Posted in Recipes

Home-made vanilla almond milk & Vanilla almond carob coconut maca smoothies, All Vegan + Gluten-free! :)

Homa-mde vanilla almond milk! Vegan + Gluten-free too!
home-made vanilla almond milk! Vegan + Gluten-free too!

Yesterday afternoon, I made home-made vanilla almond milk,…yeah! I also made lovely smoothies with it! Check it all out here! Easy does it here! I used my beloved Vitamix again!

Delightfully delicious! Vanilla almond carob coconut maca smoothies!
Delightfully delicious!
Vanilla almond carob coconut maca smoothies!

Make them right now! You won’t be disappointed! πŸ˜‰

Recipe: For Home-made vanilla almond milk= for 3/4 liter= 750 ml

What is vanilla almond milk?

This is a non-dairy, gluten-free & vegan milk, obtained from raw or soaked almond nuts,Β drained & well rinsed too, 4 cups of water are added.Β You can add whatever you want with it. You can add vanilla extract, vanilla paste, carob powder, cacao powder or another sweetener like maple syrup, agave syrup or to keep it raw: pitted dates.

Mostly, people on the internet use 1 cup of nuts & 4 cups of water.Β Β This time, I only added 3 cups of water instead of the usual 4 cups, for a more creamer milk, a bit thicker too.

Most of the time, they tell you to soak your nuts , just add water until the nuts all completely covered by the water, soak them for at least at night or at least 8 to 72 hours in water in the fridge.Β Why?Β The nuts become less raw & they are easily digested in the stomach. When these nuts are soaked, then well-drained & rinsed,Β they become more useful to use in raw vegan cheesecakes, in baked desserts, in muffins or in bread.Β Or you can make your own vegan cheese or spread.

You can make nut milk from every nut or a mix of nuts that you like & love. I am experimenting with them now. More recipes to come! I already made these beautiful nut milks like 2 home-made cashew milks, unstrainedΒ cashew milk made into my Vitamix, almond milk & vanilla extract almond milk.
Juct click on the previous colourful links to go directly to the tasty nutmilk recipes!
What do you need?

a good power blender, like Vitamix & Blendtech or so,…

a large bowl to keep the strained milk in when you are using your nut milk bag

a fine nut milk bag or a cheesecloth

a clean bottle with a fitting lid

How to enjoy?

1. This is a fine drink on its own

2. Pour over cereals or muesli

3. Add a bit of it to your yoghurt : lovely!

4. Make a dessert with it.

5. Make smoothies with it

6. Use it in tea or coffee

7. This is also great used in cakes, muffins & in breads for a more added nut flavour

8. You can use the sweetened or not-sweetened pulp in muffins, cakes, into breads like in banana breads / More recipes on this later/ I am testing recipes on the moment.

Ingredients:

1 cup of whole almonds, soaked for at least 8 hours or longer. Then well-rinsed & drained.

1/2 teaspoon of real vanilla paste = this is a lot of vanilla seeds mixed together into a paste.

1 tablespoon of pure organic maple syrup or 1 to 2 dates, according how sweet you want your milk to be!

3 cups of water

Method:

1. Put your 3 cups of water, soaked almonds, vanilla paste & maple syrup in this order in your Vitamix. Blend on full power, using the tamper to push the ingredients into the running blades. Blend on full powder for about 30 seconds to 1 minute. This is vanilla almond milk with the pulp in it. You also can drink it like this, with bits of nuts floating around. Sometimes, I don’t strain my nut milk, but this time, I did.

2. Then, I strained the almond milk using my nut milk bag. I placed my nut bag into a larger bowl. Then, poured the liquid mix into the bag. Close the bag with the added string & squeeze Β & squeeze until all the juice is out of your nut milk bag & until you end up with only the pulp in the bag & all the liquid into the pot. I had about 3 cups of vanilla almond milk. Pour the almond milk in a clean bottle with fitting lid & enjoy instantly or place into the fridge. After being in the fridge,Β you will see separation of the liquid into the bottle. Just shake the bottle well, before using the milk.Β This tasty almond vanilla nut milk will keep in the fridge for about 3 to 4 days.

Place the leftover nut pulp in a pot with fitting lid & place into the fridge for later use in cookies, smoothies, banana breads & muffins! Here is a tasty link, when I made cashew milk & used the pulp in home-made vegan pear & cashew nut pulp spelt muffins!

Here is a tasty link using the vanilla almond milk nut pulp into tasty banana, vanilla almond milk & vanilla almond nut pulp ice-popsicles!

NB: See pictures below for more explanation, this is for all nutmilks so!Β Your almond milk will be a bit darker in colour because of the added vanilla paste & maple syrup! πŸ™‚

Blended almonds with water, vanilla paste & maple syrup, all finely mixed up! Ready for straining!
Blended almonds with water, vanilla paste & maple syrup, all mixed up! Ready for straining! This pic was taken before I had a Vitamix!! πŸ˜‰
Placing the nut milk bag in place in a fitting bowl & pouring the almond milk all through it!
Placing the nut milk bag in place in a fitting bowl & pouring the almond milk all through it!
The nut milk bag is closed with the strings & starting to squeeze the bag for straining!
The nut milk bag is closed with the strings & starting to squeeze the bag for straining!
squeezing & straining more!
squeezing & straining more!
straining more & more!
Straining more & more until all the liquid is gone!
Pouring home-made vanilla almond milk! Yeah!
Pouring home-made vanilla almond milk! Yeah!

