Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Spiced Vegan Aubergine tomato stew, with spelt penne & organic spicy sausage bits!

on 10/04/2013
A vegan spiced aubergine tomato stew! Yummy too! :)

A vegan spiced aubergine tomato stew! Yummy too! πŸ™‚

I made this tasty spiced aubergine tomato stew today. I spiced it with smoked spanish paprika, the dulce version. I also added dried chili flakes to the combo. It is divine & easy, fast to make too! I served this with organic spelt penne & organic spiced sausage bits ( I removed their casings!! ). This dinner is all vegan too, if you serve this with vegan spiced sausages!!! πŸ˜‰

The stew itself is completely vegan!!

A tasty vegan auberine tomato stew, on a bed of spelt penne & spicy organic sausage bits!

A tasty vegan auberine tomato stew, on a bed of spelt penne & spicy organic sausage bits!

Read on How I made it!

Recipe: For 2 persons, with a lot of hunger

Ingredients:

2 larger aubergines, ( eggplant ) cleaned, cut into thicker rings, ( 400 gr, weighted after being cleaned ) then into 4 or more, larger seeds & mushy interior cut out!!

1 medium white onion, peeled & cut into finer slices

1/2 red bell pepper, seeds & white bits removed, cut into smaller strips

sunflower oil

vegan butter

black pepper: 20 grins

Maldon sea salt : 1 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon

1/2 vegan stock cube

300 ml hot water

2 teaspoons Spanish smoked paprika, the mild version (dulce )

1/2 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon of dried chili flakes

3 organic dairy-free spicy sausages, casings removed, sausage parts torn into smaller bite-sized pieces

500 ml sieved tomato passata

To serve: cooked & drained white spelt penne + fried organic sausage bits ( I fried my sausage bits in some vegan butter until browned on all sides & cooked through )/ You can use here spiced chorizo styled vegan sausages instead! ( to make the meal completely vegan! )

Method:

1.Β Take a large Creuset pot & heat up on medium high. Pour 2 to 3 tablespoons of sunflower oil in here & heat up. When hot, add onion & pepper strips. Add 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika. Stir-fry for about 5 minutes. Now, add aubergine chunks & 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika. Stir & add few knobs of vegan butter & some sunflower oil too. Fry until all the sides of the aubergine pieces are browned & half-cooked through. Add 10 grins of black pepper, finely milled & 1 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt. Stir well. Now, add 1/2 cube of vegan stock & crumble it into the mix. Stir well. Add 300 ml of hot water to the mix. Stir everything round in the hot pot. Now, add 1/2 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon of the dried chili flakes & add 500 ml of tomato passata & stir well. Add again 10 grins of black pepper & 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt. Mix. Reduce the sauce a bit for about 10 minutes until your sauce has thickened in, doesn’t look runny anymore & your aubergine pieces must be just cooked through!!! Taste! It has to taste fabulous & just right, with hints of spiciness on your lips & no further! Adjust the seasoning, if you need to. My stew was very delicious! πŸ™‚

2. Serve on a bed of spelt penne & ladle your hot stew on this & scatter the cooked dairy-free organic sausage bits around the penne & on top of your lovely aubergine tomato stew!;) Happy eating!

β™₯ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s easy Gluten-Free & vegan curry!

2. Vegan veggies pasta sauce on a bed of spelt spaghetti with seitan mince!

3. A quick & tasty pasta dish!

4. Vegetable stew with coffee & home-made cheese dumplings!

64 responses to “Spiced Vegan Aubergine tomato stew, with spelt penne & organic spicy sausage bits!

  1. Ally says:

    Oh yum!!!
    I love Aubergine (beautiful word, beautiful colour, beautiful taste). I actually ate some tonight! I made a spicy Moroccan eggplant (aubergine) dish.

    I love the look of your stew. I also adore spelt pasta. I will be bookmarking your recipe.
    Thanks Sophie.

    • Sophie33 says:

      I am happy that you love aubergines too! I love the sound of that aubergine spiced up! Yumm! You can add vegan spiced sausages to this lovely stew to make it completely vegan!

  2. Tammy says:

    Wow, does that ever look good! AS you know, I love aubergine but this dish with the spiced sausages and bell peppers will mask them for my children.

