Posted in Travelling

Travelling Sophie: Leuven, part 2!

This week, I traveled one afternoon to Leuven, you can read all about part 1 here!

I was also going to visit a lovely larger supermarket, called Origin O. It is near de Vismarkt. They sell organic & non-organic produce. Check it all out!

Adresse? Origine O, Leuven , Craenendonck 5 , 3000 Leuven/ Open?: Monday till Friday: from 9h till 18. 30 h & Saturday from 9h till 18 h.

They well a large sort of carob & vegan chocopastes!

They sell a large range of carob & vegan chocopastes! The one more expensive then the other! I prefer this vegan one, white & semi-sweet chocolate one. It is not too sweet either._mer7584It is from the Dutch brand: De Rit. Here is their website, in Dutch.

They also sell stevia-sweetened products, like stevia-sweetened Belgian chocolate bars from Cavalier, Stevia-sweetened choco pastes, alternative sugar sweetened speculaas-pastes, etc. There is also a large variety of Diabetic-friendly edible products, like marzipan, etc!

Yum Yum Yummm!
Yum Yum Yummm!

This shop also sells a whole arrange of superfood powders, all Raw, Vegan & Gluten-free! 🙂 They are reasonably priced too, except the raw 100% beetroot juice powder, that is very expensive: 24€ for 1 sachet of 200 gr!!! 😦

Here, in this shop, you can also find a large range of gluten-free products, mostly of the German brand: Schär! 😉 These are different sort of GF crackers, GF breads, GF cereal, GF breadcrumbs, GF cookies, GF chocolate cookies, GF waffles, GF wraps, etc! Yeahhh!

A large range of Gluten-Free edible products!
A large range of Gluten-Free edible products!

I also bought these lovely looking products that are Rice-whip & Soy-whip, both from the brand: Soyatoo! I am going to test them out soon! They are not so healthy, just read the ingredients, but I saw them 1.5 years ago, when I was visiting Germany, in Berlin’s vegan supermarket, Veganz, but I couldn’t take the whips with me because we were on a Holiday there & I already bought so many other edible vegan things! So, I am so happy that I found it nearby, here in Belgium! Yes! I also bought a vegan, non-soy cheese called, Cheezly!

My last stop, that afternoon, is something special for the meat-eaters among us, was the craft butchery, called De Artisanale Slagerij Rondou! Adresse? Pensstraat 5, 3000 Leuven. Open? Sunday & Monday closed. Open Tuesday till Thursday, from 9h till 13h & from 14h till 18h. Friday & Saturday, open from 8.30h-13h & from 14h-18h, but Saturday they close already at 17h! 🙂 Just click onto the following pictures, to read & see it all better!

De Ambachtelihke Slagerij Rondou!
De Artisanale Slagerij Rondou!

This is a really famous craft butchery in & round Leuven. All of the meat that they are selling is gluten-free except when the meat is a schnitzel & or a burger!! yes, yes! 🙂

They will sell your usual meat but also specialized meat like, calf’s brain, specialized beef sorts, etc! Just read it on & in the picture:

A large sort of different meat products!
A large sort of different meat products!
Waw, hey?
Waw, hey?

I bought these 2 items there: 10 slices of home-made pork roast with herbal spices like rosemary, finely sliced. It costed me: 3.27 € & a jar of regional grain mustard from De Ster, a local mustard maker since 1924 from only 5 to 10 km away! This spiced grain mustard is an acknowledged approved product in Belgium, from this region! This is called in my language: Een erkend Streekproduct!  1 normal pot costed me 3.5€. I will be using it later in my edible posts! They also sell packets of Maldon sea salt & packets of smoked Maldon sea salt here! Each packet costs: 4.5€. That is good to know, because there aren’t that many places in Belgium, where I can buy my favourite sea salt! 😉

A Famous Regional product, grain mustard from De Ster!
A Famous Regional product, grain mustard from De Ster!

So, my friends, I hope you enjoyed the second tour in Leuven! There is still at least 1 part that will follow this sequel! 😉 It will be an all vegan post, with 2 main vegan items! See you all later, my lovely one’s! 🙂 xxx Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

You might like:

1. Travelling Sophie: Leuven, part 1!

2. Travelling Sophie: Part 3, all vegan!

3. Travelling Sophie, Leuven, Part 4, an all vegan shop!

4. Traveling Sophie, Leuven, Part 5!

BewarenBewaren

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

56 thoughts on “Travelling Sophie: Leuven, part 2!

  1. Hoi Sophie,
    Whaw…. you have done a lot of work; nice photos.Thank you for sharing us!
    Well done.
    Mamalou

    1. Oooh yes, & enjoy my 1st post about Leuven too. You can find the link in my post & below my post! The next post about Leuven will be about all things vegan! xx

  2. Oh, my goodness, your pictures are so gorgeous! What fabulous products… you made me feel so isolated! Here in Sicily we are still a bit backwards…no great ethnic shops, no great organic shops. Well, at least we have lots of cannolis:)

    1. Thyanks so much, dear Francesca! 🙂

      I love cannolis filled with chocolate & fresh low-fat sheep’s ricotta! 😉 Yummm!

      1. When I was a little girl my cousin, who had many sheep, used to make fresh ricotta and we would eat it on the spot! If you like sheep’s ricotta, you would have swooned! Then there is something else called “quagliata”, my favorite. It’s made from milk and something in the intestine of the animal. It’s a kind of curd. Next time I go to my caseificio, I will ask them for some quagliata and I’ll post pictures. In fact you reminded me that I haven’t eaten it in years.

    1. I just eaten a bit of that spiced up mustard on my cheese on my sourdough bread! 🙂 Thanks, Susan! x

  3. I love the photo showing the paved street and the beautiful shops – so European. Looks like you’re having a great time exploring all the food stores xx

  4. Oh Sophie, we enjoyed your visit to Leuven very much. Beautiful place with so many gorgeous shops. Even the butcher shop looks pretty.
    Greetings,
    J+C

  5. Goodness, these specialty stores tower over anything we have in the US. I am so very impressed…as always, with Euro food & markets/stores. Enjoy lovely Sophie! xo

      1. Just a couple, and nothing like what Leuven has to offer. Suburbia makes it hard for special places like Leuven to exist. 😉 xo

  6. What wonderful stores. I just love shopping for food in new places. When ever my husband gets bored browsing the food halls, I tell him it could be worse… I could be a jewelry fanatic! That always rights things!

  7. What a fabulous list of places to check out. Now I just need to find a weekend with a little time to spare 🙂

  8. What a wonderful array of products. Your supermarkets are much more interesting. Thanks for sharing!

    1. This one is a specialzed organic & non-organic shop with special products! You can’t find them in all major supermarkets at all! 😦

  9. More fun Sophie!! Love this post. Grocery stores are one of my favorite tourist destinations!! In France, my husband could barely pull me from the enormous Carefour. All those beautiful foods new to us. Loved the second hand walk through the market with you…

Comments are closed.