Posted in Recipes

Vegan double ginger & rhubarb jam & some latest awards, yeah!!!

MMM! Divine double ginger & rhubarb jam!
Appetizing,…hey?

Yesterday, I made this tasty & easy vegan double ginger & rhubarb jam. It is a very tasty jam. I used freshly peeled ginger & stemginger in syrup in here. I also added juices of 1 lemon & of 1 orange in here! Yummy! These are great as a special food gift, especially for food & ginger lover’s.

yummy!
A yummy collection! πŸ™‚ I also had another big pot but my husband & I already ate it!

Recipe: For about 2 litres of jam

Ingredients:

1 kilo of fresh rhubarb, cleaned & cut into 2 cm pieces / I used rhubarb from my father’s garden, weighted when cleaned

1 kilo of jam sugar

juice of 1 lemon

juice of 1 orange

1 piece of fresh ginger: 6 cm long & 2.5 cm think, peeled & finely cut up

100 gr of stemginger in syrup, drained & cut into finer pieces

600 ml water

Method:

1. Take a large cooking pot, add rhubarb, water, juice of 1 lemon, juice of 1 orange, jam sugar & freshly cut up fresh ginger. Stir well with a wooden spoon & boil until it all comes together & has been cooked down a lot. I had to cook it for about 20 to 25 minutes. Lower your fire if you need to. When the jam has been cooked Β to your liking, add the cut up stemginger pieces & cook for a further 5 minutes. Do the fridge test. This means, take a spoon & place the jam in it. Put it onto a plate Β & place into the fridge for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, if the jam has set then the jam is ready to pour into clean & sterilised jam pots. If not, boil the jam further for 5 minutes or so & do the same test again until the jam has set!!

after the fridge test: the jam is ready to pour into clean jam pots!

How to sterilize jam pots?

1/ You can easy sterilize them by putting them 1 turn in your dishwasher. Use the hot pots instantly. Do not dry them but let them drain the water off on a clean towel. Fill the jam pots, nearly all the way up. Be careful, the jam is really hot!!! I use a spoon to help me or pour the hot jam in a pouring container to help you! Screw the lid on & place them upside down to cool off completely.

2/ You can cook the pots & lids for 10 minutes into boiling water & use them instantly. Do not dry them on the inside but let them drain the water off, Β on a clean towel.Β Fill them up & place the lid on well. Turn them upside down to cool off completely.

2. When they are all cooled down, turn them around & make the jam pots pretty to give as lovely food gifts, all home-made!

3. This jam is so tasty on fresh bread or add it to a vegan coconut or cashew yoghurt. This is equally tasty on cakes or serve it with freshly baked scones! The uses are endless! πŸ™‚ Happy Eating! Enjoy the flavours even more by drinking a lovely ginger tea with this amazingly tasty jam!

This is a recipe from Yvette Van Boven from the cookbook: Home-made!

And now, for something completely different. Recently, I received a lot of beautiful awards from new & old foodie friends. I think now is the time to give them all the credit they deserve!!! πŸ™‚

I received this lovely blog award twice, once from my new friend: Emily cooks vegan

She is a student who lives & cooks vegan. Her recipes are very doable, are inspiring to me & taste just great! πŸ™‚ I love her food,…can you tell that I am a fan? So will you,..go over to her blog & check her out! πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much & one other time from my new friend Lauren@ OnehappytableΒ .Β 

She lives in the USA & she is a vegan & her blog is all about doable, healthy & fun vegan recipes for the family! She makes vegan foods look cool & truly appetizing too! πŸ™‚ A huge thank you, my friend!

The one lovely blog award! Yeah! πŸ™‚

Here are a few rules about this lovely blog award:

  • Paste the award image on your blog, anywhere.
  • Tell them 7 facts about yourself.
  • Thank the persons who gave you this award! I just did ( see above )
  • Pass the award on to 15 more bloggers that You enjoy / I restrict myself to 10 bloggers!
  • Contact the bloggers that you have chosen to let them know that they have been nominated!
8 things about me:

1. I love cooking & baking on some good music. I can cook on different kinds of music. I adore Limp Bizkit & Linkin Park but also can enjoy Angie Stone, Joss Stone, Mary J. Blige, Red Hot Chili Peppers , Jay-Z , John Legend & excellent jazz, all types,….and my favourite band of all time is Within Temptation, a Dutch metal Goth band! But I am not a goth, you know!!

2. Since june 2006, I am a chronic pain patient. I have chronic pain in my right leg & in both my arms. I am in pain all day long, that’s why I don’t work anymore for the moment because it isn’t possible. I hope I can learn to live more comfortably with it, in the future,…I can do some voluntary work in a home nearby for about 7 hours per week. It is the most I can do & I enjoy it thoroughly!

3. My favourite colours are: yellow & mild red!

4. I am in love with the Spanish culture, their language & their music. I am in my 3rd year of Spanish.

5. I have over more thanΒ 200 cookbooks & I read them like thrillers! I have a lot of English & Spanish cookbooks.

6. Β I love baking all sort of different cookies. I have more than 120 cookie cutters. I bought 100 of them once in Salisbury, Uk in a cookery shop, when I was there on holiday. When I am visiting a food or cookery shop , I am always on the look out for new cookie cutters that I don’t have. My favourites of this moment are: an elephant, captain hook with a wooden leg & no arm, a clown’s head & a knight on his horse!