This tasty almond vanilla nut milk will keep in the fridge for about 3 to 4 days with fitted lid on the bottle.Β After being in the fridge,Β you will see separation of the liquid into the bottle. Just shake the bottle well, before using the milk. Enjoy!

All the yummy ingredients before being Vitamixed! ;)
All the yummy ingredients for the smoothies, before being Vitamixed! πŸ˜‰
Β Recipe: For 3 tasty vanilla almond coconut carob smoothies!

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut water

1/2 cup vanilla almond milk. I use home-made, see on how to make this above!

1 large big frozen banana, broken into 2

1 tablespoon + 1/2 tablespoon carob powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon maca powder

1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut flakes

Method:

1. Put every ingredient in this order in your Vitamix & blend on full power with the tamper in the fitted lid to push the ingredients into the running blades. Blend for about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Pour instantly in fancy see through glasses & enjoy with 2 loved ones! πŸ˜‰Β β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

44 thoughts on “Home-made vanilla almond milk & Vanilla almond carob coconut maca smoothies, All Vegan + Gluten-free! :)

  1. That looks so inviting, mmmmmh… dear Sophie! Wow, what an effort! πŸ™‚ Well done.

    1. Thanks, Dina! But I am used to it by now! I have made, in the padt, more then 6 home-made nut milks! But since I have my Vitamiux, it is way easier to do,…! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh your smoothie sounds delectable. I have all of those ingredients- I will have it for breakfast.
    I haven’t made almond milk in ages. I really should do it again soon. Do you make hazelnut milk? I’d like to try that too.

      1. Thanks Sophie! I remember your recipe now. I just saw the comment I made when you posted the recipe. πŸ™‚
        It looks delicious. I will have to put hazelnuts on my shopping list.

  3. What a fantastic post Soph! I’ve wanted to make my own almond milk for ages but I’ve never had a good enough blender. I am so envious of your Vitamix!!! The milk looks deliciously creamy and your photos are awesome. Trying the smoothie soon! xx

    1. Yeahhh! I also made other tasty nut milks, see links below my post like cashew milks, almondmilks, etc!

  4. Well done Sophie that is a good recipe and it looks like the taste would be awesome too… I would love to make this as I think the commercial non dairy you buy could be much better in taste… πŸ™‚

    1. That is why I make all of my own nut milks! See links below my post for more tasty nut milk drinks! πŸ˜‰ xxx

  5. Mmmm, Almond Milk! That reminds me, I tried a Alpro’s Almond Milk few days ago in Spain and it was so good! It’s better than the American almond milks I’ve tried because they tend to be quite watery! Now looking at this post, I would love to make some homemade almond milk! I’ve made cashew milks before for juice cleanses! And wow, a VItamix? I want one! Thanks for an awesome list of alternatives for sweetener and dishes to use for. May I have all your almond milk?!

  6. You are a Goddess, Sophie! I love your recipes so much, and these directions for almond milk is an answer to my own query for the longest time. Thank you so much, my dear friend. β™₯

  7. just yesterday I told a blogging friend I was interested in making my own almond milk and now I have a great step-by-step tutorial. Thanks πŸ™‚ How did you know what I was thinking? πŸ˜‰

    1. I always seem to know, Liz! Also check out my other former home-made nutmilks, the links are just bslow & in my post! Enjoy them all,….have fun making them! XπŸ˜€πŸ˜€

  8. Thanks for sharing. I’v never made my own vanilla almond milk and I’m really tempted to try. I have bookmarked it. Good day to you!

  9. Hi Sophie! I made this delicious smoothie for breakfast. Instead of using almond milk, I used soaked almonds and I increased the quantity of coconut water. It was delicious! My toddler and 4 year old loved it too. Thank you. πŸ™‚

  10. Perfect timing for some homemade non-dairy milk inspiration, right after my cashew milk post! The maca addition is simply inspired, and I would love any opportunity to use up more of my stash.

  11. I love almond milk but I’ve never made my own. Your vanilla almond ‘milkshake’ would be a great way to start the day xx

  12. I love homemade almond milk! I usually make it with a 1 : 4 ratio of nuts to water…but I will try 1 : 3 to try a creamier version! This carob drink looks so amazing….almost like a dessert drink, but it’s HEALTHY! What could be better. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, normally I like theb ratio1/4 too but now, it needed to be a bit more creamy & a bit thicker too! πŸ˜‰ x

  13. I love vanilla almond milk. I pour it over granola and use it in coffee drinks as an alternative to dairy milk. I never thought of making it before. Awesome recipe and awesome idea!!!

    1. Then, I make all of my non-dairy plant-based milks. Just click onto the links, inmy post ot below my post to go directly to the tasty recipes, my friend! πŸ™‚ Enjoy them all! xxx

  14. I have maca in the cupboard and wasn’t really sure what to do with it… now I have a fantastic idea! Thank you! πŸ™‚

  15. This looks so yummy! I always drink almond milk, but I buy it from the store. Now that I know how to make it, I am going to be alll over it! Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.