes, but have never made a soup with them. The color is divine and it looks like you have added cream, but it's not an ingredient. However did it get so creamy? I'm not familiar with Delia Smith, but I'll sure look her up!

  22. Hi Sophie! 🙂 What a wonderful looking soup – so unique! I've been having nothing but lentil soup for a while now and this inspired me to try something new. I've never had artichoke soup before so I'm so excited to try this 🙂

  23. I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users will be guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site. Please visit http://cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply for additional information or contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com for more information, to get unique link to claim and customize your profile.

  24. The Queen of Soups strikes again 🙂 I have quite a few go-to Delia recipes in my repertoire and this looks like a lovely one to add to the collection.

  25. Sophie – this soup looks soooo creeeeaaaamy, silky and delicious. You are definitely the queen when it comes to a beautiful and unique bowl of soup 🙂 Love the Jerusalem artichoke – carrot combo.

  26. Sophie, thanks for sharing this vegetarian soup! I've been always wanting to use these ingredients for a soup, glad I found one now. Thanks!

  27. Jerusalem Artichokes grow along the edges of farm fields around here, though I've never dug them up. I heard they make you a little bloated, have you had any troubles with that?

  28. Sophie! Thank you for all of your lovely comments on my website! You cant imagine how fantastic it was hearing someone had tried my pie crust half way across the world :)I LOVE this recipe. Jerusalem Artichokes are one of my favorite foods ( I have a recipe to post this week featuring them)I look forward to following you! Maybe you can teach me a thing or two about Belgium Cuisine! 🙂

  29. Great idea. I only first saw a jerusalem artichoke last year when they came in my CSA. I’ve only roasted them so would love to try this soup.

  30. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  31. Outstanding data! We appreciate you this precise, has been an appealing go by means of, inspiring keep up 🙂

Comments are closed.