Posted in Recipes

Vegan & Gluten-Free cranberry, port & silken tofu desserts

Tasty & yummie cranberry, port, orange & silken tofu desserts!
Tasty & yummy cranberry, port, orange & silken tofu desserts!

Today, I made these stunning desserts. I made an old recipe of mine of a tasty home-made cranberry boozy sauce & added silken tofu with it. I used in this recipe powdered coconut sugar instead of normal sugar. I added 25 gr extra too. It was a great success!! Yesterday, we decorated our lovely Christmas tree & we, my husband & I , needed a treat to enjoy afterwards. Because our Christmas balls, we used were golden & red, we needed something deliciously red as a tasty dessert. So, I made these beauties: check them out!!!

Recipe: For 1200 ml = 4 cups + a bit / I filled 5 x 200 ml fancy dessert glasses!

Ingredients:

1 x 400 gr packet of silken tofu, drained

* For the boozy cranberry sauce:

1 packet of fresh cranberries ( 340 gr ) I used a fresh bag from Ocean spray, that I froze in my freezer, not thawed, rinsed under running cold water & stalks removed

1 big orange, zest + juice

1 large cinnamon stick

5 tablespoons of a good gluten-Free & vegan red port

100 gr of powdered coconut sugar

7 tablespoons of maple syrup

Method:

1. First, make the boozy cranberry sauce. Take a medium cooking pot & add cranberries, juice & zest of the orange, the port & stick the cinnamon stick into the mix. Heat up on medium high. Stir often. You want a cranberry sauce where not every cranberry has popped. 3/4 will be popped & makes a sauce. Mash the cranberries with a fork if that helps you. It will be a firmer sauce when you add the powdered coconut sugar later on. Now, off the fire add the coconut sugar. Stir well into the sauce. Taste! You must taste the tangy sour cranberries, the sugar, a bit of the orange & a hint of cinnamon. You don’t want it to be too sweet or to sour, just in between!!! Carefully, remove the cinnamon stick. Add a few tablespoons of maple syrup, for a deeper sweeter flavour. I had to add 7 tablespoons extra because when the mix was cooling off in the fridge, when I tasted it after being in the fridge for 4 hours, it was way too sour. I added in total 7 tablespoons to the cranberry & silken tofu mix. Whisked it all in & tasted it again. Now, it was a bit sweeter but not too sweet! I cleaned my dessert glasses & poured it all in again. Place in the fridge for at least 2 to 3 hours. If you don’t want seeds in your dessert nor the broken up cranberry bits, just blitz it all fine with a mixer or in a blender.

2. In a Vitamix, add the drained silken tofu. Mix until all is completely emulsified. It will take a few seconds on full power. Turn Vitamix off & pour the silken tofu into the hot cranberry sauce. Mix well with a spoon. Taste the dessert again. It must taste not too sweet. If it is to your liking, pour into lovely dessert glasses. See that you add to each dessert glass, the broken cranberries from your boozy sauce. It is nice to come across them in your dessert, otherwise it would be just like baby food!!! 🙂  Place the desserts in your fridge to firm up a bit, at least for 3 hours! This is not a firm dessert. Happy eating! Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

58 thoughts on “Vegan & Gluten-Free cranberry, port & silken tofu desserts

  1. Awesome, Sophie! They look so pretty and festive. Very fitting for a post-decorating treat!!! I got my tree up yesterday, I have yet to decorate it though, but I enjoy doing it so much!!

  2. Sophie, I love the sound and the look of this dessert…and yes… a little port will not hurt.
    Have a great week 🙂

  3. Growing up in a Malaysian Chinese family, tofu is for salty dishes. That is stuck in my mind. Then, I realize, we do have super dooper soft, silken tofu serve with sweet sugar cane sugar. Alright! Inspiring, girl! I am out of my box, now.

  4. Hello Sophie,
    I love your dessert. It looks very colourful and I think it is yumi yumi!
    mamalou

  5. I’m a huge believer that tofu is great and delicious in desserts!! You did great with this one 🙂

  6. Im grateful for your support and friendship through this year. I salute you for your wonderful input and looking forward to 2013. Thanks and best wishes in all.Best Regards.

    1. Oooh,…that’s so sweet of you!!! All the best for you in 2013 too filled with joy, fun & really good food!

  7. Thank you for this lovely recipe, I tried it and it’s delicious!.
    Have a great time.
    Greetings
    Dina

  8. I’m grateful for your support and salute you for your wonderful input and looking forward to 2013. Thanks and best wishes in all.Best Regards.

    1. It is a must & you must alwso try the powdered coconut sugar: you need it it so much in your kitchen cooking & baking!

  9. You are one versatile Chef…
    Sophie, If you don’t already have your own restaurant, you should have. 🙂

    1. Aaah,..;That’s so kind of you, dear Phil! Happy Christams to you & your lovely family! 🙂 Yeah!

  10. These desserts look absolutely stunning! I’m generally not fond of tofu, but these look absolutely too good to pass up!

  11. This sounds unique and delicious. I hope I can still get cranberries… might have to experiment with some other fruit.

Comments are closed.