Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon

on 16/11/2008

I adore cooking with forgotten vegetables. In Dutch we call them : aardperen, in Frech: topinambours. You can buy them in Brussels at the market or in food health shops. At the market, they are less expensive. You can store them quite well in a bag in the fridge. I do everything with them. I bake them, i cook them, i roast them & i make soup.

It is a very underestimated vegetable. I like the sweetness of them. It is also good for you. There is inulin in it . It is the oposit of insulin. This means it contains the good sugars. It is a good vegetable for diabetics! When you prepare the artichokes, when you peel them with a vegetablepeeler, you have to put them in acid water otherwise they will brown very quickly. They go very well with sage, garlic, potato, carrots, celery, onions, bacon, cheese,…:)
For 2 hungry people.
600 gr. of jerusalem artichokes, weight with peel on. Peel them with a potato peeler. It’s easy.
Cut them in chunks. Put them in acid water.
3 cloves of garlic, peeled & diced
a few sage leaves
2 bay leafs
200 gr. bacon, normal or smoked
salt: i prefer Maldon sea salt
black pepper
olive oil
1. Heat a large frying pan. Putt the oil in it. When the pan is hot, put the chunks of the artichokes in the pan. Brown on all sides. This could take 5 till 10 minutes, depending on the size of the chunks.
2.Add the garlic & bay leaf to the same pan. Stir well. Turn down the heat. Add pepper & salt. Add a bit of cider vinaigre. Stir well.
3. Bake the chunks for about another 10 minutes, or until cooked trough. Take out the bay leaf & add the few whole sage leaves. The leaves will crisp up.
4. In another pan, on the same time, fry the bacon.
5. Serve on a plate with cooked potatoes, the artichokes & the bacon.
Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of themjoin 1,365 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

16 responses to “jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon

  1. This looks wonderful. We’ve just discovered jerusalem artichokes (aka sunchokes) this year. My husband insists – absolutely insists – that they are “weird little potatoes.” I didn’t know about the inulin, though. I’ll try this sometime soon!

  2. Muneeba says:

    Ohhh .. so THAT’s what a jerusalem artichoke looks like. I’ve often wondered. How do they taste?

  3. Tom says:

    I love everything made with jerusalem artichokes! It looks good!!

  4. Susie says:

    This dish was absolutely terrific! Thanks again , Sophie!!!

  5. That’s great that you cooked with this! I admit I rarely look at them when I see them in the shops. And your recipe sounds absolutely delicious!

  6. Lydia says:

    I have been served these vegetables several times since moving to Belgium, and you have finally solved the mystery. Now I know how to cook them, I might even give it a try myself.

  7. Karri Savala says:

    Hello.This post was extremely fascinating, particularly because I was browsing for thoughts on this matter last week.

  8. Jocelyn says:

    Major thanks for the article post. Will read on…

  9. Very good blog – thanks!

  10. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  11. […] it is for free: RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup 2. Jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon Delia’s Jerusalem Artichokes & Carrot Soup Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]

  12. […] is a reasonable thick soup. I eat it with some crusty bread on the side! Enjoy! You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon 2. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon served with Parmesan thyme crisps 3. Delia’s […]

  13. Firma says:

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  14. Kathrin says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to offer one thing back and aid others such as you aided me.

Comments are closed.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers

