Posted in Recipes

Awards & A Vegan, Gluten-free spinach, green courgettes soup, topped with smoked tofu croutons!

Today, I invented this soothing, smooth & festive green courgettes & spinach soup. I received a whole bunch of fresh organic spinach from my fatherโ€™s garden. So, I had to use it!

I joined the spinach with green courgettes, garlic, a red onion, a potato to thicken, garam masala, garlic powder & a vegan & gluten-free vegetable stock. I didnโ€™t sweat my veggies. I pureed them all in my Vitamix. Finally, I added the hot vegetable stock, mixed for a bit & poured the soup into a larger cooking pot & heated the soup up for a few minutes on medium low fire. Instead of croutons, I thought that smoked tofu would go well with the garam masala in the soup & I was right! This is a festive soup, great for entertaining & the Vitamix makes the soup very smooth!ย :)

This soup is vegan & gluten-free! Yeah!

The flavour of the smoked tofu goes so well with the garam masala in the soup!
The flavour of the smoked tofu goes so well with the garam masala in the soup!

Yum yum yum,…

Recipe: For about 6 persons, 1 big bowl

Ingredients:

1 large potato, peeled & cut into 2

1 large red onion, peeled & cut into 2

3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & cut roughly into chunks

200 gr of fresh, washed, cleaned & spun dry spinach leaves, big stalks removed

480 gr green young courgettes, washed, cleaned, skin kept on! pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into 4/ If you have larger courgettes, remove the seeds!!!

1 + 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala

1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea saltย flakes

1/2 teaspoon black pepper, finely grinned

1 liter vegan & gluten-free vegetable stock

200 gr of vegan & gluten-free organic smoked tofu, drained, pad dry on kitchen paper & cut into 0.5 cm chunks with a sharp knife/ I use Provamel = Gluten-free! ( Bioplanet )

Method:

1. In your Vitamix, add the potato pieces, the onion & green courgettes pieces. ย Place the fitting lid on & place the tamper in it. Turn the machine on low-speed from 1 & then turn to 10 & click onto high power. With the tamper, push everything down & to the left & to the right until everything comes together & is finely mixed. It only took 1 minute! Turn high power off, lower the speed from 10 to 1 & turn the machine off. Pour the greenish mix into a larger cooking pot.

2. Now, place all the spinach leaves into your Vitamix. Pour the hot vegetable stock into your Vitamix. Be careful, the stock is hot!!! I placed the fitting lid on & the tamper in it. Turn the machine on variable speed & go from 1 to 10 & turn on high! Blend for 1 minute or so until the spinach is finely mixed into the hot stock & use the tamper to push it all down. Turn high power off, lower the speed from 10 to 1 & turn the machine off. Pour this stuff into the rest of the greenish soup mix. Whisk everything together & heat up on medium low or until your liking. Now, add 1 teaspoon of the garam masala, the garlic powder, the sea salt, black pepper. Whisk well & taste! I added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala to the soup for extra added flavour. I used 1 + 1/2 teaspoon in total!

3. In the meantime, heat a medium pan on high heat. Add a knob of vegan butter & let it melt. Add the chunks of smoked tofu & fry until crispy & browned on all sides. Season with Maldon sea salt & finely grinned black pepper. Taste!

4. Laddle your soup in soup bowls & divide your smoked tofu croutons over the top, in the middle of your soup. Happy Eating!ย ;)

Now, for something completely different!!!!!!

A while ago & just a few days ago, I received a lot of blog awards & I am so happy that I have all received them! ๐Ÿ™‚ Awards make me smile,…a lot! A while ago, I loved receiving them but I didn’t blog about them anymore because there is only so much you can say about yourself,…But Now, I am blogging again about them! I will divide my received awards into 2 blog posts otherwise this blog post is way too long, okay?

** I received these 3 glorious & special awards from my friend, Chef Doru. Chef Doru is a lovely guy that lives somewhere in Canada. He loves to cook & eat,…which blogger doesn’t?

These 3 awards are:

The Best moment award!
The Best moment award!
The Sunshine blog award!
The Sunshine blog award!
The Versatile Blogger Award!
The Versatile Blogger Award!

