Posted in Recipes

Vegan Morrocan inspired dinner!

Yesterday evening, I made this divine Moroccan inspired dinner. My husband Peter & I also loved it! It wa so gooooodddd & delicious, if I say so myself! 😉 Check it out below! I was inspired by my good fellow blogger friend, Laura who lives in Australia, by her recent post called: The Moroccan Table.

A divine Moroccan inspired vegan dinner!
Yummmmmmm! 🙂

This is a very fragrant, filling, healthy dinner! 🙂

Recipe: For 4 people

Ingredients:

* For the raisins quinoa:

160 gr dry quinoa: rinsed & well-drained

100 gr dark dried raisins, we are going to soak them!

Maldon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

* For the coriander spiced carrots:

600 gr peeled carrots, each carrot cut into 2 & then horizontally into 4 longer strips

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

sea salt

* For the fried chickpea-onion-garlic mix:

1 can of cooked chickpeas, rinsed & drained well

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

1 very big white onion, peeled & cut up into finer strips

1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin

1 to 2 teaspoons of garam masala

some Maldon sea salt

some black pepper

* For the fried seitan cutlets:

280 gr of home-made seitan cutlets, I used home-made seitan from a year ago, that I defrosted in the day

a fruity evoo

* To serve: 2 tablespoons of toasted almond flakes/  How to toast your flaked almonds? Take a fitted non-stick pan & add almond flakes in 1 layer into the pan. Heat up on low-heat. The almond flakes will get browner on one side & you must shake the pan up & down & turn the flakes over to toast them equally on all sides. Lower the heat if you need to. They will smell very yummy when they are getting toasted. Do not let them burn!!!! After a few minutes, turn heat off & set aside.

Method:

1. Put your dark raisins in some just boiled hot water to cover them completely. Let them soak for at least 15 minutes. Drain well & set aside. Meanwhile, cook your quinoa according to your packet instructions. I added a bit of sea salt & 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin to the quinoa. Stir & cook, simmer for about 12 minutes or until cooked through & flipped open. Drain the excess of water if you need to. Place the cooked quinoa on the heat to cook off excess of steam. Turn heat off & add drained raisins & stir through the cooked cumin quinoa. Taste. It has to taste good. Keep warm. At the same time, cook your peeled carrot pieces in boiling water with some sea salt added. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander to the hot water. Cook until just al dente but they must not fall apart!Drain well & keep warm.

2. When all the rest is done, take a larger non-stick pan & heat up on high. Pour 1 to 2 tablespoons of that fruity evoo in it & heat up. Now, add cut up garlic & onion pieces & stir often until browned & nearly cooked through. I seasoned with some sea salt, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin & some black pepper. Stir often!! Now, add chickpeas & fry for a few minutes. The chickpeas will get fried on all sides, for extra crispness! 😉 Now, add 1 to 2 teaspoons of garam masala, according to your taste. I added 2 teaspoons in total! Stir often to combine it all. Place a fitted lid over the pan & keep warm. Now, fry your defrosted home-made seitan cutlets in some hot fruity evoo for a few minutes per side or until browned & crispy on both sides!

Serve instantly, like picture above & scatter your toasted flaked almonds all over the top of each plate. Best enjoyed with your loved ones! We ate from this dinner 2 days! The next day, the quinoa-raisins mix is even better in flavour! 🙂 MMM! Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

45 thoughts on “Vegan Morrocan inspired dinner!

  1. What a fantastic post Soph!! I love everything about it… such a great range of flavours and textures (those carrots… oh my gosh, they sound divine!). Thanks for linking in my post, I’m glad that it inspired you to create your own vegan Moroccan meal!! xxx

  2. It does look like an excellent meal and it must be full of flavour. I love to spice up quinoa and I think the raisins are a great touch xx

  3. The idea of all those delicate, fragrant, and pungent seasonings mingling together has my mouth watering! It definitely looks like my kind of plate.

  4. Hi Sophie. This looks really good. I’ve recently discovered an excellent Moroccan restaurant in Sheffield, and I’m looking forward to trying out some recipes at home. Thanks for this suggestion. Gx

  5. I love Moroccan flavours!! This dinner looks so delightful…every element of it! I better check out Laura’s blog!

Comments are closed.