Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan stir-fry with home-made seitan!

on 03/02/2013
MMM! A vegan srir fry with home-made seitan!Double yum!

MMM! A vegan stir fry with home-made seitan!
Double yum!

Home-made seitan just simmered for 45 minutes, cooled off in its broth. Ready to lift out of the broth & slice & cut up like you want too.Just fry it & freeze the rest for later use. I sliced,it into seitan cutlets. Easy does it here!

Home-made seitan just simmered for 45 minutes, cooled off in its broth. Ready to lift out of the broth, slice & cut it up like you want too. Just fry it & freeze the rest for later use. I sliced it into seitan cutlets. Easy does it here!

Recipe for the home-made seitan

I use the recipe from the vegetariantimes.com. You can find the video here!

I adapted a lot of things from the original recipe & added something too.

So, here is my adapted recipe!

MMM! Home-made cut up seitan!

MMM! Home-made cut up seitan! It looks like cold meatloaf! πŸ™‚

MMM …

** For the home-made seitan:

2 cups of vital wheat gluten flour. Β ( This is special gluten full wheat flour, made that way, that you end up with a lot of gluten power in it. It has at least 75% gluten. You must get this type of wheat flour to make your own seitan! In Dutch , this is called: Vitaal gluten poeder or vitaal glutenvol meel. I used the brand Vajra. I bought in the Bioshop, in de Kartuizerstraat, in 1000 Brussel. )

1/2 cup of nutritional yeast

1 teaspoon of garlic powder

1 teaspoon of shalot powder

1/2 peeled red onion, cut into smaller chunks

1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme

5 cups of a good hot vegan vegetable stock. I used organic 100% vegan vegetable stock, low in sodium. Mine was yellow in colour.

2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & cut into finer chunks

1/2 teaspoon of coriander seeds

Method:

1. Take a large bowl & add 2 cups of vital wheat flour, 1/2 cup of nutritional yeast, garlic & shalot powder. Whisk till well combined. Now, add 1 cup of your vegan stock & 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Mix it well with a large wooden spoon. Mix for a bit & if it is too dry, add a splash or 2 of the rest of the hot vegan stock. Now, turn it out all on a floured kitchen counter & knead the dough well, until it all comes together & forms an elastic dough. I kneaded my dough for 5 minutes or so. If your dough is too dry, add another splash or 2 of the rest of hot vegan stock. Knead again well. My dough was darker yellow in colour because my stock is yellow. On the video, their stock is dark brown so their seitan becomes brown in colour. If your dough is very elastic & okay, divide it into 2 seitan loaves. Like this:

2  uncooked seitan loaves

2 uncooked seitan loaves

2. It is time to pour the remaining hot vegan stock over the seitan loaves. They will be covered for 3/4. Add chopped 1/2 red onion, garlic pieces & dried thyme. Divide it all over the surface. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of coriander seeds, not crushed, for added aroma. You could change these aromatics but this gives you a good base for a savoury stock. You could change it into Asian flavours or your preferred flavours. You could also add in fresh herbs, tied with a string but I didn’t do that. Just experiment, people! πŸ™‚ It will look something like this:

All ready to simmer away for 45 minutes! Do not boil them !! tjis way, you will get that chewy texture inside!!!

All ready to simmer away for 45 minutes! Do not boil them !! This way, you will get that chewy texture inside!!!

Now, just simmer the seitan breads for about 35 to 45 minutes, into your Creuset pot with the lid on.Β Do not be tempted to boil them on a high fire otherwise you won’t get that chewy texture inside! It is this thatΒ you want so much! So, simmer away!!!Β Check often, adjust your fire to simmering point!!!After 15 minutes of simmering, I turned my 2 seitan pieces over so that the bottom of each seitan loaf was on top. The stock will get lower into the pot. I also turned them over again after 20 minutes.With the help of a spoon, often, I poured the vegan stock over the uncovered tops of the seitan pieces.

Check often your simmering. Sometimes, you must turn the heat a bit Β more on & sometimes, you must lower your heat!!! When ready, turn the heat off & take away your lid. Let the seitan sit & cool off into the liquid. When completely cooled off, stock & seitan pieces, lift them out & place them on a clean plate, with double kitchen paper on it. My 2 seitan pieces were in total: 779 gr. My small one was: 341 gr & my large one: 438 gr. Yeah, baby! I took my smaller one & sliced it a bit thicker with a sharp knife. Then, I cubed it. I had squarish chunks. See picture above, in my noodles dish.

You can slice these seitan loaves into seitan cutlets or into cubes, like I did. You also can pull away the seitan, just like pulled pork or you can make larger smaller pieces like nuggets. You choose! You even can place this seitan in a food processor to make seitan mince. It is up to you! I used 250 gr of ready to use seitan in my stir-fry dish. I froze them in easy Ziplock bags, per 2 portions. I also froze the rest of my seitan broth. The rest, I sliced into cutlets, that I froze for later use. Just like this:

Seitan cut up into cutlets, ready to use or freeze!

