Posted in Recipes

Vegan pumpkin & pumpkin spiced pancakes with home-made pumpkin pie spice!

A while ago, I made home-made roasted fresh pumpkin purée. I had to use it up. The rest, I froze into Ziplock bags in my freezer, for later use. We can’t buy pumpkin in a can. It doesn’t exist in Belgium! Too bad, I say! 😦 and because we can’t buy pumpkin spice over here, I made my own. This is also good for the people of Belgium so we can use this tasty mixed spice too!

Home made pumpkin spiced & vegan pumpkin pancakes!
A real delight!

It was the 1st time, I made vegan pancakes & it worked out really well.

MMM! Double pumpkin vegan pancakes!

I also made my own pumpkin pie spice!

Home-made pumpkin pie spice!

So, here we go!

1. Vegan & Gluten-Free Pumpkin pie spice recipe ( my version )

Ingredients:

4 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of ground nutmeg, freshly grated

1 teaspoon of ground mace ( = foelie in Dutch )

1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves

Method:

1. Take a clean smaller bowl & add all the spices. Like this picture:

Ready to be mixed up!

2. Mix with a little whisk until it is all beautifully combined. Like this picture:

Your pumpkin pie spice is ready to use!

3. Use instantly or place into a lovely jam pot with fitting lid & place a lovely label with the date on it when you made it. Store in a dry cupboard. Enjoy! This would also make an ideal food gift!

Home-made pumpkin pie spice!

2. For the Vegan pumpkin & pumpkin pie spiced pancakes! For 7 thicker pancakes!

Ingredients:

1 cup of soy milk, not so sweet

1/2 cup of home-made pumpkin purée

2 tablespoons sunflower oil

1 cup + 1/4 cup of organic flour

1 tablespoon of coconut sugar

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of home-made pumpkin pie spice: ( recipe above! )

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt flakes, crushed

2 tablespoons of ground flaxseed

Method:

1. Take a medium bowl & add milk, flaxseed, pumpkin purée & sunflower oil. Combine well with a whisk.

2. In another larger bowl, sift together flour, salt, pumpkin pie spice, sugar & baking powder. Mix with a spoon.

3. Add wet ingredients to the dry mixture, stirring until just joined. A few lumps are okay.

4. Oil a non-stick pan with sunflower oil & heat up on high. Cook 1/3 cup of the pancake batter at once into your hot pan & spread it out a bit, with the back of a spoon & flip the pancake over when bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake. Cook the second side until golden brown. Re-oil your pan, if you need to. Do the same with the rest of the pancake-batter. Keep the pancakes warm, on a hot plate, covered with aluminium foil.

5. Serve at once with a loved one. I love to top my pancake with hot maple syrup, cold maple syrup, my favourite jam, coconut sugar or powdered sugar. Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

38 thoughts on “Vegan pumpkin & pumpkin spiced pancakes with home-made pumpkin pie spice!

  1. Sophie – pumpkin pancakes are wonderful. I make a gluten free version and with homemade pumpkin pie spice you can’t go wrong!

  2. I wish you could get pumpkin puree- you had to go through a lot of work to make these! But Sophie, I bet that homemade is even better than canned. I have never had homemade pumpkin puree! Good for you for putting in the effort to make these wonderful pancakes….they look lovely!! I would douse them in maple syrup, too!!

  3. Such a perfect breakfast for the holidays, can’t wait to share with my family! xo

  4. We can’t buy pumpkin in a can either and up until a few weeks ago I had never even heard of pumpkin pie spice – that’s certainly never made it to our shores. Good on you for making your own and your vegan pancakes look, well, non-vegan – I would swear there’s an egg in there somewhere! xx

  5. Pancakes are my fav!! These look so good! Thanks for the pumpkin spice recipe too, we can’t buy that premade here so I am onto that!

    1. You are welcome! 🙂 Enjoy those thicker vegan pancakes & the home-made pumpkin pie spice too, my friend! 🙂

  6. Emmmm, looks delicious Sophie,
    This is one we will definitely try out. 🙂

  7. Right now I’m at Starbucks, drinking a Pumpkin spiced latte and since yesterday apparently was national pancake day in the states I decided to google pumpkin pancakes. These sound delicious and I’ll try them for sure.

    Mind if I write about my version on my blog?

    1. No, not all butnlink back to my original recipe,…Thank you. Over here in Belgium, we have only 3 Starbucks so
      I Will see if you can drink that drink there or I Will make & invent a few! X

Comments are closed.