Posted in Recipes

Sophie’s vegetarian butternut squash, quinoa & red beans chili

A divine vegetarian alternative stew!

Ready to dig in!

A few days ago, I made this tasty vegetarian chili. It rocked my taste buds,..ooh,..yes!

I served it with a dollop of sheep’s Greek style yoghurt.
MMM…all the way!

I am sending this tasty dish over @ my friend’s Brittany’s blog: Real Sustenance. She organises a special Seasonal’s Sundays & you can also take part! Just click onto the link & you will find out!! 

Print me!

Recipe: For 4 hungry people
Ingredients:
1 large red onion, peeled & finely diced
3 fat fresh cloves of garlic, peeled & finely diced
550 gr of peeled butternut squash, peeled, cut into smaller cubes, each about 2cm x 1 cm
red chili powder, nearly 1 level tablespoon, just a little bit less!
100 gr of quinoa, soaked in cold water for 10 minutes & well-drained
2 x 400 gr good quality cans of chopped tomatoes
3/4 empty tomato can filled with water
2 x 400 gr of red kidney beans, well rinsed & well leaked
coriander leaves: (cilantro ) a small handful, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper, cut roughly
a fruity EVOO
** to serve: Sheep’s Greek style yoghurt or normal Greek yoghurt

Method:
1. Take a large Creuset pan with fitting lid or another big stewing pot with fitting lid. Place this pot on medium heat and add 2 to 3 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO. Heat up. When hot & sizzling, add the chopped onion & garlic & fry until soft. Stir often.
2. Add the chili powder, stir the chili round & fry for about 1 minute to give its aroma’s off. Add a bit more of the EVOO is necessary. Then add the chopped butternut squash, quinoa, 2 tins of chopped tomatoes & 3/4 empty can of tomatoes filled with water. Stir everything well round & cook until it has thickened a lot, the quinoa & the veggies are cooked through. Cook with the lid 3/4 on & it will take about 20 to 25 minutes. From time to time, stir everything well round to prevent sticking or turn the heat a bit down. Take the lid off if you want to.
3. When the stew is nearly ready, in the last 10 minutes or so, add the 2 cans of beans. Stir well through the stew. Heat up the beans. When your stew is ready, taste. It has to taste fabulous!
4. Just before serving, add the roughly chopped coriander leaves ( cilantro ).
5. Serve on a lovely plate with a dollop of sheep’s Greek yoghurt on the side & enjoy with a loved one!

 

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

76 thoughts on “Sophie’s vegetarian butternut squash, quinoa & red beans chili

  1. Quinoa in a chili? Great idea, Sophie! Don't you adore butternut squash? So many wonderful flavors in your dish. Yogurt on top is perfect!

  2. YUMMY! I am making this for my mother in law who is a vegetarian and gluten intolerant! Lovely!

  3. WOW! This looks amazing. What a treat as Autumn approaches! I must make this very soon. Brilliant to use quinoa in the chili!

  4. We GF folks have to be clever with our grains and you've hit a bull's eye with the quinoa, Sophie! What a great chili you've made here!

  5. Yum, I can see why you liked this one – love squash and love quinoa. Don't know what EVOO is though?

  6. I have most of the ingredients you have listed except for the butternut squash I may need to buy right now!

  7. I've never seen quinoa in a chili before, but that sounds like a great idea. Thanks for the inspiration!Also, thanks for adding my blog to the blogroll!

  8. Perfect! Now I know what to do with some of that butternut squash overtaking my garden! Love all the tastes and textures.

  9. Sophie…after having looked over those tasty ingredients..I can totally understand your excitement about your great dish.BTW…Autumn is my favourite season…and hopefully sometime next week I'll be getting a great big basket of squashes ;o)Ciao for now,Claudia

  10. Sophie, putting butternut squash in your chili is such a great idea. I would never have thought of it. And the Greek yogurt finishes it perfectly.Sam

  11. quinoa is my new found love… Looks so nutritious and filling… Super good Sophie…Yogurt is even better….

  12. Oh this looks soooooo good! Quinoa is so healthy and you've made it so tasty with the addition of other interesting ingredients. I love a good vegetarian chili… this could become a staple of my fall diet.

  13. Looks fabulous chili….healthy and delicious…mmm. It's good to eat vegetarian every now and then. Thanks very much for sharing.

  14. sigh. i guess it is time for chili again, isn't it. quinoa is the perfect ingredient for a hearty vegetarian chili–delicious work, sophie!

  15. It's nearly chili time here too. I like your vegetarian take on it, and the "hands on" approach in the top photo.

  16. hi sophie I love quinoa which I have discovered recently !! thaks for this sharing !!it rains today in Paris !!Pierre

  17. I know i would love this hearty and healthy chili, Sophie. Fall is approaching and this will be perfect on the cold, rainy days that are ahead.

  18. This looks like a very tasty chilli, would be perfect eating with flat bread, just wondering how quinoa taste like?

  19. Forgot to add that I love quinoi but do not use it nearly as creatively as I would like, you're really helping me out here.

  20. Ah, I guess it's time to breakout the butternut again! Love the idea of using it in chili, it must add wonderful texture and a nice subtle sweetness.

  21. Wow, it sounds and looks great. The fact that its vegetarian and uses quinoa…makes me so much better than conventional boring ol' chili

  22. Miam, miam, ce chili au quinoa m'a l'air succulent! j'adore le quinoa, la courge, et les haricots rouges et toutes les épices que tu as mises dans le plat!! A essayer de toute urgence 🙂

  23. Delicious, flavorful, and pack with fiber. Well done Sophie, because this is perfect for those autumn chilly night.

  24. I love the ingredients that you have used here. I imagine that this dish is as delicious as it is beautiful. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  25. oh wow – this sounds and looks absolutely scrummy – never thought of putting quinoa in chilli – will definitely try this recipe out!

  26. Sophie this looks beautiful, I'm crazy about butternut squash. And the quinoa what a great idea.

  27. Very good site and your site looks to have a lot of people adding comments so you are doing something right.

  28. One of the most spectacular posts I have ever seen on this site. I did find this very helpful for my place of work. Thank you a lot.

  29. This looks delicious!! I’m definitely going to have to try it this fall! Thank you so much 🙂 I’ll “post” about it when I do!

  30. Definitely making this! I love the idea of adding fresh cilantro! What a great idea of adding butternut squash, too! They are all over our stores right now.

Comments are closed.