Seitan cut up into cutlets, ready to use or freeze!

Now, on with the recipe!

Recipe: Vegan stir-fry with vegan home-made seitan cubes!

For 3 persons, with a bit of seconds

250 gr of home-made seitan, cubes

2 Chinese long aubergines ( eggplants ), cut into rounds, cut into 2 or 4 ( no pits or nearly no pits )

3 handfuls of sliced wok vegetables ( Mine included white onion rings, carrot sticks, leek rounds & soy shoots )

Chinese wok oil ( Mine has sunflower oil: 82 %, aroma of ginger & roasted sesame oil: 17% in it )

low-sodium soy sauce

mirin ( Japanese sweet rice cooking wine ) : 2 tablespoons

3 cm piece of freshly, peeled ginger, cut into thin strips & cut up finely

white thicker noodles ( I used Ho Fan vermicelli Β noodles )

100 ml of your seitan broth

Method:

1. Cook your noodles with 1/2 of the ginger pieces according to your packet instructions. Drain well. Set aside.

2. I use an electric wok. Oil your wok with the wok oil. Set up on medium high. Add your cold seitan pieces & wok veggies. Add 2 tablespoons of the soy sauce & stir-fry until the cubes are browned on all sides & the veggies are al dente. take them all out of your wok & set aside to keep warm. Now, add a swirl of the wok oil & swirl around in the wok. When hot, add the other half of the ginger pieces & the Chinese aubergine chunks. Add a bit more wok oil & stir fry a lot. Now, add 2 tablespoons of the soy sauce & pour some hot water to the wok & place the lid on. Steam the aubergine chunks. take the lid off & stir-fry. Finally, add 2 tablespoons of the mirin & the aubergine chunks will get shiny this way. Stir until al dente & tasty! Now, heat up on higher heat, add the drained noodles, 100 ml of your seitan broth, ginger bits, seitan & wok veggies too. Β Mingle everything together & fry for a few minutes until all is hot & the seitan broth has cooked in.

3. Serve at once & plate up! See that everyone has every veggie & seitan cubes in their plate! Enjoy with chopsticks! πŸ˜‰ Happy eating!

 

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan & GF Asian marinated baked tofu pieces, wokked veggies & brown rice noodles!

2. Vegan marinated tofu & veggies stir-fry

89 responses to “Vegan stir-fry with home-made seitan!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Home-made seitan? You are amazing Sophie. This looks fantastic.

  2. Ali says:

    I’ve never heard of seitan before…it does look like a meatloaf…and looks quite tasty too! Great looking stir fry πŸ™‚

  3. hotlyspiced says:

    Thanks Sophie for introducing me to something new. I’ve never heard of seitan before. Love your stir-fry xx

  4. Candy says:

    sounds delish, you are always so imaginative πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, but I had a lovely recipe from the vegetarian times to begin with! I just adapted the things & added 1 thing too! πŸ™‚

  5. Ally says:

    This is a great tutorial Sophie! Thank you. I have never made seitan but with your instructions, I feel like it would be a straightforward process. πŸ™‚

  6. afracooking says:

    I got all exited reading this post – I have never even thought of making my own seitan. Yours looks amazing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much, my friend! πŸ™‚ Enjoy it too! πŸ™‚ In the time that you are simmering the seitan for 45 minutes, meanwhile I did the dishes!

  7. I must admit, I’ve only taken the initiative to make my own seitan once or twice now… But it’s always worth the extra effort! Love the versatility the spicing options add, and yours sound delightfully savory and delicious.

  8. lou says:

    Hello Sophie
    It looks amazing. I want to be your volunteer for tasting it.
    Mamalou

  9. Looks delicious! I haven’t made seitan in ages, thanks for motivating me to make some again

  10. Liz says:

    very intrigued by homemade seitan–how cool are you! πŸ™‚ Looks tasty.

  11. Jacqueline says:

    I’m bookmarking this page. I’ve never had or seen seitan anywhere before, but feel I should and especially now hubby is a vegan.

  12. Starr says:

    Great looking seitan, Sophie! I tried making my own once, but it didn’t come out looking nearly as good as yours. I’ll have to give your recipe a try.

  13. Sounds delicious! πŸ™‚

  14. Velva says:

    I had no idea that seitan was made with gluten. I add vital gluten to my bread when using my bread machine. I learn something new everyday. Thanks for sharing.

  15. Sophie! This looks so hearty, filling and delicious!! I’ve never had seitan before but yours looks so amazing!! πŸ™‚

  16. Carolyn Jung says:

    Wow, you made your own seitan? That’s ambitious. Kudos to you!

