Posted in Recipes

Vegan veggie pasta sauce with seitan on a bed of spelt spaghetti

Yesterday evening, I made this tasty vegan pasta sauce. I served it with semi-wholemeal spelt spaghetti. I added some veggies too, of course! Instead of real mince, I used vegan seitan mince. I love seitan mince over real pork & veal mince anyway. So, this is how I did it:

Yumm! All vegan! It looks just like the real thing!
Yumm! All vegan!
It looks just like the real thing!

Yummm! Donโ€™t you want a big plate full?

p1180694watermark

Can you guess the ingredients in this lovely red sauce? Read on to find out, if you were right!

Recipe: For 3 persons, each a big part!

Ingredients:

seitan mince : 200 gr

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

2 big red bell peppers ( red paprika ), cleaned, seeds, white bits & top cut out, cut into bigger parts โ€”- They will get into the food processor later!

1 big fennel bulb, or 2 smaller ones, tubes & hard core removed, cut into thicker parts โ€”โ€“ they will get into the food processor later!

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & chopped

mixed spiced dried chili pepper flakes, in a grinder

Provenรงal dried herbs : 1 teaspoon

a fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil

spaghetti seasoning: 1/2 teaspoon

350 gr of semi-wholemeal spelt spaghetti

700 ml of tomato passata

Method:

1. First, put garlic & red bell pepper pieces in your food processor. Blitz until it is very fine, like this:

p1180629watermark

ย Take a large cooking pot & heat up on high. Pour 2 big swirls of that fruity evoo in it. When hot, add blitzed red bell pepper garlic mix. Fry for a bit. Lower the heat if you need to. Add 1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt & 5 grins of finely milled black pepper. Then, add 700 ml of tomato passata to the pot. Add 1 teaspoon of dried Provenรงal herbs & 1/2 teaspoon of spaghetti seasoning. Stir often. Then, I added 20 grins of that mill with mixed dried chili flakes in it.ย Cook for 5 minutes.

2. Now, place your fennel pieces in your food processor & blitz nearly fine. So, blitz for 3/4. You still need lots of pieces left to see, for the eye. ย Something like this:

p1180637watermark

ย Add to the tomato sauce. Cook for a further 5 minutes or until the fennel pieces are just cooked through. Then, I added an extra 5 grins of that mill with mixed dried chili flakes in it. Your sauce will be a bit spicy in your mouth & lips but not too much, just right to taste the red bell peppers & the fennel too.ย ;)ย Finally, I fried the seitan mince in some olive oil & added sea salt & black pepper. I fried it until it was browned on all sides. Add to the tomato-veggie sauce. Stir well. Taste again. Your sauce must be lipsmacking tasty! Cook your spelt spaghetti according to your packet instructions & drain well.Serve instantly with a loved one!ย :)ย MMM โ€ฆ !!!ย โ™ฅย Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

You can also find this tasty recipe here:ย http://www.instructables.com/id/Vegan-veggie-seitan-pasta-sauce-on-a-bed-of-spelt-/

 

BewarenBewaren

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

25 thoughts on “Vegan veggie pasta sauce with seitan on a bed of spelt spaghetti

  1. I really like seitan, the texture is really nice and mimics that of meat so I can see how it would be really wonderful in this sauce. I never would have guessed all of your ingredients, I can imagine how good it is. I’ve also never had spelt spaghetti. What a great healthful meal.

  2. Oh my gosh, I was actually thinking of making some of this. Great minds think alike, I guess. It looks delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. yes, I will have a big plate full ๐Ÿ™‚ Red bell pepper, your secret ingredient–nice!

  4. I made it today & loved every bite, so did my husband! We both loved it so much! It is so different to what we are used to! That fennel makes all of the difference! x

  5. The sauce looks so good! A great meal, Sophie.

  6. Nom Nom Nom… This looks amazing. I am doing a 30 day yoga challenge at the moment, cant believe how hungry it is making me, and for healthy foods too. Will add this recipe to the dinner menu. Sounds yummo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I made this lovely dinner yesterday evening!

    It was very yummy & tasty with all that fennel! xxx
    It was the 1st time, I tasted seitan mince! It is really delicious too!

  8. You have used some awesome ingredients here! The fennel and bell pepper would be so lovely in a tomato sauce! Spelt pasta is so yummy, too!

Comments are closed.