Posted in Recipes

My husband’s succulent drunken chicken dish & a reason to celebrate!

Yesterday, I had yoga class & afterwards, my husband made for me & for us this wonderful, festive & succulent drunken chicken dish! It is great for entertaining too. Very easy to make, all in one Creuset pot with fitting lid. I hope you enjoy it  as much as we did! Check out the flavours & tasty ingredients too!

MMM! A delightful drunken organic chicken dish with apples, fennel, onion & garlic cloves drunken in apple cider & dry white wine!

Recipe: For 3 persons, with a lot of hunger

Ingredients:

a fruity Evoo

some baking margarine

sea salt

black pepper

2 organic chicken fillets, no skin, each cut into 2 smaller pieces

3 organic bone-in chicken thighs, skin on, cleaned & pad dry on kitchen paper

4 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut

1 big fennel, cleaned, hard bottom cut out, tubes cut out, sliced into thinner longer slices

1 cup dry white wine

2 cups apple cider

3 sweeter apples, peeled, cored & cut into smaller wedges

1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme

4 dried bay leaves

a generous pinch of saffron

To serve with: fried potato croquettes!

A lovely organic succulent drunken chicken stew!

Method:

1. Heat a Creuset pot on medium high heat. Pour 2 tablespoons of that fruity Evoo & swirl it all around the bottom of the pot. Heat up. When hot, add a knob of baking margarine. Let it melt. Season your chicken pieces with sea salt & black pepper & fry the chicken pieces, skin side down & fry until the skin has turned brown & golden. Repeat with the other side. I has to do this in batches. With the chicken pieces without the skin, fry on both sides until golden brown. Adjust your temperature, if you need to. Place the fried chicken pieces, in a big bowl with fitting lid. Add more olive oil & baking margarine, if you need to.

2. Now, add chopped onion, chopped garlic & chopped fennel & stir often. Fry until brown & golden. Lower the heat if you need to.

3. Add the wine & bring to the boil. Add the cider & bring to the boil again. Nestle the chicken pieces with its juices, all into the hot stew, gently pushing down the meat into the hot liquid. Scatter dried thyme all over the stew & nestle the dried bay leaves into the hot stew. Scatter the pinches of saffron over the stew. Arrange the apple pieces all over & into the hot stew. Bring to the boil & let the stew simmer , with the fitting lid on, until the chicken is just cooked through. This will take about 20 to 30 minutes. After 20 minutes of cooking, remove the lid & let the stew thicken & reduce the stew by simmering vigorously. You want to have a thickened sauce, but not too thick! Taste! the sauce has thickened also with the apple pieces, that have cooked down into a mush. Season with black pepper & sea salt to bring out the flavours in this lovely stew. This chicken stew is so tasty, fabulous & amazing! 🙂 Really! 🙂 Remove the 4 bay leaves before eating this lovely chicken stew!

Serve at once with fried potato croquettes & you have a great & fantastic well-flavoured dinner! 😉 Enjoy, my lovely ones! Drink the same dry white wine with your stew that you put into the stew! 😉

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

Cooking with gas!

Now, I also have a reason to celebrate! My blog, Sophie’s Foodie Files is 4 year’s old! Yeah!! It’s a party & I cry if I want to, Cry if I want to, Cry if I want to, You would do that too if it happened to you! 🙂

Yeah! My blog is 4 year’s old since the middle of November!  What a journey it has been! I am so proud & happy to my lovely subscriber’s!! Yes! It is so good & I have changed so much over these past 4 years! I had to search & find my own style. In the beginning, I adapted recipes from my favourite chefs & later on , I only make my own recipes! I love eating, cooking & baking vegan too & I love healthy but sometimes un healthy recipes too! I am so inspired to find & to create special recipes too! I learn so much in the progress too!

So, I will drink some Vranken Champagne &  lovely appetizers. I will give you these links below!!! I will toast to all of you, who stood by me from the beginning or all of you, who found me on their blogging’s experience! Cheers to you all! I couldn’t have done it without you all! 🙂 Aaaaaah,…Oooooooh! 😉 xxx

Vranken Champagne!
My favourite brand of Champagne!

I will enjoy these appetizers with it: Click onto the pictures or links to go to the recipes!

1/ Scottish oak smoked salmon with wasabi & fresh dill appetizers ( Fish ), filed under Christmas menu!

Yummy festive fish appetizers!

2/Wild boar paté with home – made fig chutney ( Meat + Vegan & Vegetarian chutney ), filed under Christmas menu + Link to home-made figs chutney

Wild boar paté with home-made dried & fresh figs chutney!

 3/ Beetroot appetizers served in a witlof leaf ( Belgian endive ) ( Vegan, vegetarian )

Tasty vegan & vegetarian beetroot appetizers!
Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

42 thoughts on “My husband’s succulent drunken chicken dish & a reason to celebrate!

  1. Congratulations Sophie! 4 awesome years of wonderful culinary delights! How lucky you are that Peter made you this celebratory dish. YUM!

  2. The chicken look super delicious– I think the apple cider will make the sauce sweet and favorful. I’ll try it when I get home. And congratulations on 4 years of sending out good recipes and fun posts!! I love your blog.

  3. I can smell this cooking right now!! This looks delish! I’m making it soon. Thanks again Sophie!

  4. Congrats to you Sophie for all you have done and achieved in the past four years. What a terrific milestone. And your husband has created a delicious looking dish – I love the name of it xx

  5. Congratulations Sophie! That is indeed a “mile stone”. All of your food looks wonderful, and very flavorful! How wonderful that your husband can cook too, lucky you! 🙂

  6. Congratulations, Sophie, and happy 4th year blogaversary!! I look forward to many more of your delicious dishes in the years ahead!

  7. I too join with the others in sending CONGRATULATIONS and wishing you many more years.
    Such loving and thoughtful gesture from your husband.

  8. That chicken looks delicious! Congratulations on your 4 year blogiversary!! That’s fantastic!…I have so much to catch up on 🙂

  9. Happy blogiversary Sophie! Congratulations on 4 years. I’m so glad to have ‘met’ you and discovered your blog. Love the look of the drunken chicken, but the potato croquettes are calling my name. It’s the Dutch in me I think – I can’t resist a croquette!

Comments are closed.