  17. Brittany says:

    I neeeed to try to make my own seitan. I have been wanting to, but just haven’t done it!! This meal looks amazing!

  18. I don’t think that I’ve ever tried Seitan but if I were, I think a home made version like yours Sophie would be the pick! πŸ˜€

  19. Super Foodie Adventure says:

    wow, this looks great, Sophie. And very informative. I must make some sometime πŸ™‚

  20. liveblissful says:

    That looks delicious, I wish I could find vital gluten. Can’t seem to find it anywhere here.

    • Sophie33 says:

      I can buy it in my Asian supermarket & in 1 organic food shop. But yiou can find it online too! πŸ™‚

  21. Barbara says:

    I’ve never heard of seitan, Sophie. Loved your photos and how-to’s. Super looking stir fry!

  22. Sophie– you are educating me to a whole new eating world!– I’d never heard of seitan either. Thanks for the post.

  23. Koko says:

    Homemade seitan!? What an impressive feat Sophie! I don’t know many people at all that have tried making their own seitan! What a great, informative post! I feel like I could do it too, now!

    If you have any yummy recipes you would like to add to my Valentine’s Day Round-Up, feel free! I’d love to have your contribution! πŸ™‚

  24. Your creativity and delicious never ceases to amaze πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  25. Bashar A. says:

    I was salivating from the first shot…. OK… time for lunch πŸ™‚

  26. Thomas says:

    Hi its very easy to make isnt it. its a good change to eat this from time to time πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, I love it so much! πŸ™‚ It is fun to make too! πŸ™‚

      • Thomas says:

        yes true… when I made it for the first time it made me laugh how the gluten flour absorbed the liquid like a spong πŸ™‚ its fun to make πŸ™‚

  27. Norma Chang says:

    Making flavored homemade seitan is a great idea.

  28. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve never heard of seitan!

  29. looks good lol πŸ™‚

  30. Lisa says:

    Sophie..I think I may have told you about the TV show I watched where they made seitan from scratch. Ever since then..I’ve been so intrigued! This Vegan stir-fry with homemade seitan makes me want to get in the kitchen and make seitan! It looks wonderful!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I am happy hat you love it too! πŸ™‚ The vegan stir-fry with the home-made seitan chunks rocks! πŸ™‚ MMM!

  31. Homemade seiten…how cool is that!

  32. I always find such interesting and delicious recipes when I come to visit you, Sophie. I don’t know a lot about vegan cooking but I’m willing to learn.

  33. I love making my own seitan- so much better than store bought. Yours looks deeeeelish!

  34. Oooh, you are amazing! I’ve only tried seitan once (in the US) and haven’t even been brave enough to think about trying to make it myself!

  35. Tammy says:

    So Sophie, were you happy with both the taste and the consistency?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, I was! I didn’t know how home-made seitan must taste, frankly but my husbnad Peter & I loved it so much! πŸ™‚

  36. juliana says:

    This pasta dish sounds delicious Sophie..I yet have to try seitan. I am amazed that you made seitan from scratch.
    Have a great week!

  37. Sophie, I have to say, I always learn something when I visit your blog — thanks for sharing your findings and food secrets.

  38. Blond Duck says:

    Happy Thursday!

  39. Amber says:

    You cook with so many ingredients that I’m unfamiliar with but would love to try at some point! What is seitan?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Seitan is a wheat based fake meat. It has no soy beans in it. I prefer this seitan instead of meat & tofu. It has a great meat-like texture & is so versatile to use. This home-made seitan is the 1st one that I ever made & I love it so much. I sliced it & put it in the freezer for later use. I also love tpo make seitan mince & use it in my spaghetti & pasta dishes: so good!

  40. Look at this, you are amazing Sophie – it looks incredible! I have never ever had seitan I am sure your home made version is delicious. I must try! πŸ™‚

  41. Tandy says:

    Anything eaten with chopsticks has to be tasty!

  42. Vanessa says:

    Yum! This looks like it is straight from a restaurant. Good work!

  43. narf77 says:

    Your seitan looks amazing! I have tried a few times to make it but ended up with something that was too porous and way too spongy, bordering on an actual sponge with the amount of moisture that it absorbed…not entirely a pleasant experience to eat! I tried Bryanna Clark Grogan’s seitan and I think I am doing something wrong but I am going to give your version a go as it looks wholy promising and totally delectable. I think I might even be able to get Steve to eat some as it looks yummy :). Kudos for this recipe and cheers SO much for the share Sophie, you are an incredibly generous vegan foodie πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      You know I am not a vegan but do cook, abke & eat it 5x:week. I can’t make the whole switch to vegan because I am still in love with organic chicken & organic pork & I do love venison too! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.
