Posted in Recipes

Cheesy smoked kale stoemp with fried tofu veggie burgers

Cheezy smoked kale stoemp!
chopped kale

I love kale. It is a very underestimated veggie over here in Belgium. Kale or borecole is a form of cabbage , green or purple, where the central leaves do not form a head. It is considered to be closer to wild cabbage than most domesticated forms. In Dutch we also call this: Boerekool or krul kool.Β Kale is very good for your health. I also love cheese so I had to combine a tasty cheese into this lovely dish.Normally, I serve this with smoked bacon, a pork chop or with chipolata sausages but today, I served it with organic bought tofu veggie burgers.

What is stoemp, I hear you say,… Stoemp is a typical Belgian & Dutch dish. This is a mix from boiled potatoes, then mashed & mixed with root vegetables or with braised leeks, or carrots, or with all sort of cabbages, or spinach, or with brussels sprouts,… Usually we mix it with slices of bacon or we serve it with sausages. We nearly always add a chopped up & sweated onion with it. You also can use cream, herbs or spices. Stoemp is a typical word of the patois of Brussels. You can eat stoemp in a lot of brassieres of Brussels.

Smoked Maldon Sea Salt!
Smoked Maldon Sea Salt!
Smoked Maldon sea salt flakes!
Smoked Maldon sea salt flakes!

For 2 persons, with seconds!

Ingredients:

2 bunches of fresh kale, dark green, about 300 gr in total, weighted after cleaning, hard stems removed & well washed under cold running water, leaves spun dry

2 fat white onions, peeled & cut into finer pieces

400 gr floury potatoes, peeled & cut into 4

smoked Maldon sea salt

black pepper, freshly grinned

a fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil ( EVOO )

grated cheese, 200 gr, I used an organic Swiss mix with mozzarella & Swiss mountain cheese

2 organic tofu veggie burgers

Method:

1. Boil your potatoes until tender & cooked through with some smoked sea saltΒ  added to the cooking water, a bit, not too much. Drain & keep warm.

2. Cook your kale chunks in a large pot filled with boiling water with a bit of normal sea salt in it, until al dente. This will take about 5 to 8 minutes. Drain. Keep warm.

3. Using the same large cooking pot, add 2 to 3 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO. Heat up. When hot, add the onion pieces & fry until brown. Add some smoked sea salt & some freshly grinned black pepper. It has to taste fabulous. Don’t add too much salt because you are still going to add the salty cheese!!!

4. Now, add the cooked & drained kale pieces. Then, add the grated cheese & lower your heat. You want the cheese to melt. Mix it well into the browned onions & kale. Taste! Add some grinds of black pepper, if needed. Remove from the heat & add the drained potatoes. Use a potato masher to mash it all up. Mix well with a large spoon & taste! It has to taste fab! You must taste the salty cheese, the darker more bitter peppered kale, the smoked sea salt & the potatoes too!!! πŸ˜‰

5. Serve on a preheated plate with the baked veggie tofu burgers. I fried them in some EVOO until golden brown on both sides.

Enjoy, my friends! πŸ˜‰

 

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like some other stoemp dishes of me:

1. Green cabbage stoemp with sausages

2. Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon

3. Belgian Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

60 thoughts on “Cheesy smoked kale stoemp with fried tofu veggie burgers

  1. Stoemp kind of sounds like bubble and squeak. Looks wonderful, Sophie.
    My daughter is a kale-lover and we have it often when she’s visiting.

  2. Delicious! I love greens of any kind and Stoemp would be a favorite of mine…especially with good sausages! I could eat this for breakfast! Yummmm

  3. Oooh, kale! I’ve only had it one way–in soup–and I’m super curious to try it in other ways. Your mash looks so delicious and healthy!

  4. I love both tofu burger, I wanna try to make it myself one day. Your Stoemp sounds yummy. Peter and I like kale but not easy to find here. My neighbour has grown some, hope I can get some from her : )

    1. I already made a few veggie burgers myself & you wil find a homa made halloumi burger on my blog filed under vegetarian & under burgers! Enjoy!:)

  5. This is really one of my most favourite dishes as I have agricultural blood in my veins. Yummy!

  6. Sophie, I am absolutely crazy about kale, and this recipe looks so unique! I’ve never tasted kale in a way like this. I really can’t wait to try it!!

  7. Heck, kale is underrated here in America as well! Cooked right it can be absolutely fabulous. I lived in The Netherlands for a short time and loved stoemp! Your version looks perfect. πŸ™‚

  8. I can’t get enough of kale, either, and am always looking for new ways to enjoy it. Thanks for the inspiring recipe. πŸ˜‰

  9. very flavorful n interesting dish….excellent cliks..
    first time here..love your space..
    awesome posts with impressive presentation..
    Am your happy follower now..;)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

    1. Hello Diana!
      I advise you to add the smoked sea salt because it takes this dish to another dimension!! really!

  10. Sure sounds yummy, also very similar to our ‘Bubble and Squeak’ which uses potatoes and cabbage as the main ingredient, but yours sounds nicer!

    1. Yes, I think so too but you must use the cheese & smoked sea salt in here it just adds a lot of more flavours!

  11. Hi Sophie, I also love boerenkool, especially in a stoemp!
    to enhance the flavour of the sweetish/bitter kale it’s nice to add something sour like a pickle.
    I’m going to look for the smoked seasalt, that must be a very special extra flavour.
    Have a nice sunny weekend πŸ™‚

    1. Hey Linda!

      I bought mine in the Eurospar. If you can find smoked seasalt of Maldon, it is even better!

  12. I have never heard that word ‘stoemp’ before. They look and sound delicious. I love kale too. It seems to be coming quite a fashionable vegetable here in Sydney.

  13. you’ve introduced me to a new word, a new dish, and a new use for kale! good eats, sophie. πŸ™‚

  14. I agree with some of the other comments, it does look like Bubble and Squeak, still I am glad to have been introduced to this dish with kale – I really like kale.

  15. We grow lots of Kale so this is a good one for us to try. Having said that, it actually sounds very close to colcannon, an Irish dish of mashed potatoes, leeks and kale / cabbage.

Comments are closed.