Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan rucola ( arugula ) cashew cheese spread! yeah!

on 09/08/2012

MMM,…home-made Vegan rucola (arugula) cashew cheese spread!

Yummy vegan rucola cashew cheese spread!

Recipe: For about 400 ml of Rucola cashew cheese spread

Ingredients:

1 cup of raw & unroasted cashews, soaked in water for 1 night, well-rinsed & well-drained / Now, they are softer, healthier &  easier to digest

1 teaspoon of dried garlic

1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes

1 teaspoon of lemon juice

18 grins of finely grinned black pepper

2 fat spring onions, cleaned & green & white parts used, cut into rings

1 cup + 1/4 cup of roughly chopped fresh rucola, ( arugula) ( rocket leaves ) pushed into the 1 cup + 1/4 cup

Method:

1. Place everything in this order into your Vitamix. If you don’t have a powerful blender, use a good mixer. Place the tamper into your Vitamix lid & press the power on, go from low-speed from 1 to 10 & push on higher power. Use the tamper & push all the ingredients into the blades & blend until it is to your  liking. I blended it for about 1 minute. I checked the consistency & turned the power back on from low-speed, from 1 to 10 & then on high & blended for about 20 seconds more. Turn the high power off, turn the lower speed from 10 to 1 & turn the power off. Taste! Mine tasted fabulous!

2. Place all of your rucola cashew cheese spread into a lovely bowl with fitting lid & place into the fridge or use it instantly on some good bread. It is also great as a healthy dip on some crackers.

Note: This cheese will firm up a lot after being in the fridge for at least 4 hours. After 1 night in the fridge, it has stiffen up quite a bit, like a cream cheese! You can taste the flavours even more! :) Happy eating!

Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 928 email followers: Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

All of the ingredients into my Vitamix before blending!

You might like:

1. Home-made cashew milk in my Vitamix & vegan refreshing vanilla cashew & strawberry smoothies

2. Vegan refreshing cashew, strawberry, carob & rice milk smoothies

3. Vegan strawberry cashew cheese spread aka strawberry cashew yoghurt! 

4. Vegan pear & cashew cheese spread! Yeah!

5. Vegan cashew, chocolate & pumpkin spread!

47 responses to “Vegan rucola ( arugula ) cashew cheese spread! yeah!

  1. Nic says:

    Gosh, what incredible colour! Looks healthy and delicious, great recipe.

  2. Vegan cheese spread? Genius indeed :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. Katarina says:

    This I would love! Great color!

  4. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – that sounds delicious! Be great as a veggie dip too!

  5. YEAH Indeed! Or even on pizza! NOM!

  6. Norma Chang says:

    What a beautiful color, looks healthy and delicious. You sure are making the most of your Vitamix.

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    That spread is such a beautiful vibrant colour Sophie. I think the cashews, garlic and rocket would be a wonderful combination of flavours xx

  8. jef boven says:

    I think it is yumi yumi. The colour is also beautiful. Well done!
    Mamalou

  9. Wow, I can’t believe how creamy this looks! And why does arugula have so many names?? It gets so confusing…

    • Sophie33 says:

      I agree! We call it in Dutch: raketsla. Americans call it: arugula. In English, they say: rocket leaves. In Italy, it is rucola! :) Enjoy the spread, my friend!

  10. Koko says:

    Oh, what a brilliant idea!!! This looks so good, and so healthy! What a perfect spread for sandwiches or appetizers. I love peppery arugula! I wonder if you could ferment this cashew cheese…hmm…Thanks Sophie!!! I hope your summer is going very well xoxo

  11. christinecooks says:

    This looks fantastic, Sophie! I bet it would be good spread onto an heirloom tomato sandwich! ;)

  12. Allison says:

    Sounds great! (And I’m jealous you have a Vitamix!)

    • Sophie33 says:

      I got it for my Bithday! :) It is expensive but there isn’t a powerful machine like a Vitamix here in Belgium! :)

  13. love it! I made a kind of it with zucchini and peppers…so delicious to spread on fresh bread at lunch time ;)

  14. hi Sophie, this is a very creative idea! it looks so creamy and yummy! especially with cheese as an ingredient!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I didn’t use any cheese, my friend! I used soaked cashews as a cheesy base! More healthy & dairy-free, vegan & gluten-free too!

  15. twbarritt says:

    What a great idea to create a spread using arugula! It looks delicious and must be very flavorful!

  16. Carolyn Jung says:

    The color is dazzling. Great for a summer appetizer shared with friends.

  17. Tandy says:

    That color is amazing :)

  18. This sounds delicious, a bit like a hummus. The color is incredible!

  19. Ooooh fabulous Sophie!! If you don’t mind I would like to mention this link when I post my Poblano cashew cream recipe??! :)

  20. Jody and Ken says:

    This is a fringe recipe for me (arugula and nut puree?), but it sounds intriguing so I’m going to give it a try. I don’t have a Vitamix, but I think my Thermomix ought to be able to handle it. Thanks. Ken

    • Sophie33 says:

      It is so good. when it has been in the fridge overnight, it becomes much ticker like a cream cheese ! So tasty too! :)

  21. Wow, I bet this is fantastic. I’m bookmarking this

  22. I’ve been making a lot of cashew “cheese” spreads. While in my option they don’t taste anything like cheese, they are soooo very good and have a way of satisfying that craving for dairy by being creamy and savory. This looks great!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

