Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s Gluten-Free & Vegan Christmas granola!

on 07/12/2012
I adore making granola. You can find a lot of unhealthy granola recipes on the internet. I experimented with other recipes & I came up with this one. This is my favorite granola recipe. My husband & my family loves it!
I call this one a Christmas recipe, because there are red dried cranberries & green pumpkin seeds in it. They are the primal colours of Christmas.

It is lovely enjoyed with some vegan coconut yoghurt or soy yoghurt or a vegan nut milk.

TTasty home-made vegan granola!

Tasty home-made vegan granola!

You must have seen this picture before, I use it in my about page. This picture is already 4 years old. So, is that one, below.

MMM! This would make an ideal Christmas gift!!!

MMM! This would make an ideal Christmas gift!!!

Yum yum Yum,…Let’s see How I made it!

Recipe: For a whole lot of granola!

Ingredients:

230 gr. medium Gluten-Free oat flakes( not the large big ones, but the full GF oat flakes, but a little bit smaller.)

70 gr. pecans, broken in to pieces

45 gr. pumpkin seeds

1 + 1/2 teaspoons of a good vanilla extract ( I use home-made )

1 tablespoon flaxseed

60 ml. canola oil

80 ml. maple syrup
To add after roasting into the hot oven:
50 gr. raisins, cut up

30 gr. dried not so sweet cranberries, cut up

Method:

1. Preheat the oven on 180 ° Celsius. ( 350 F )
2. Take a large bowl & put the GF oat flakes, pecans & pumpkin seeds in it. Mix well. Add 1 tablespoon of flaxseed to it. Mix well.
3. In another bowl, mix canola oil with the maple syrup. Add vanilla extract. Stir good.
4. Put the ingredients of bowl 1 into bowl 2 & mix well.
5. Take a non-stick roasting tin & spread out evenly in to the roasting tin.
6. Bake for about 18 to 20 minutes until all crisp.
7. Every 5 minutes or so, you have to stir everything around, so that it will be crisp on every side.
Otherwise, it will burn on one side & it wouldn’t be crisp on the other side.
8.Bake until everything is golden & ready.
9. When it is ready, turn the oven off. Take out of the oven & let it cool off completely.
10. When it is all cooled of, place it in a bowl & add the dried fruit. You can choose whatever fruit you want, but I like this combination.
11. So, I added the dried cranberries & dried raisins & mixed it with a spoon through the granola.
12. Store in an airtight storage box. Enjoy!!! xxx

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Making your own home-made muesli

2. Blueberry muesli

3. Quinoa flakes porridge with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup

56 responses to “Sophie’s Gluten-Free & Vegan Christmas granola!

  1. boeddhamum says:

    Yaaay for Christmas granola! Looks so yummie, Sophie 🙂

  2. Light Friday says:

    looks yummi 😀

  3. Your blog and granola on christmas morning = perfection 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Ally says:

    Oh that looks and sounds delicious!

  5. mmmarzipan says:

    yum!!! 🙂

  6. Barbara says:

    Really, Sophie…such a cute photo!!
    Loving the looks of your granola too!

  7. Norma Chang says:

    That sure looks Christmasy, I would also add some sesame seeds.

  8. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    Again you did it.. I Ithink it’s also a recipe for warming up Christmastime.
    mamalou

  9. hey can I use something else instead of canola oil? What about Olive oil? I am glad your recipe does not not use coconut. I am not a big fan of coconut in granola and lots of recipes use it. Thanks for this recipe though. Really liked it and can’t wait to try it(pumpkin seeds and cranberries I love!!)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, sunflower oil is also a good replacement. It is all about the fact that you nearly don’t taste the oil. That is what you want.Thanks!

  10. Somer says:

    This looks absolutely perfect! I’ll bet it tastes incredible! Perfect for Christmas gifts!

  11. ziabaki says:

    That looks amazing! I want some right now with cold coconut milk on it. Ohhhhhh

  12. katrina berg says:

    what a fabulous gift…yum yum yum sophie!

  13. How perfect! I love giving granola to people…such a nurturing, heartfelt gift. 🙂

  14. Carolyn Jung says:

    You’re right — so many granolas on the market are just chock-full of sugar. Nice to see an easy one to make at home that’s much more healthful.

  15. Tandy says:

    I love cranberries and pumpkin seeds in my granola as well Sophie 🙂

  16. Karen says:

    This would be nice to make for a hostess gift…everyone loves granola.

  17. Koko says:

    You’re so right! Granola is thought to be so healthy, but more often than not, there is a lot of sugar in it! I love your festive green and red granola!!

  18. ellebakes says:

    I’ve been wanting to make my own granola and this recipe looks so yummy! 🙂

  19. Tw Barritt says:

    I love making granola – haven’t made it in so long. This looks delicious! Hope you’re enjoying the holiday festivities, Sophie!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, my friend! I enjoyed Sinterklaas & can’t wait until it is Christmas ! 🙂 Have a great & fun Holkiday season yourself!

  20. OK, I was really thinking of making little tubs of granola to give friends at Christmas!! –This sounds great. Maple syrup? yumm!

  21. dumb77 says:

    Make me want to make my own. Thank you for sharing.

  22. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Looks delicious Sophie! I’m thinking it would be lovely on yogurt. Hope you had a fun Sinterklaas. Happy Christmas!

  23. Sophie this looks like you could eat it right out of that jar – wonderful granola!

  24. I absolutely love granola, make it all the time and this looks sooo delicious Sophie!! Healthy and yummy!!

  25. Sophie this will make a great homemade Christmas gift for my gluten-free friends. Thanks and Merry Christmas from the Pacific Northwest coast!

  26. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    You can’t beat a big bowl of Granola in the mornings,
    I have mine with Organic Oat Milk. 😉

  27. Amber says:

    Yum! Great looking granola!

  28. I love making granola as well and yours sounds spectacular!

Comments are closed.
