Posted in Recipes

Almond butter chia maca smoothy, Vegan + Gluten-free & a garden update!

Almond butter maca chia smoothy!
Almond butter maca chia smoothy!

A few days ago, I made this tasty & easy to make almond butter chia maca smoothy! It gave me a tasty energizing drinkable breakfast! 😉 I hade more than 800 ml of pure deliciousness,….MMM,..I assure you!

Superfood: Raw maca powder!
Superfood: Raw maca powder!

Recipe: For 2 persons or for 1 hungry person = 800 ml

Ingredients:

500 ml of your favourite plant-based milk, I used soy milk, not so sweet

6 tablespoons pure salted roasted almond butter = 3/8 cup

1 tablespoons chia seeds

1 tablespoon maca powder = Raw Maca Power is a superfood. Maca is an herbaceous plant native to the high Andean Mountains of Bolivia and Peru. It is one of the only food plants in the world able to thrive at such a high altitude. Maca, and more specifically the root of the plant, has a long history as a superfood. The maca root was prized throughout the Incan empire for its adaptogenic-like qualities that enable it 1/ to nourish and balance the body’s delicate endocrine system, 2/ and to help cope with stress. 3/ It also energizes naturally, without the jitters and crashes of caffeine, 4/ and it can aid in reproductive function, 5/ helping to balance hormones and 6/ increase fertility. 7/ It is good for your libido. 8/ It also has a lot of vitamins in it, like vitamines B1, B2 & C.

So, start using it & add it to your daily smoothies or vegetable smoothies. I add 1 tablespoon per time. You don’t taste it in my smoothy,…. 🙂

Raw maca powder!
Raw maca powder!

Method:

1. Place every ingredient in this order in your Vitamix or blender. Put the tamper in your fitted lid & blend on full power for at least 30 to 60 seconds, while pushing the  ingredients into the running blades. Pour into a lovely tall smoothy glass or glasses & enjoy instantly alone or with a loved one! 🙂

You can also find my recipe here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Almond-butter-chia-maca-smoothies/ ♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr
Now, for something completely different: a garden update! What has happened in my garden since you all visited me the last time?

My Swiss chard leaves, that I use instead of spinach!
My Swiss chard leaves, that I use instead of spinach!

I have 1 large cherry tomato plant in a large container & 2 smaller cherry tomato plants too. each one of them is doing really well this year!

Juicy cherry tomatoes!
Juicy cherry tomatoes!
I already ahve had 90 cherry tomatoes from my big plant!
I already have had + 100 cherry tomatoes from my big plant!
Yummy yummy!
Yummy yummy!
My lovely red hot chili plant!
My lovely red-hot chili plant! I grew it outdoors but kept it out of the rain!

I already have had 5 red chili peppers! 🙂

Yummm!
yummy!

Here are some red-hot chili pepper recipes from my blog! Just click onto the pictures, to go directly to the recipes!

Fabulous Asian inspired salmon-oat-burgers!
Fabulous Asian inspired salmon-oat-burgers!
Sophie's spiced up gluten-free chicken burgers!
Sophie’s spiced up gluten-free chicken burgers!

I hope you will enjoy the smoothy & maybe test out 2 of my red-hot chili pepper recipes,…See you all soon,… 🙂

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

69 thoughts on “Almond butter chia maca smoothy, Vegan + Gluten-free & a garden update!

  1. I really love your garden! This smoothie looks so easy to make and very delicious! If it really gives so much energy,I’ll start drinking it!!

  2. Oh Sophie, how your garden grows! Love the smoothie – maybe tomorrow. I have everything in my kitchen.

  3. Amazing and healthy grades vegetables Sophie. You are always great at introducing new products on your blog. Loved reading about maca powder. Will look for it.
    Sonal

    1. Oooh,…A big thanks, Sonal! Maca powder is difficult to find in Belgium. I can only find it in 1 or 2 specialized food health stores accros Belgium. Now, I can find it in Leuven, about 40 km from me. 😦

  4. Sophie, I’ve just put maca powder on my shopping list, thanks to you! Have been meaning to give it a try for ages, and I love the idea of sneaking it into smoothies.

    1. Thanks, it is beause the rest of my garden is already fully grown into the soil but my fig tree isn’t doing well. The figs are not ripe yet! 😦

  5. I’ll have to get myself some of that powder. I’ve heard it’s very good for you but I didn’t know specifically all the things it can do for you. Thanks for sharing! I love the look of your tomatoes xx

  6. Fantastic! I’ve had a big bag of maca powder in my pantry for ages, and I just never think to use it the first place, let alone consider what it would pair well with. A simply nutty smoothie sounds like the perfect base to balance this unique flavor!

  7. double delight–one of your amazing smoothies (trying to use more chia and this looks like a good place for it 🙂 ) AND a peek at your garden. Yay!

  8. Sophie – your garden veggies look fabulous! Is maca powder gluten free? It sounds like a great healthy addition to the already great and healthy food you eat.

  9. love your juice 🙂 The maco powder is good too so do you have more energy !! 🙂 I love the photos of your garden you have green fingers and the burger you make are so good and make me feel very hungry 🙂 well done nice job 🙂

  10. Nice smoothly, and how nice to see pictures of your garden! The tomatoes look great! We have had a late season, but now everything is starting to ripen, and there’s a bumper crop of cherry tomatoes!

  11. Dear Sophie,
    Great! I always learn something new reading your posts 🙂 I didn´t know anything about Maca, actually I haven`t even heard that word before. Now I know 🙂
    And I am impressed your plants are looking very, very healthy. I don`t know if having all the plants outside it`s harder to fight bugs, but especially towards the end of the growing season now my plants show eaten leaves (but actually I don`t mind that much).
    With a hug from the Norfolk coast
    Klausbernd

  12. I am a big fan of maca powder! I really enjoy the flavour AND the benefits. Your garden looks great! We are getting a ton of cherry tomatoes right now, too! They are so flavourful…way better than the ones from the grocery store!!

  13. Wow, you’ve a very beautiful garden, and that’s a lot of cherry tomatoes! I love them roasted, but never on its own! The almond butter, chia & maca smoothie sounds divine!

  14. I need to try some of that powder. Your garden looks amazing! I have ZERO peppers on my pepper plant so I have to say I’m very jealous!

Comments are closed.