Posted in Recipes

Two Home-made cashew milks

What is cashew milk?

This is a non-dairy, gluten-free milk, obtained from raw or soaked nuts, drained & rinsed well too, 4 cups of water are added. You can add whatever you want with it. You can add vanilla extract, cacao powder or another sweetener like maple syrup or agave syrup. 

Mostly, people on the internet use 1 cup of nuts & 4 cups of filtered water. You can add more water if you like but I love using 4 cups of water because you will end up with a lovely white cashew milk, just like a milk consistency.

Most of the time, they tell you to soak your nuts at night or at least 8 to 12 hours in water in the fridge. Why? The nuts become less raw & they are easily digested in the stomach. When these nuts are soaked, then well-drained & rinsed, they become more useful to use in raw vegan cheesecakes, in baked desserts, in muffins or in bread. Or you can make your own vegan cheese or spread.

You can make nut milk from every nut or a mix of nuts that you like & love. I am experimenting with them now. More recipes to come!

What do you need?

a good power blender, food processor or mixer

a large pot to keep the strained milk in when you used your nut milk bag

a fine nut milk bag or a cheesecloth

a clean bottle with a fitting lid

How to enjoy?

1. This is a fine drink on its own

2. Pour over cereals or muesli

3. Add a bit of it to your yoghurt : lovely!

4. Make a dessert with it.

5. Make smoothies with it

6. Use it in tea or coffee

7. This is also great used in cakes, muffins & in breads for a more added nut flavour

8. You can use the sweetened pulp in muffins, cakes, into breads like in banana breads / More recipes on this later/ I am testing recipes on the moment.

Here are the 2 recipes & enjoy! 

1/ Raw date sweetened cashew milk recipe: For about 1 filled bottle = 3 + 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

1 cup raw cashews

1/4 cup pitted Medjool dates, cut into pieces ( that are 4 big Medjool dates )

4 cups of  filtered water

Method:

1. Take a good blender or mixer & add cashews, dates pieces & a bit of the water & blend until it all comes together. Add more water until it all is beautifully joint & is finely mixed. I use the 4 cups of water in here! Taste! Yum!

It tastes a bit sweet but isn’t too sweet for me!

If you want a more sweeter cashew milk, just add another 1/4 cup of cut Medjool dates to the mix & blend again. Add a bit to more water if you need to. Then, I strained the cashew milk using my nut milk bag. I placed my nut bag into a larger pot. Than, poured the liquid mix into the bag. Close the bag with the added string & squeeze  & squeeze until all the juice is out of your nut milk bag & until you end up with only the pulp in the bag & all the liquid into the pot. I had 3 + 1/ cups, not the 4 whole cups. Pour the cashew milk in a clean bottle with fitting lid & enjoy instantly or place into the fridge. After being in the fridge, you will see separation of the liquid into the bottle. Just shake the bottle well, before using the cashew milk. See pictures below for more explanation:

Mixing the cashews, dates & water all up, adding water bit by bit!
Placing the nut milk bag in place & pouring the cashew milk mix into it!
The nut milk bag is closed with the string & starting to squeeze the bag for straining!
squeezing & straining more!
straining more & more!
The more dried sweetened cashew pulp .The left sweetened cashew pulp! yummy too! Keep it in a box with lid on in the fridge for later use.
A delightful raw date sweetened cashew milk: home-made too!

2/ Soaked cashew milk ( white in colour) & NOT sweetened= You will end up with a full bottle = 5 cups!

Ingredients:

1 cup of cashews, soaked in water for about 8 to 12 hours/ Mine were soaked 1 night

4 cups of filtered water

Method:

1. First, drain your soaked cashews well & rinse them well too. Discard the water.

2. Take a good power blender & add the soaked cashews & the 4 cups of water. Blend well untill it is all beautifully joined together. Scrape the sides of the blender if you need to & blend again & again.

3. Than, do the same method as above. See pictures! Place a nut milk bag over a large fitting pot & pour the liquid mix into it & directly close the bag with the string. Squeeze & squeeze until all the liquid is out of the nut milk bag. Strain again & you will end up with a beautiful white unsweetened home-made cashew milk: a thing of beauty!!!

4. Pour the cashew milk into a clean bottle & put the lid on. Now, it is ready. Keep the cashew pulp & place it into a fitting pot with lid. Place into the fridge for later use.

Home-made cashew milk will keep in the fridge for about 5 to 6 days. When your bottle has been a while in the fridge, you will see separation of the finer cashew parts & the milk. Just shake the bottle well before using it! Enjoy! 🙂

How to enjoy?

1. This is a fine drink on its own

2. Pour over cereals or muesli

3. Add a bit of it to your yoghurt : lovely!

4. Make a dessert with it.

5. Make smoothies with it

6. Use it in tea or coffee

7. This is also great used in cakes, muffins & in breads for a more added nut flavour

8. You can use the pulp in muffins, cakes, into breads like in banana breads / More recipes on this later/ I am testing recipes on the moment.

