Posted in Recipes

Sophie’s wholemeal apple pancakes

Yummy interior!
Tasty spelt apple pancakes drizzled with maple syrup!
I love making these lovely thicker pancakes. Americans are used to eat them so thick as that but we in Belgium aren’t. Sometimes, I like to eat thicker ones.
These pancakes aren’t so sweet but you add sweeter toppings anyway on the pancakes,…
 I used as topping the maple syrup, I was given by my friend: Koko @ Koko ‘s Kitchen. A while ago, we swapped food gifts.
Thanks again, Koko! We just opened this lovely bottle of Canadian maple syrup! I so loved its taste!
Yummy Canadian maple syrup!
Recipe: For 10 thicker , smaller pancakes, diameter: 13 cm
Ingredients:
2 organic eggs, beaten
360 ml of semi skimmed milk
140 gr of organic white flour
100 gr of wholemeal spelt flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
50 gr of white castor sugar
2 apples, peeled, cored & cut up into larger wedges ( they will be grated later )
canola or corn oil for frying
Method:
1. In a large bowl, put the beaten eggs & the milk. Whisk it all together.
2. Take a smaller bowl & add the flours, the baking powder & sugar. With a spoon, mix it all together.
3. Combine the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients into the larger bowl & whisk well!
4. Now, grate all the apple pieces above the large bowl. Mix thoroughly.
5. Turn the heat on medium high & place a small non stick pan on it. Pour a bit of the used oil in the pan & swirl around, all over the surface of the pan. Remove the oil by pouring it back into a cup. Let the pan heat up. Pour 1 small soup ladle of the batter into the pan & swirl the batter a bit around. Let the batter bubble well for about 2 to 3 minutes before flipping the pancake & fry for another 2 to 3 minutes.
6. I placed a plate on a heat & heated it up on medium high. Then I turned the heat down. I place the fried pancakes on it & turn a soup plate upside down on it, to keep the pancakes hot.
7. Do the same with the remaining batter, fry & keep them hot.
The grated apples give a nice twist & the sweeter topping is just about perfect!
This is lovely enjoyed with some great Maple syrup, brown beet sugar ( kinnekes sugar ), lovely rice syrup, white sugar or jam on top!

Enjoy!!♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

63 thoughts on “Sophie’s wholemeal apple pancakes

  1. Canadian maple syrup is some good stuff. I loved that you stuffed your pancakes with apples. Delicious.

  2. These look delicous!Wishing you all the best for 2010 Sophie!Looking forward to your beautiful posts this year!

  3. The best breakfast, Sophie – am loving the apples and will include. Also liked the spelt flour. I am playing with grains this year, Warm and comforting!

  4. I'm with you on this – I love thicker pancakes and nothing beats a thick pancake unless it is with real Canadian syrup! YUM!

  5. I've always wanted to make pancakes for breakfast but I'm always too lazy to move around in the morning…looks so good!

  6. You and I must have been on the same page-I made apple poppyseed pancakes with pecans this weekend. My post is not yet up.Welcome to 2010.

  7. Canadian maple syrup is the best! And those pancakes look beautifully moist on the inside. Hope u have fab new year Sophie m'dear!

  8. WOW! These look amazing- I love that you used spelt flour! I'm so glad you got a chance to use the Olympic themed syrup! YUM! I want these for breakfast tomorrow….or DINNER tonight! Wonderful and tasty Sophie!!!!!

  9. Yea, Sophie! You're back! Happy New Year to you!Heavenly recipe to start the year with too! Pass the maple syrup!

  10. Happy New Year, Sophie. I am caught between the thicker American pancakes I make and the thinner crepes my French husband makes. But to tell the truth I love them both! You have given me yet another great pancake recipe to try!

  11. We have a good friend who has brought us maple syrup from Vancouver. We like! I used it all up recently which killed my plans for pancakes….

  12. I love the idea of apple stuffed pancakes and that you used whole wheat flour. They look absolutely delicious Sophie!!

  13. i like my pancakes thick and hearty and doused with something sweet, whether it be apples or plenty of maple syrup. delicious recipe, sophie!

  14. Hi Sophie,Happy New Year to you and your family. May this year bring lots of happiness.Cheers,elra

  15. The pancakes look really good! I always just use a pancake mix and add different things: apples are some of my favorite additions.

  16. Oh! Apple pancakes…look and sounds yummie, nothing like thick and fluffy pancakes for breakfast…yummie!

  17. à la maison, on adore les pancakes au gouter ou au petit déj !!!nous avons ouvert cette semaine notre dernière bouteille de sirop d'érable ramenée de nos vacances au canada sniffffff !!!

  18. Happy New Year Sophie!I'm with you on the sweetness of these, & I love the fact they're a bit thicker & with apple yummo!!

  19. As i see your post, i just remembered i was dreaming of pancakes last night :)) Now i know why.Honestly even i like thm on the thinner side. These look just perfect Cheers

  20. Mmmm, delicious. I like them not so sweet, as you say, they can always be made sweeter.RonellePS: I have a problem picking up your RSS feed in my sidebar on my blog and have tried several times to recopy and paste your address, don't know why…any suggestions?Rxx

  21. Gosh but I'm hungry and it's breakfast time. These pancakes would go down a treat 🙂 And, if I haven't said this already, Happy New Year Sophie – hope 2010 brings you lots of good things!

  22. Haha, I remember when I was a child, and we were travelling in the South of the US. I ordered pancakes for breakfast at a restaurant, expecting 2-3 European-style crepes, and instead was given a huge stack of thick pancakes – I couldn't even eat a quarter of them!Your pancakes looks very satisfying, and as an adopted Canadian, I can only approve of your syrup!

  23. I love thick pancakes, too, and these look wonderful. I don't think I've ever had apples in pancakes, but I bet they're delicious! 🙂

  24. Thank you for any other informative site. Where else may I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I have a mission that I am simply now working on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such information.

  25. great points altogether, you just gained a new reader. What would you recommend in regards to your post that you made some days ago? Any positive?

Comments are closed.