Thanks so much, dear Chef Doru! I must now say 7 things about me! Well, here goes,…

1. I am an only child. I donโ€™t really miss brotherโ€™s or sisterโ€™s because when I was a kid, I grew up with a lot of neighbourโ€™s kids , my age. We played a lot & sometimes, did naughty things!ย :(

2.ย Since june 2006, I am a chronic pain patient. I have chronic pain in my right leg & in both my arms. I am in pain all day long, thatโ€™s why I donโ€™t work anymore for the moment because it isnโ€™t possible. Now, I do 7 hours/week voluntary work in a nearby Home For the Elderly & I am loving it. It is the most I can do & I enjoy it thoroughly!ย I hope I can learn to live more comfortably with my chronic pain, in the future!!!

3.ย I love cooking & baking on some good music. I can cook on different kinds of music. I adore Limp Bizkit & Linkin Park but also can enjoy Angie Stone, Joss Stone, Stone Temple Pilots, Red Hot Chili Peppers , Jay-Z , John Legend & excellent jazz, like Jamie Cullum, Diana Krall, hip hop, R&B, all types,โ€ฆ.and my favourite band of all time is N*E*R*D!!!!

4. My favourite colours are mild red & yellow!ย :)

5.ย I love baking all sort of different cookies. I have more than 120 cookie cutters. I bought 100 of them once in Salisbury, Uk in a cookery shop, when I was there on holiday. When I am visiting a food or cookery shop, I am always on the look-out for new special cookie cutters that I donโ€™t have yet. My favourites of this moment are: captain hook with a wooden leg & no arm, a clownโ€™s head & a knight on his horse!

6.ย ย I am always thinking about food & thinking what I will be making for supper or the day after & the day after that,โ€ฆSometimes, I drives my husband crazy! I am inspired by everything & everyone!

7.ย I inherited my cooking skills from my late paternal grandmother. I cooked & baked with her when I was little. She also had a large veggies & flower garden. I am a lot like her in different ways. She was my moemoe, my inspiration in all things in life.

Now, I want to give these 3 lovely awards to the following blogs, in random order!

1. Chic Organic mama, because she has become a new friend that loves to cook for her family. She mostly cooks organic. All of her dishes are easy to do & very tasty too!

2. Fae @ Fae-magazine, she is a very lovely woman who originates from Tehran, Iran & now lives in the USA. ย She writes her lovely blog with tons of enthusiasm & I love all of her recipes! Her blog is all about the magazine of a Storytellerโ€ฆ articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango โ™ช โ™ช She so deserves it! ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Koko @ Koko’s Kitchen, she lives near Vancouver, Canada! I give these awards to her because she has been my blogging friend since the beginning of my blog & all of her recipes are amazing!!! She is a vegetarian but does eat seafood. She makes a lot of vegan & raw recipes! She also loves to travel, … a lot! ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. Laura @ Laura’s mess. She is a blogger who lives in beautiful Australia. She loves to make gorgeous & appetizing recipes in her kitchen & her pictures are always mouth-watering & beautiful! I love her tasty recipes too! ๐Ÿ™‚

5. Rhonda@ The Thankful Heart,ย She lives in the USA. She blogs about good food, food memoirs, her family & good books & friends. She is a teacher & enjoy life to the fullest & her recipes are always winners! She has become a true friend!ย 

6. Katarina @ Hovkonditorn. She is a Finn, living now, in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. She has lived all over the world & loves to cook but especially bakes to her heart content! She makes beautiful, bright & appetizing pics of her fabulous dishes. I make a lot of her tasty recipes because she makes everything, I love to savour! ๐Ÿ˜‰

7. Angie @ Angies Recipes!ย She lives in Germany & she cooks, bakes & takes fabulous pictures!! She also gives us a lot of cooking tips! She makes incredibly tasty foods that I’ll want to try & make myself!

** Then, I received this lovely award from my dear friend, Amber who cooks at this lovely blog: The Cooks Sister!ย She is a lovely woman, a student that cooks & bakes on a student’s budget but she cooks really tasty & apart too! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love all of her recipes! She lives in Waterloo, Canada! ๐Ÿ™‚

It is the Liebster award!!! Yeah! I have questions from Amber that I need to answer.

The Liebster award!
The Liebster award!ย Here are my questions & answers!

1. What 3 words would you choose to describe yourself?

I am positive, realistic & happy most of the time

2. Do you have a blogging mentor who has made a huge difference along the way?

Yes, like Kevin @ Closetcooking,+ย Lorraine@NotQuiteNigella!

3. What inspires you to continue writing your blog?

Everyone in my life, family, friends, neighbours, etc.

