Posted in Recipes

A famous belgian beer called Duvel & a recipe using it! Witloof & Duvel soup!

Duvelย is a great & famous Belgian beer! And it is vegan too!

Duvel is from the Belgian brewery Moortgat. Moortgat brewery was founded in 1871 by Jan-Leonard Moortgat. He was already descended from a family of brewers. In the 1950’s The 3rd generation of Moortgat’s took over the control of the brewery.

Ever since 1871, the 1st generation of the brewery Moortgat, brewed their first beers. They did this with a whole lot of exquisite craftsmanship and technique, a lot of patience & a whole lot of love. Duvel is a 100% pure and natural beer without additives & preservatives. And you taste that difference. This Duvel beer has a higher alcohol percentage then other beers, 8.5 %, gives this beer a huge dense head, has delicate pearls & gives a silky mouthfeeling. That is why Duvel is something special.ย Duvel is brewed with Pilsner malt and white sugar, and hopped with Saaz Hopsย and Styrian Goldings, the yeast still stems from the original culture of Scottish yeast bought by Albert Moortgat during a business tour of the U.K. just after World War 1!!!!ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย ย 
Duvel Beer!
Duvel Beer! It is my husband’s favourite beer! ๐Ÿ™‚

Duvel is a strong golden pale ale. Duvel means Devil because this is the dialect for the dutch word: Duivel, meaning devil.ย Duvel, is the company’s best known product which is exported to more than 40 countries!!! Ooh yes! Their headquarters are in ย Breendonk, Flanders, Belgium.

Duvel Moortgat was an original investor in theย Brewery Ommegangย craft brewery founded in Cooperstown, NY, in the late 1990s. More recently, the Belgian company took over complete control of the brewery and founded a stateside sales organizationย Duvel USAย to handle both Ommegang and Duvel Moortgat brands and others.

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย 
ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  Duvel factory
Duvel
Industry Alcoholic beverage
Founded 1871
Headquarters Breendonk,ย Belgium
Products Beer
Production output 270,000 hl (2001)
Witlof & Duvel soup
I made this divine silky smooth witlof & Duvel soup, that is vegan & ooh so tasty too. This soup is a Belgian speciality. In soup, we usually use Blonde aka white beer, what beer you choose is up to you! I chose Duvel because it has that typical citrus & orange flavour in it. I served this with my twist: Sophie’s twist! Because you can taste a hint of citrus & orange in your beer, I added finely grated orange zest on top of my soup & also added raw freshly shredded witlof leaves! Enjoy!
TIP: Just before serving your soup, you need to shred finely your raw witlof leaves, otherwise they will lose their white & yellow colour!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
A tasty & silky smooth witlof & Duvel beer soup, topped with fresh raw witlof shreds & grated orange zest!
A tasty & silky smooth witlof & Duvel beer soup, topped with fresh raw witlof shreds & grated orange zest!
Belgian endives aka witlof
Belgian endives aka witlof

MMM,…

Recipe: For 3 persons, each 1 big bowl
Ingredients:
5 witlof, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper, cleaned, the rough end brown round cut off, cut into rougher rounds & then into 2 ( mine weighted 630 gr before cleaning
200 gr floury potatoes, peeled & cut into bite sized chunks
1 teaspoon of dried thyme
800 ml of a good hot vegan stock
100 ml Duvel beer
black pepper, finely milled
Maldon sea salt
vegan butter
2 shalots, peeled & finely diced
To serve:
1 organic orange, skin grated, but not too fine, like: see picture soup!
1 witlof, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into thinner round shreds, like this:
Raw finbely shreeed wirlof leaves!
Raw finely shredded witlof leaves!

Method:

1. Take a large cooking pot & add a few knobs of vegan butter. Turn heat onto high. When hot, add shalot & potato pieces. Add 1 teaspoon of dried thyme & stir often. Reduce the heat if you need to. After 3 to 5 minutes, add the witlof pieces & stir everything well round in the pot. Add about 300 ml of that hot vegan stock & add the Duvel beer too. Stir well round. Bring to the boil. When boiling, add the other leftover stock & cook until potato pieces are cooked through. It took me 14 minutes. Turn the heat off. Taste your soup. I added 7 grins of finely milled black pepper & scattered some sea salt in the soup. I stirred it into my soup.

2. I took my Vitamix & mixed my soup completely fine & silky smooth. I used my tamper too. Taste again. It was just divine. Firstly, you must taste the bitter flavour of the witlof & then you can taste the citrus & orange connection of the Duvel beer.

3. When you are going to serve your soup, take 1 clean witlof & shred it finely with a sharp knife, see picture above. Laddle your soup into lovely soup bowls & top the middle of each bowl with a few shredded raw witlof leaves & scatter some grated orange zest around it, into each bowl of soup! Just like this:

MMMM8 The orange zest goes so well with the citrus flavours in the beer & the raw shredded witlof leaves go so well with the witlof flavour in the soup! Double yummm! :)
MMM! The orange zest goes so well with the citrus flavours in the beer & the raw shredded witlof leaves go so well with the witlof flavour in the soup!
Double yum! ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy instantly with a loved one! This is a great soup for dinner parties too! ๐Ÿ™‚

You also can find this tasty recipe here:ย http://www.instructables.com/id/Belgian-Duvel-witloof-soup/ ย ย โ™ฅ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

115 thoughts on “A famous belgian beer called Duvel & a recipe using it! Witloof & Duvel soup!

