Posted in Recipes

Curried Jerusalem artichokes yellow carrot soup! Vegan + Gluten-Free!

_1310624watermark-4

Yesterday, I received some fresh Jerusalem artichokes, also named sunchokes, topinambours in French & aardperen in my language aka Dutch! Whatever you call them, these veggies are very under-estimated & under-used here in Belgium. When you buy them organic, they are very pricy!

1. There isΒ nearly no fat in this veggie & it has zero cholesterol!

2. It’s high-quality phyto-nutrition profile comprises ofΒ dietary fiber (non-starch carbohydrates), and antioxidants, as well as small proportions of minerals, and vitamins.

3.Β It isΒ one of the finest source dietary fibers, especially high in inulin,Β which is a soluble non-starch polysaccharide. The root flesh provides 1.6 mg or 4% of fiber. Inulin is a zero calorie, saccharine, and inert carbohydrate, which does not metabolize inside the human body, and thereby; it can’t be digested the way through so you must fart a lot but hey, it is healthy!!! This makes this tuber an ideal sweetener for diabetics and dieters. So inulin is the opposite of insulin.

4. It alsoΒ helps toΒ reduce constipation problems!

5. ItΒ can prevent colon cancers too!

6. The tuber hasΒ small amounts of anti-oxidant vitamins such as vitamin C, vitamin A, vitamin E.Β These vitamins together with flavonoid compound like carotene helps scavenge harmful free radicals, and thereby offers protection from cancers, inflammation and viral cough and cold.

7.Β Further, Jerusalem artichokes are a very good source of minerals and electrolytes, especially potassium,Β iron, and copper.Β 100 g of fresh root has 429 mg or 9% of daily required levels of potassium.Β Potassium is a heart friendly electrolyte;Β aids reduce blood pressure and heart rates by countering pressing effects of sodium.

8.Β 100 g of fresh sunchoke has 3.4 mg or 42.5% ofΒ iron,Β probably the highest amount of iron among the common edible roots and tubers.

9.Β It also has small levels of some of valuable B-complex group of vitamins such as folate, pyridoxine, pantothenic acid, riboflavin, and thiamine.

Do you even know what they look like? They will look something like this:

Uncleaned!
Uncleaned!

After being well-rinsed & well-cleaned, they will look something like this:

_1310600watermark-1

I made my sunchokes to be the main part in this glorious Seasonal soup. I added some leek, yellow carrots, garlic & curry to this winning soup!

Recipe: For 7 cups = 1750 ml Vitamixed soup

Ingredients:

310 gr peeled, chopped up yellow carrots ( 2 cups )

192 gr cleaned, rinsed, pad dry on kitchen paper cut up leeks ( 2 cups )

1200 ml hot vegan gluten-free stock

2 teaspoons + 1/2 teaspoon curry powder

30 grins of black pepper

grinned Himalyan pink salt

2 cloves of garlic, peeled & finely chopped up

468 gr well scrubbed fresh Jerusalem artichokes, cut up into chunks ( 2 cups + 1 heaped cup )

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Take a larger cooking pot & heat up on medium-high. Add a few drizzles of that fruity evoo & heat up. When sizzling, add chopped garlic & leeks. Add 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder & 10 grins of black pepper. fry for about 5 minutes, stirring often.

2. Now, add chopped yellow carrots & chopped up j.artichokes. Stir often & add some more oil if you need to. Add 2 teaspoons of curry powder, 10 grins of black pepper & some pink salt. Stir often. Let it all fry for about 8 minutes or until nearly soft. Pour hot stock & bring to the boil. My veggies were cooked through after 8 minutes. Check the seasoning. You must taste the J. artichokes & then the curry at the back of your tongue! I added 10 grins of black pepper & some pink salt extra. I Vitamixed my soup until completely smooth & served it straight away at my dinner table! MMMΒ  … πŸ™‚

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!! Get my free E-book: Healthy Vegan christmas too!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

BewarenBewaren

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

37 thoughts on “Curried Jerusalem artichokes yellow carrot soup! Vegan + Gluten-Free!

  1. Hello Sophie,
    Your soup looks looks very tasty and delicious. Enjoy!
    Mamalou

  2. I’ve never used sun chokes, do you peel them? The soup sounds wonderful and I have had sun chokes before and they really are delicious.

  3. yes, so healthy! Have not cooked with Jerusalem artichokes yet, but on my list. Your soup would make a good start πŸ™‚

  4. In Germany we call it Erdbirne or also Topinambur, in Norway we say jordskokk. Not so common on the menu around here so thank you very much for this most interesting and tasty post, Sophie! ❀

  5. Oh I looove sunchokes (AKA Jerusalem artichokes.) They can be a bit tricky to find around here, but absolutely worth the hunt. I can think of nothing more soothing than a thick, creamy bowlful of this soup. I’ll have to make it next time I can get my hands on those treasured tubers.

  6. I made your tasty soup just now & love it so much, dear Sophie! It is so delicious too!
    Very yum yum!

  7. I made your tasty soup yesterday afternoon & my wife & I both love it! It is something different to what we are used to! The cooked sunchokes are quite sweet & yummy! x

  8. dear Sophie, I just made your soup and it’s so nice, very delicate, very delicious, thank you for this great recipe!!

    xo Linda

    1. You are so welcome, dear Linda! Happy that you love it too! πŸ™‚ Next year, we are growing our own in our allotment! They are very easy to grow & their flowers grow to 1.5 meter to 3 meters high! x

    1. yeahh! We have an allotment sine the beginning of November & we are growing these next year! I love them! xx

  9. I made your divine soup & loved every spoonful! So much flavor too! xxx

  10. Jerusalem artichokes make my head shake and eyes twitch. Memories of peeling them as an apprentice chef for hours on end, come to mind. LOL! Looks like a beautiful and very healthy soup tho. πŸ™‚

  11. This sounds awesome! I love curry in soups….it just makes it that much more warming and comforting! Mmmmm!

  12. I love sunchokes too! I must try this lovely tasty looking soup! It looks very yum yum too! x

Comments are closed.