You can make a vegan cheese with the pulp. More recipes on this later/ I am testing recipes on the moment.

A creamy home-made cashew milk! Pure & white!
A delightful non-dairy drink! A thing of beauty is a joy for ever!

 

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

62 thoughts on “Two Home-made cashew milks

  1. Waw, Sophie! You made your own home-made cashew milk! That’s great! I always wondered how to do that, making your own nut milk!
    I am so impressed! A job well done!

    I am so going to try these tasty recipes! Thanks! 😉

  2. I’m very impressed that you’ve gone to all that trouble to make your own milk! You wouldn’t want anyone to knock that bottle over when you’re finished! That would be so wonderful on cereal or just to drink, and so good for you too.

  3. i always wondered how u make this stuff at home 🙂 well put together post as always darls! Hope ur well!

    1. Thanks, my friend! All is well, over here in Belgium!
      Your daughter has really grown, she is looking beautiful & lovely ! 🙂

  4. I have got to try this! Thanks for doing this post. And congrats on your weight lost! 8.5 kilos is huge! Keep on going.

  5. I bet that is one type of milk I would enjoy. I’m not a big milk/dairy person. But making my own cashew milk? That does sound interesting.

    1. I think so too! 🙂 It is so easy but you do need a nut milk bag. It is so much more easy than using a cheese cloth.
      That’s too thick to let the cashew milk go through!! But you do end up with a more lovely cashew nut pulp cheese.

  6. Amazing Sophie!!! I just ordered a Vita-Mix and I’m sooo excited for it to get delivered so that I can make delicious milk like you! Wahooo!!!

    1. I am also thinking of bying a Vitamix. It is the best blender for this kind of work though! I agree! 🙂
      But it is very expensive over here. The 5200 vitamix costs 619 Euros! that’s a lot of money!

  7. I’m the one who always picks out the cashews to eat first in jars of mixed nuts. LOL So, I am totally digging this idea of homemade cashew milk.

  8. this is so amazing! I am going to pass on the link to all my lactose intolerant friends 🙂

  9. I LOVE cashew nuts, and I love that you made cashew milk. I once made almond milk, and it was good, but cashews? Forget about it I’ll drink it all myself! Yours looks amazing!! Will definitely follow your recipe!

  10. This is a fantastic idea – I love cashew nuts and so this just sounds amazing – have never even tasted it but your photo of that bottle of milk just makes me way to drink it from the bottle! I am curious to know what you did with the leftover cashew pulp

  11. Sophie – this sounds wonderful! I am going to print these recipes and give it a try. Thanks for sharing. I am sure almonds would be lovely too!

    1. Thanks,Duckie! It is so easy to make. After cashew nut soaking for 1 night, than doing the rest, It took me only 15 minutes.

      When you store the milk in a clean bottle, after standing a bit in the fridge, it separates, you must shake the bottle well, before using & drinking it.!!

  12. Ooo…this makes me wish I could find affordable cashews to play around with! Or that I’d be less lazy and at least try to make some homemade almond milk. I especially love the idea of using dates as milk sweetener.

  13. Sophie, I never had cashew milk…but from your description and the pictures, it is in my list of things to try. Thanks for introducing me to this new item.
    Hope you are having a great week 🙂

    1. You must try it. You can make any nut milk, you want.

      Just use 1 part aka 1 cup of your favourite nuts & 4 cups, 4 parts of filtered water. That’s how easy it is.
      Yum!

      You can also use maple syrup, agave or coconut blossom sugar to sweeten it or add some cacao powder, etc.

  14. Wow…this is such a lovely post, Sophie! I have heard about making nuts milk but have not got down to making it. I should really try one of these days. It’s so healthy. Thanks very much for sharing this. Hope you have a wonderful day.

  15. I’ve made a quick cashew cream before, but not this beautiful milk product. What a great job you’ve done here, Sophie! I’m saving the recipe to try soon. Thanks, my friend!

    1. Hello , my friend!

      It has been a while that I saw you here!!! I love an easy cashew cream too so I think you will love this too! 🙂 Enjoy!

  16. what an interesting and useful post, sophie! i’ve never tasted cashew milk, but i’d love to!

  17. This one for me will certainly be an experiment to try. Bookmarked.
    Thanks for all the detailed explanation…much appreciated Sophie ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  18. Dit is voor het eerst dat ik Two Home-made cashew milks « Sophies Foodie Files bezoek en ik ben aangenaam
    overdonderd door de correlatie dat het artikel behelst omtrent eiwitdieet dieet.

  19. Have been making almond milk…and making cookies from the leftover mash – which inspires me to try cashew milk… and cashew cookies 😉 Nice pictures!

Comments are closed.