Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

An Autumnal pasta with home-grown white cabbage!

on 09/11/2015
MMM!

MMM!

Yesterday, we pulled pour only white cabbage out of the ground, from under the white netting, at our allotment! Ooh yes & what a beauty she certainly is! Just look at her:

Home-Grown white cabbage before cleaning & slicing!

Home-Grown white cabbage before washing, cleaning & slicing!

When I cleaned my cabbage & discarded the outer tougher leaves, I was left with this thing of beauty:

1100 gram!

1100 gram!

Now, I wanted to use 400 gr of shredded cleaned & washed cabbage slices in my pasta dish, but just look again at those quarters, I sliced already 1 big cabbage wedge:

Recipe: For 3 persons

Ingredients:

300 gr seasoned organic chicken mince, bought like that, divided into 8 flattened discs, like picture above

300 gr white spelt penne

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

black pepper

Himalayan pink salt in a grinder

Herbamare salt

1 small white onion, peeled & finely chopped

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely chopped

150-200 ml coconut cream for cooking, I used Isola.

400 gr cleaned, washed, spun dry white cabbage shreds, something like this

Method:

  1. Cook your penne until al dente. Drain but keep a bit of the cooking water. Keep warm.
  2. In another cooking pot, cook your shredded cabbage strips until al dente. I added a few dashes of Herbamare to the boiling water. It took my cabbage only 2-3 minutes. Drain well & leave cabbage strips into the colander & place a lid on. Use the same pot & heat on medium-high. When hot, add a few drizzles of the same fruity oil & heat up. Now, add chopped onion & garlic. Fry for a few minutes or until browned & cooked. I added 5 grins of black pepper & 5 grins of salt to it. Add drained cooked cabbage & stir everything round into the pot. Add coconut cream, I think, I used about 175 ml. Stir well. heat up a bit more & let the cream warm up. Check the seasoning one last time. I added 15 grins of black pepper & some pink salt. I stirred everything round into the pot & tasted one last time. Then, I added the cooked penne. This way, the sauce will go into the penne tubes what creates a superb creamy lighter sauce.
  3. At the same time, take a large non-stick pan & heat up on medium-high. When hot, add some drizzles of oil & heat up. Now, Β add your chicken patties to the hot pan & fry them on both sides until browned on all sides & cooked through. Lower the heat if you need to. I placed a fitted lid on to keep the heat & to progress the speed because I was getting very hungry! πŸ˜‰ Β The verdict:Β Creamy, delicious & not bad for your cholesterol too!Β ;) Serve with 3 chicken mince patties & enjoy with a loved one. My husband Peter gave me again a 10/10! Ooh yes. After you have eaten, your stomach is full but in a healthy way! πŸ˜‰ Enjoy, my sweeties! πŸ™‚ xxxβ™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

    http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

  4. Β 

34 responses to “An Autumnal pasta with home-grown white cabbage!

  1. Ina Gawne says:

    Lovely dinner Sophie. Isn’t home grown cabbage so delicious and sweet? Nothing compares to home grown! πŸ™‚

  2. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    You must be satisfied to have dinner with your own grown cabbage.
    It looks fantastic!
    Mamalou

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    A fantastic meal, Sophie.

  4. congrats on the cabbage thats wonderful

  5. Oh wow Sophie! Your allotment adventures never cease to amaze me! What a gorgeous looking cabbage, so solid, fresh and crisp looking!

  6. Mr ET grew some delicious cabbages this winter too. Next time, I need to try this recipe.

  7. Very nice Sophie. Home grown always tastes better!

  8. Karen B says:

    What a beautiful cabbage! Well done!

  9. hotlyspiced says:

    That’s a very sizeable cabbage. Congrats! Your pasta dish sounds lovely xx

  10. Sean & Linda says:

    We made your lovely pasta dish & it was just so light in the stomach! Very fresh & delicious too!
    We would even call it FABULOUS!!!

  11. Liz says:

    I love cabbage though never thought of cooking it with pasta. It looks very delicious!

  12. Johan says:

    What a fabulous white grown cabbage! Waw! Huge! πŸ™‚
    I never had cabbage with pasta before & this sounds like an ideal recipe for me to try! πŸ™‚ Thank you! x

  13. Chantal says:

    Your creamy cabbage pasta looks delicious! Yummm πŸ™‚

  14. Gregory says:

    I love white cabbage with pasta combined. i know that it is unusual but very tasty too! x
    A lovely cool recipe! x

  15. Finn says:

    I made it, loved it & shared it! πŸ™‚ x

Comments are closed.