4. What is your favourite family recipe?

My mom’s recipes, like her famous chocolate mousse, her pork roast with mushrooms in a soy cream sauce, served with croquettes & apple slices filled with cranberry relish & braised witlof.

5. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of?

All of them. My readers favourites , my top posts are at the moment : Home-made vegan cashew milk in my Vitamix & vegan refreshing vanilla cashew strawberry smoothies,

Vegan, GF refreshing banana, coconut & white peaches smoothies!,Roasted pumpkin, thyme & chorizo soup, served with a pumpkin, feta & red onions bread!

6. What is your favourite type of food?

A homer-made vegan, vegetarian or meat burger with spiced sweet potato fries & a lovely salad with tasty toppings like this tasty burger: Eggless pork & veal sage burgers, served with a balsamic red onions & caper relish!

7. What is your favourite pastime?

Blogging, biking, walking, travelling, exploring new foods & new drinks, going to Michelin starred restaurants, new coffee bars, working in my garden, going to museums, going to exhibitions,…

8. Where would you most like to go for your dream vacation & why?

Australia, because when I was younger, I was a big fan of Midnight Oil! I love the Australian take on food, on culture, on drinks, on nature, the lovely weather, the dry inner land, I would be travelling all over Australia! I think, I would never leave,…Visiting my fab blogger friends,…

9. ย What is your favourite genre of music?

I love nearly everything but no schlager music or house, thank you! I love N*E*R*D, Jay-Z, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Joss Stone, Jamie Cullum, Metallica, Pixies,…

10. If someone made a film about your life, who would you want to play you?

Jodie Foster!

Normally, I must give this award to a blogger who has less than 200 followers, but I will give it to the bloggers that I feel so deserve it! I must give them my own questions to answer! ๐Ÿ™‚

I ask these 10 questions:

1. Why did you start blogging?

2. What is your favourite food memory?

3. What is your favourite food restaurant & why?

4. Who influenced your style of cooking?

5. What is your favourite food dish, on your blog or not & why?

6. What is your favourite colour?

7. What do you prefer: cooking or baking?

8. What is the most lovely & cool cookie cutter you have in your possession?

9. What is your favourite food destination in the world & why?

10. On what kind of music do you cook on?

I will give this award, in random order to:

1. Chef Doru!

2. Charlie@Hotly spiced!

3. Sarah@DeliciouslySarah!

4. Chocolate Chip Uru@GoBakeYourself!

5. Lorraine@NotQuite Nigella!

6. Tandy@Lavender&Lime!

7. Liz@MyFavouritePastime!

8. Saskia@OneequalsTwo!

9. Poppy@Poppy’s Patisserie!

10. Susanne@Susannehaun!

That’s it, folks! I will tell you about my other received awards later in blog posts. I hope you enjoy the soup & that will you enjoy reading these blogs that I have mentioned! See you all later,…โ™ฅย Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

75 thoughts on “Awards & A Vegan, Gluten-free spinach, green courgettes soup, topped with smoked tofu croutons!

  1. Everyone is thinking spinach! how nice. I like the combination here and the idea of tofu croutons. I think this is a very delicious soup! Love it that you’re positive, realistic & happy most of the time, life is too short to brood around. Congratulations!

      1. I read everything about you, except the latter. Thanks in advance for thinking about me. I feel very honoured! Best wishes!

  2. oh my goodness Sophie I’m so honoured to be on your recipient list and to read that I was an influence! And it would be wonderful if you visited Australia one day!! If you come to Sydney I’d love to meet you and show you around!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. So honoured!! Thank you lovely! I will answer these questions in a future blog post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    This soup looks AMAZING!!!! I really have to make this. Unfortunately, I don’t have any spinach in my garden…it would be so nice to use a homegrown bunch of spinach! The croutons are such a great idea, too!

    1. You are welcome, sweet Koko! The smokey flavour of the smokend tofu croutons goes so well with the other flavours in this glorious soup. X

  4. Hey Sophie– First of all, I loved, loved the 7 facts about you. Just the things about you that I would enjoy hearing more about over a long, chatty lunch together. Thank you for thinking of me on the awards. We’re up in the mountains with our kids just now. I’ll get back to you! You’re the best!

  5. Gorgeous soup Sophie, the tofu croutons are genius, must try that! Also many congratulations on your awards and thank you so much for passing one on to me! I am sorry to read of your chronic pain but I think it is inspiring that you do not let it defeat you and remain joyful. xxx

  6. This soup sounds so delicious! And thank you very much for the award, I feel really honored. You made my day, dear! Hugs!!

