Posted in Gardening, Recipes

Vegan spelt gingered fig crumble!

Today, I made this glorious winning vegan spelt gingered fig crumble! Again, I had a lot of figs from my own fig tree!

This time, my husband Peter & I wanted to savour them in a lovely home-made spelt crumble! This is how we did it & we served it with a hot vegan vanilla pouring custard! πŸ˜‰

MMM!
MMM!

Recipe: For 4 portions

Ingredients:

* For the crumble topping:

100 gr white spelt flour

100 gr cold, straight from the fridge, vegan butter

40 gr coconut sugar

60 gr almond flakes

* For the ginger fig filling:

400 gr cleaned, stem cut of, fresh figs, each one cut up into 6 wedges ( weighted when cut up )

2 teaspoons ginger powder

50 gr coconut sugar

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β°C ( 350 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven.

2. Take a large bowl & ad fig wedges. Scatter your ginger powder & your coconut sugar all over the figs. Mix well with a spoon so that the figs are covered with ginger & coconut sugar. Set aside.

3. Now, make the crumble topping. Take a medium bowl ad spelt flour, cold vegan butter, coconut sugar & almond flakes. With clean hands, mingle everything together until your hands form smaller crumbs. This will only take a few minutes. Stop now or the warmth of your hands will melt the butter too much! πŸ™‚

4. Now, divide your filling between 2 cool oven dishes or put it all into 1 larger oven dish. You will see now that the coconut sugar has melted into the figs,..it will be yum yum,..later! πŸ™‚ Now, divide your crumble topping all over the figs, so that they are completely covered! Bake in the lower section of your oven for 20 minutes. Check them often , to see if you must lower your heat. Mines were done after 20 minutes in the preheated oven. Turn oven off & carefully with oven gloves remove them from the oven. Let them cool for about 5 minutes before savoring them! My hubby & I split a large oven between us. We served it with hot vegan pouring custard! Enjoy it twice! πŸ˜‰ MMM,…You will love it too! xΒ Stay tuned,Β Subscribe throughΒ the photo link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! Click onto this link below!

Β http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

You might like:
1. Mixed berry stem ginger crumble

2. Sophie’s spiced rhubarb & pear coconut crumble!

3. Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free strawberry rhubarb crumble!

4. Sophie’s orange, rhubarb & ginger crumble!

BewarenBewaren

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

75 thoughts on “Vegan spelt gingered fig crumble!

  1. Yum, Sophie! What a genius culinary idea to make a tasty fig crumble!
    I love ginger with figs too!

  2. I just made it too, dear Sophie! πŸ™‚ We served it with Devon hot custard!
    A divine combo! xxx

  3. so envious of your fig tree! And your blue casserole, lol. Enjoy your style very much, Sophie.

  4. This looks like a fantastic dessert. I love the combination of ginger and figs. I think I’d have to un-veganise it by adding a dollop of cream! xx

  5. Ginger and fig is a match made in heaven! I bet this would be great in a granola version. I would love this yummy dessert!

  6. Sophie, you are so lucky to have a bounty of figs. Love both of your recipes, they sound great.

  7. Mouth watering lovely crumble! I can imagine the taste, ahhh! And…figs from your own tree…What a blessing! Fresh fig is one expensive fruit here and I always go for the dried ones. Enjoy!

  8. Oh Sophie gingered fig crumble:-) awesome can I call u genuius

  9. It must be a real fig-fest over there! I still have trouble getting my hands on any decent fresh figs here on the east coast, no matter what season it is, so I’m rather jealous. Your crumble looks amazing!

  10. How fabulous are figs?! When figs are not in season I have a steady supply of the dried variety to get me through. Love this crumble, looks delicious and warming. πŸ™‚

  11. I mader your tasty easy crumble & loved every bite! It was fantastic, amazing & just wonderful too! x

  12. Just like Tomas, stated, I also loved your tasty delicious fig crumble, dear Sophie!

    I have been following your blog for many years now & I nearly made every recipe of yours! I know that is a lot!
    You are my inspiration on food! πŸ™‚ xx

    Many greetings from a foodie from Norway! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Kathy! Joehoeee! That makes me smile! πŸ™‚
      Now, I am blushing, you know! xxx

      You are so welcome! Many greetings from me from Belgium! x

Comments are closed.