  3. Larry loves eggplant parmesan– so I’m sure he’d like this too! Saving the recipe…

  4. I LOVE eggplant (aubergine). I may have to try a stew like this during the summer when everything is fresh!

  5. Ina Gawne says:

    Looks delicious Sophie! Love smoked paprika – so flavorful….yummm!

  6. Liz says:

    You eat so well πŸ™‚ Looks comforting and delish.

  7. It looks delicious! Aubergines (and courgettes) always make me feel like it’s summer

  8. Katarina says:

    Sophie, it looks so yummy! Have a great day!

  9. Britta says:

    This looks so delicious! I also love spelt pasta, well, spelt anything these days. I’ll definitely have to try this recipe, so fresh and perfect for spring too!

  10. Koko says:

    Oh, Sophie, I would love to make this. I really enjoy aubergine and I actually have one in the fridge right now. It’s an ingredient I love, but don’t cook with nearly enough! Spelt pasta is my favourite, too. I will be trying this for sure, it looks sooo yummy, hearty, filling, comforting. Mmm!

  11. Looks delicious Sophie! I’m loving the flavors and ingredients..looks so flavorful and comforting!

  12. Looks full of flavour. Excellent!

  13. Bashar A. says:

    Looks delicious and I can only imagine how good it tastes πŸ™‚

  14. Norma Chang says:

    I am so waiting for when I can transplant my aubergine plants into the garden and so looking forward to a good harvest. Your delicious dish is making me hungry.

  15. Madison says:

    I really really like the sound of this. This recipe is definitely my kind of thing πŸ™‚

  16. Jim Brennan says:

    Another YUM!

  17. I can’t believe just how meaty and rich your stew looks! I know it won’t be quite the same, but the flavors sound so good, I’ll just have to try it with zucchini instead of eggplant (darned food intolerance…)

  18. Hotly Spiced says:

    It looks like great comfort food, Sophie. I make something similar with Italian tomatoes laced with garlic and fennel, casings removed and thrown into a pot of tomato sauce and served with pasta – such a lovely meal xx

  19. Eva Taylor says:

    This looks so tasty Sophie, I had no idea you could get vegan Spanish sausage, very cool. Even though I’m not vegetarian or vegan, I do enjoy eating a meatless meal at least once a week. Great idea for this recipe.

  20. Tandy says:

    I love using smoked paprika in dishes Sophie πŸ™‚

  21. boeddhamum says:

    A nice hearty dish, Sophie, especially with the smokiness of the paprika!

  22. Looks so good! I think I might try this.

  23. MaryMoh says:

    That looks very healthy and delicious. I love spelt pasta too. Usually I cook them in soup.

  24. Carolyn Jung says:

    It’s a crying shame that some folks just despise eggplant. They don’t know what they’re missing — as evidenced by this lovely dish.

  25. Hehe I like how you said that it feeds two people with lots of hunger. That would be me with this dish! πŸ˜€

  26. Never had eggplant with tomato before, sounds perfect combination!
    i think this is can be a tortilla dip…..

  27. Sally says:

    How can I get my vegetarian daughter to like aubergine Sophie? This is a gorgeous recipe that we’d all love to eat…except B

  28. gotastΓ© says:

    Oh my… you are making me really hungry my friend. The smoke paprika and chili is making my mouth water..I would love to go with just plain rice.

  29. Amber says:

    What an amazing stew! I love your chorizo and eggplant combination… these flavours seem like they would be so fantastic!

  30. Somer says:

    Oh goodness, that looks divine Sophie!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, dear Somer! I used spicy real sausages here but you can use spicy vegan chorozo sausages & then it will be completely vegan! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

  31. Kiran says:

    One pot of comforting stew! I love the aubergine with sausage combo πŸ™‚

  32. Phil Gayle_For Singles and Couples says:

    HI Sophie,
    Hope you and yours are well. πŸ™‚
    I have missed your delicious recipes, this looks really nice…I still think you should open your own place.
    You don’t have to take on all the stress…just delegate. πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  33. Its 10:30 in the morning here in California and yet my tummy and taste buds are begging for this now! : )

Comments are closed.