    1. I think you can! The Moortgat brewery took over a large USA brewery a while ago, so I think you can drink it in specialized beer cafรฉs & buy it in specialized beer shops!

  1. Wow, Sophie, I think this is a delicious soup, what a nice variation on a classic witlofsoep!! I am really jealous that I cannot make it with the Duvel beer; I do remember the great taste of this beer! Maybe I’ll give it a try with a gluten free beer?

    1. yes, it is! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, you can substitute any white Gluten-free beer instead of the Duvel! ๐Ÿ™‚ Try it!

  2. Wow YUMMY!! I remember drinking Duvel in Brussels and eating some of the best food I have ever had!
    I can imagine this soup must be super delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ A must try! Thank you Sophie!

  3. I had no idea what witlof was!! But it’s endive, eh?? That’s so interesting. I learned something today! Haha!

    This soup looks amazing….I love how you flavoured it with beer! I must try this!! Mmmmmm!

    1. yes, it is! I just posted an image of the white witlof in my post! I thought everybody knew what they were! ๐Ÿ™‚ Silly me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. lol witloof–had to look that one up, but I do know it as endive. I LOVE that you put beer in your soup, Sophie! Thinking a bowl of (witloof) looks sounds right about now.

  5. Love this beer and that you also included a recipe to make with it! As always, a very enjoyable post and I think I’m going to go drink a Duvel now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Beer in soup? Yes please. This looks fab Sophie. I really like your Duvel factory photo too with the stack of blue crates and fab typography.

    1. I didn’t take that picture but took it from a website! I rode my bike near this lovely Duvel brewery in Breendonk. It isn’t that many kilometers from where I live,…lucky me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. This is great, much to my liking… We went to the Netherlands last year and tried all this sorts of beer… hmmm. out on every occasion…hmmm…:-) ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. So it’s the devil’s brew! I’ve never had a soup with beer nor have I had a soup with witlof. It sounds like a great combination and something I would love to try xx

  9. Endive and Belgium beer? So interesting Sophie…something that I would love to try.
    Thanks for this fun recipe and hope you are having a great week ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. You caught my attention with the Duvel, a Belgian treasure

  11. just perfect soup , I had chance to try it and just yummyyy!!!!!!!

  12. As Dina commented above we travelled through the Netherlands and Belgium last year and we really got into drinking Duvel and the Trappist beers. Beersoup sounds great to me. Thanks for your recipe. When I was shopping in the morning I even saw Duvel beer in the supermarked here – but don`t ask for the price.
    Enjoy your weekend
    Klausbernd and his funny Bookfayries Siri and Selma

  13. The soup looks scrummy Sophie and Steve loves Duvel but we have to sell the children to afford it here in Australia and now that they are adults, they are hard to catch! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. I’m not a fan of drinking beer at all… Not even a drinker in the first place, and yet this soup still looks insanely delicious to me. I think that should say it all!

  15. I love drinking beer and this is such a creative recipe my friend. I would really love to taste it. Not sure if I can find Duvel beer over here but will definitely search for it……lovely post…I love the creamy of this soup…danny

  16. Duvel sounds delicious, I’ll have to see if it’s stocked in our local alcohol store… And I absolutely adore finding new ways to use beer. In soup! Who would have thought!

  17. Oh I’m so excited to try this :). My fav soup ever is an apple beer soup we had in appenzell switzerland…xo

  18. Great post Sophie! I have actually visited that brewery before. I just don’t know what a witlof is!

  19. What a great combination of flavours indeed- yummo!

  20. This looks fabulous! I have hardly ever cooked with beer – maybe a stew or something, so this recipe really has got me curious!

  21. How interesting to learn about this beer and the brewery, and the soup looks delicious! I’ll have to see if I can find Duvel here in NY.

    1. Thanks, my dear friend from New York! They must sell Duvel in NY because Brewery Moortgat baught another USA brwery a while ago! x

  22. Great recipe, but how can yo go wrong when you start with Belgian beer?!

  23. Sophie, your soup sounds delicious. Duvel is expensive in New England…if you can find it, the beer sells for $12 a bottle so it must be great.

    1. 12 Dollars= 12.09 Euros! That’s a lot of money for 1 Duvel beer bottle of 330 ml!!! It is though! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  24. You know what’s funny is, I was never a beer drinker, but I love it in cooking! The malty, yeasty flavor lends so well to many flavors…simple or complex. This soup looks to be exactly what I’m talking about! Beer is a perfect to give endive that ‘something something’ It looks luscious, my friend!

  25. Oh my god I LOVE Duvel!! I lived in The Netherlands for a while and drank my fair share of it for sure. Beer soup sounds excellent to me! This is definitely one to try.

  26. What a creative soup! I’ve only heard of using belgian endives in salads… sounds amazing as a soup also!

  27. I’ll have to track down some Duvel! My husband and I love Hoegaarden and a few other Belgian-style beers but Duvel is new to me! I actually have some endive in the fridge at the moment. I’ll have to get myself some beer and try this soup! Thanks lovely Sophie! xx

    1. You are wso welcome, lovely Laura! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so happy that you love our famous Belgian beers! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  28. Duvel is the only beer that is always stocked in my fridge, it truly is exquisite. I’ve had friends even come to describe at as almost flowery, in a good way. The bonus is it’s vegan!

Comments are closed.