Posted in Recipes

My Aunt Pauline’s celeriac carrot soup with eggless chicken meatballs! :) Yum Yum!

This divine festive soup is a lovely celeriac carrot soup made with a vegetarian stock & topped with fried home-made simple eggless chicken meatballs! My husband & I ate this soup with lovely sourdough bread & butter as an alternative dinner! This soup was invented by my father’s Aunt Pauline. She was an inventive adventurous cook.Β  This soup is very filling not to mention, delicious too! πŸ™‚ Still in her nineties,Β she made this lovely smooth soup for all of us, at dinner parties! πŸ˜‰

Yummm! Ready to attack!
Yummm! Ready to attack!

I miss her deeply. She was like a great grand-mother to me,…x

Recipe: For at least 6 big portions

Ingredients:

* For the soup:

615 gr peeled celeriac, cut into bite-sized chunks ( weighted when peeled )

415 gr peeled carrots, cut up into thinner roundsΒ ( weighted when peeled )

1 fat large white onion, peeled & finely cut up

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

1600 ml of a good hot gluten-free vegetable stock

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

a fruity evoo= a fruity extra virgin olive oil

* For the eggless chicken meatballs:

350 gr egg-free, dairy-free, gluten-free organic chicken mince

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

a fruity evoo to fry the meatballs in

Method:

1. Take a larger cooking pot & pour 2 tablespoons of evoo in it & heat up on high. When hot, add cut up onion & garlic. Add some black pepper & sea salt & stir often. After 3 to 5 minutes, add chopped celeriac & carrots & fry it all for at least 5 minutes, stirring everything round in the pot. Add some more olive oil too, if you need to. Then, add hot gluten-free vegetarian stock until all the veggies are covered, add more if you need too. I used my 1600 ml. Bring to the boil & let the soup boil for about 10 to 15 minutes or until your veggies are cooked through. When ready, check the seasoning. I added 15 grins of black pepper extra & some sea salt too. I Vitamixed my soup into 2 batches & ladled it into lovely soup bowls.

2. In the meantime, take your organic chicken mince & place into a bigger bowl. Add simple seasoning, like sea salt & finely milled black pepper because you do not want to overpower the chicken meatballs because your soup is the star of the day! πŸ˜‰ With wet hands, make smaller meatballs. Roll them nicely into smaller round meatballs, see pic above, like in the soup. πŸ™‚ Fry the meatballs on all sides in some hot fruity evoo in a larger non-stick pan. Place the fried balls on a clean plate with double kitchen paper to dip off excess fat. Place about 5 to 6 chicken meatballs into the hot soup! Enjoy instantly with your loved ones! I promise you, you want more than 1 bowl & more chicken meatballs too! πŸ˜‰ Yum Yummmm!

 

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

Β http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me now on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

40 thoughts on “My Aunt Pauline’s celeriac carrot soup with eggless chicken meatballs! :) Yum Yum!

  1. I love the color of the soup, Sophie, very eye-popping. Love the fact that the recipe was invented by your great aunt. Very sentimental. When you have the chance, hop over to my Fiesta Friday and join the fun, hon. It’s a little blog party I organize to get together with blogger buddies. Would love for you to mix and mingle with us. XOXO

  2. – You are very lucky, Sophie, to have ween your great aunt and have a great memory and be recipient of invaluable passed on talent and recipe(s). πŸ˜€ I believe you how delicious this soup and the meatballs are.
    – My grandparents were gone when I was born and before even getting to know them, all my aunts and uncles were gone too. 😦 Good think is, now we leave many of our recipes for our descendants. πŸ˜€

  3. Hello Sophie,
    Our Aunt Pauline’s soup was indeed very nutritious and colourful too.
    It’s a respectful memory to her. She would be very pleased!
    Mamalou

  4. Your soup looks so silky, creamy and smooth. I love celeriac but it’s a vegetable I don’t use often enough. What a pretty colour this soup is and how lovely to have had this recipe handed down to you xx

  5. The soup looks very pretty and sounds delicious. Hope you’ll share more of Aunt Pauline’s recipes. What a great way to remember someone.

  6. What an adorable and cheery comfort soup – eggless chick’n meatballs – sound so yummy! What brand did you use for the meatballs?

  7. I love the idea of putting some little chicken meatballs into the soup – I am sure the textures compliment wonderfully!

  8. Oh, how lovely of you Sophie to honour your Aunt Pauline by making her beautiful soup. I bet it tasted amazing!!

Comments are closed.