  7. I love pureed veggie soups and anything smoky flavored! This looks delish!! Congratualtions on your awards and thank you so much for the Leibster award!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am honored and appreciate your kind words!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Congrats on the awards Sophie!! And I didn’t know you suffered from chronic pain. I’m so sorry – I feel for you girl!! Do the doctors know why you’re in pain? I also have to admit that I was really surprised to find out that you suffer from chronic pain because you seem to be such a happy, upbeat person. Anyone who can be in pain and still be happy and positive is an inspiration. Which means that you’re an inspiration Sophie! This soup looks delish too!! Of course, it’s really hot in California at the moment, so I’ll have to wait until we get some soup weather to make it. Celeste ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Yes, I have my chronic pain for 7 years no, since June this year. Thanks for the sweet & kind words, my dear Celeste! xxx Aaaaah,…! xxx
      You also can eat this tasty soup, ice-cold like my previous soup, of course! It really works because I tried it out! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  9. How cute! Tofu Croutons?!

    I am giving away a dozen Perfect Fit Protein by Tone It Upโ„ข single serving packets on my blog if you’re interested. ^___^

  10. Yummo. This soup looks amazing. I love the color!!! Every time I read that you’ve used your Vitamix I smile to myself. I seriously need to invest in one!

  11. Thanks for my award Sophie! I’m honoured. You’re an amazing person to be suffering from chronic pain; yet maintaining such positivity and enthusiasm. My hat goes off to you. Love your varied music tastes! Oh, and your latest recipe looks lovely โ€“ as usual.

  12. Thanks so much for the award, Sophie. I didn’t know you’re an only child. It’s great you had some neighbourhood friends to grow up with. I do hope that over time, your chronic pain issues can be resolved xx

  13. Sophie, Congratulations! You deserve the recognition for your hard work and great blog.
    jim

  14. – Congratulations on your awards!
    – Oh Sweet Sophie… three awards to me? I am honored! Thank you very much!
    – I read the 7 things about you. I know all about physical pain and pray that time will heal you. Your voluntary work at Home For the Elderly is very kind and honorable.
    – Other than two of the bloggers, your nominees are all new to me, and I will check them out.

  15. Thank you for sharing and passing on an award to me. Sorry to hear you are still in pain Sophie!

  16. Thanks for the lovely nomination my sweet friend! You’re gorgeous inside and out! So, so sorry to hear that you’re living life in chronic pain. I work with older people also, and it’s so inspiring to see how strong people (like you!) can overcome the pain and live a giving and joyful life… you’re a beautiful inspiration. Love and hugs. Take care my dear, congrats on your nominations (you deserve every one!) xx

  17. Sophie – what a scrumptious soup. I love soups of all kinds and this one would be lovely on its own or with a starter to a main meal. Yummm!

  18. Congratulations on all of your recent blogging awards Sophie! You deserve them! I love your blog and all of the amazing and creative recipes that you share. It was great reading this post and learning more about you! We have very similar tastes in music. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also, your courgette soup looks great, you must have devoured this dish in no time flat!

  19. Hello Sophie,
    Again a very good recipe. It can be served hot or cold. Delicious!
    Congratulations on your new awards. Go on lovely daughter!
    Mamlou

  20. Congratulations on your awards and thanks for thinking of me! We should really get together sometime, I think you can give me lots of valuable tips to become a better blogger myself. But first I will definitely try this soup, looks delicious!

  21. You deserve all these accolades and more my friend ๐Ÿ˜€
    Big congrats! And you are very sweet to pass an award on to me – thank you!
    Visit Australia soon!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  22. Hi Sophie. Congratulations on another wonderful post (this soup looks lovely), and on all your well-deserved awards. And it’s great to hear that you’ve been to my home town – Salisbury!! There are a couple of great cookery shops there, and I’m glad you managed to buy a fun souvenir to bring home! I would love to see some cookies made with the cutters…

      1. Salisbury is a beautiful city – I was very lucky to grow-up there. And I love these posts – fabulous cutters!

  23. Sophie, I am so glad I found your blog through Fae! Where have I been? I have missed so many wonderful post from you, well, I’m on board now and look forward to reading more from you. Congratulations on all your well deserved awards.

Comments are closed.