Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan & Gluten-free cold minted courgettes almond soup! MMM!

on 03/08/2013
MMMM: A Vegan + Gluten-free delicious soup!

MMM: A Vegan + Gluten-free delicious soup!

A while ago, I made this tasty cold minted courgettes, pine nuts & almond milk soup. I don’t know if you could call this a soup, because there is no stock in here! πŸ˜‰ This is very tasty if you serve it completely cold, very cold! Β Perfect in this very hot Summer! Enjoy! I made this in a normal blender before I got my Vitamix. The Vitamix will blend this completely smooth,…! πŸ™‚

Read on,…For this easy & tasty recipe! πŸ˜‰

Recipe: For 4 persons, each 1 big bowl!

Ingredients:

1 + 1/2 green young courgettes, no pits, cleaned, with peel still on, cut up into chunks

2 fat cloves of fresh garlic, peeled & finely cut up

20 gr of toasted pine nuts

3 tablespoons of fresh mint leaves, cleaned, no stalks, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper, cut up roughly

400 ml of unsweetened almond milk

Maldon sea salt

grins of black pepper

Method:

1. Β Put every ingredient in your blender & add the almond milk first. Don’t season it yet. Blend everything until completely smooth & taste! Add finely milled black pepper & some sea salt to your taste but not too much sea salt. You don’t want that! It has to taste fabulous & punchy! Blend again until completely emulsified!

2. Pour into a container with fitted lid & place into the fridge to cool down completely. This soup is really tasty when you serve it, ice-cold! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

 

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

50 responses to “Vegan & Gluten-free cold minted courgettes almond soup! MMM!

  1. Simple and delicious! Perfect for the summer.

  2. Katarina says:

    Sounds refreshing! I love your Marimekko napkin πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thank you, I also have placemats of them in these colours & in other colours too! I love Marimekko too! ☺

  3. Adrian Lupsa says:

    Perfect for summer! It seems so refreshing. πŸ™‚ I wonder if pine nuts can be replaced with another ingredient. They are quite expensive here, but I guess they are really important, because they give a crunchy taste to the dish. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Interesting recipe! I have never seen or tried a minted soup before! Do you think the soup will work with other herbs such as cilantro or parsley since I’m not too fond of mint? Otherwise the soup looks fantastic and great that it can be made nearly raw!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I think coriander leaves go also well with courgettes but maybe you must add more punch like dried Chili flakes or so, adjust your seasoning! Test it out & let me know! πŸ˜‰

  5. Ina gawne says:

    Sophie – what a perfect soup for hot weather…love the pine nuts in this soup too…yummy!

  6. Dear Sophie,
    minted courgettes and almonds – that sounds really interesting and tasty πŸ™‚
    And I just read you like marimekko-desgns too. Actually I am much better setting up a table nicely than with cooking πŸ˜‰ When friends are around they are cooking and I set the table what I really like.
    Have a happy weekend.
    Hugs
    Klausbernd

    • Sophie33 says:

      That’s also great to hear! I would invite you instantly & you can serve & set the atble! I will cook for you! xxx

  7. Liz says:

    totally a woo hoo soup–I want to make this! What fresh flavors πŸ™‚ You are a great advert for Vita Mix. Hope they are paying you royalties πŸ˜‰

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, sweet Liz! No, I don’t get any royalties! I loooovvvee my Vitamix so much! I use it daily 3 to 4 times per day! πŸ™‚ xxx

  8. Tammy says:

    Very close to my last post! I’ll have to try your version!

  9. Carolyn Jung says:

    A cold, nutty soup is just the ticket in summer. I could eat this for days on end when the heat hits.

  10. Looks delicous Sophie! Love mint!

  11. Bernice says:

    What a great soup for a hot-summer day!!

  12. Tandy says:

    I like the addition of mint to your soup Sophie πŸ™‚

  13. What a refreshing and colorful treat for summer! I have lots of mint outside – great idea!

  14. Hotly Spiced says:

    Cold soups are wonderful in the summer. Amazing how it doesn’t have any stock! It’s a very pretty colour xx

  15. Koko says:

    A cold soup!! That is something I have maybe never made…but I would love too! It sounds so great for the hot summer weather. Between this soup and your spinach courgette one, I am having trouble deciding which one to make first!!

  16. lefoodsnob says:

    Not sure you’ve ever heard someone say this … but I’ve never tried cold soup. It scares me! This, however, looks and sounds delicious enough for me to try!

  17. Liz says:

    We were just discussing almond milk the other day now here comes a cold soup with almond milk and pine nuts (very nutritious). I am supposed to be buying and tasting Almond milk! Is three tablespoons of mint not too much? I am really curious about the taste. Thanks so much, I have bookmarked!

    • Sophie33 says:

      My husband & I loved it in the soup, it needed that, I found! It is up to you, add 1 tablespoon at a time & taste along the way! ) x The mint is very refreshing in this soup! It needed 3 tablespoons! πŸ˜‰ x

  18. I love your soup recipes. This looks so delish and summery πŸ™‚

  19. Amber says:

    What an interesting and creative soup! Looks perfect for a hot summer day.

  20. katrina berg says:

    I need more good cold soup recipes, thx so much Sophie, can’t wait to try this! xo

  21. Looks like a great soup! Yum!

  22. veghotpot says:

    I cant get my head around cold soup but this does sound really really delicious so I think I will try it! πŸ™‚ maybe I’ll be converted!

  23. Love that little summery zing of mint in there!

Comments are closed.