7.Β By now you know that I am a real foodie. I love travelling & seeing new places, villages, meeting new people from all around the world.Β I have inherited my cooking & baking skills from my late grand mother. She was my father’s mother. I have her creative skills. She cooked & baked with me when I was a kid. Sadly, she died when I only was 13 years old.

8. I am always thinking about food & thinking what I will be making for supper or the day after & the day after that,…Sometimes, I drives my husband crazy! I am inspired by everything & everyone!

Β I will give this beautiful award to the following blog, in no particular order:
1. JenΒ @Β Zestybeandog’s blog:Β Jen is living In Austin, Texas, USA. She is a good cook, I believe! She cooks & eats like I want to eat. Her dishes rock!Β :)Β I cook a lot from her beautiful & colourful food!
2.Β Charlie, aka Hotly Spiced @Β Hotly spiced.com.Β She lives in Australia. She is a really good writer, cook, baker & a fun person in general. Her dishes & posts always make me laugh. We all love Β her & her blog. We feel her. She writes about her past, her family & about good food. Her recipes really work well!Β :)
3.Β Jef @Β Weerwerk. That’s my dad. He has a filosofical blog in Dutch. I am so proud of him. He deserves this lovely award too!Β :)
4.Β Norma Chang @Β Garden to wok.Β Norma is a great cook & she grows a lot of vegetables in her garden. She keeps us updated about all things & veggies in her garden & cooks food with it. She is a lovely person with a lot of knowledge. I learn a lot from her. She is an author & publisher!
She is a 22-year-old student & loves to cook & enjoy good foods & shares her passion with us all. She loves life & her food totally. She lives in Toronto, Canada! She has a fun & lovely blog & her recipes never fail me!
6.Β Β Barbara@Β MoveableFeasts.Β She is a warm & lovely woman who lives in Florida, USA, I think! She is a great cook & a great woman. I like her a lot & her posts always bring me joy. She does posts about great chefs that we all have to know. Her recipes, sweet & savoury rock!Β :)
7. Becca @ Becca’s Green KitchenΒ She has a healthy vegetarian blog & cooks her heart out! πŸ™‚ She makes inspiring food. I think so! πŸ™‚
8. Allie @ Forgotten beast. She is a copywriter & living in beautiful Nashville, Tennessee, USA.Β I love her writing & her passion for all things in life like gardening, food, family, etc. She makes me laugh a lot! πŸ˜‰
9. Lorrie @ Whathavewegothere: She lives in Canada & is a great & lovely cook. She loves gardening too. She writes with enthusiasm & real passion. Her recipes rock!
10. Denise@ Veggiewitch. She is a funky mom, artist, crafty person,vegan & lives inΒ Β Canada, I think. She makes inventive vegan food for her whole family & for us too! πŸ™‚ She has become a close friend! πŸ™‚
I also received this lovely award from Britta @ Redbikeinagreyworld.Β She is a 22-year-old student & loves to cook & enjoy good foods & shares her passion with us all. She loves life & her food totally. She lives in Toronto, Canada! She has a fun & lovely blog & her recipes never fail me!
It is a beauty, isn’t it?

Rules of this glorious award are:

1. Copy the Beautiful Blogger Award logo and place it in your post.
2. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
3. Tell 6 things about yourself.
4. Nominate 6 other bloggers for their own Beautiful Blogger Award, and comment on their blogs to let them know.

The 7 things about me:

1. By now you know that I am a real foodie. I love travelling & seeing new places, villages, meeting new people from all around the world.

2. I am an only child. It didn’t bother me a lot when I was growing up because I had a lot of friends to play with. I had a lot of neighbour kids of my age. Now, when I am older,…I kind of miss brothers or sisters, I think.

3. I love blogging. It has been about 3.5 years since I started blogging. I even posts my comments in Spanish at a lot of blogs. I love making new friends through blogging! It has been such a great & grand experience! I learned a lot about different cultures through their food.

4. I also loved the Pay It Forward Package events. I had the chance to receive such a package from Sydney fromΒ LorraineΒ akaΒ Not Quite Nigella. She had chosen Australian bush spices & products ,etc. It has been such a great adventure creating new recipes with unique foods from Australia! I also have sent 2 packages from Belgium to USA & to France.

5. I so love visiting new cookery shops. I can’t leave the shop without buying something new,…
6. My favourite 2 Michelin starred restaurant is of course:Β Beluga, in Maastricht, The Netherlands! The chef Hans van Wolde rocks! Here is their website:http://www.rest-beluga.com/Β & of course other grand restaurants & at home too!
A lovely fresh lobster dish in Beluga! πŸ™‚

I will give this lovely award to the following people & blogs:

1. Lauren @ Onehappytable.Β She lives in the USA, she is a vegan & her blog is all about doable, healthy & fun vegan recipes for the family! She makes vegan foods look cool & truly appetizing too! πŸ™‚

2. Koko @ Kokoskitchen. She has been my friend since I started blogging 3 + 1/2 years ago. She lives nearby Vancouver, Canada. We already swapped food gifts. She makes healthy foods, takes awesome food pictures & enjoys life very much!

3. Emily @ Emilyscooksvegan.Β Β She is a student, a vegan & loves food & life.Β Her recipes are very doable, are inspiring to me & taste just great! πŸ™‚ I love her food,…can you tell that I am a fan?

4. Candy@ Lovelybuns.Β She is a Scot living in the Alsace, France & loving it deeply. She bakes her heart out & is loving it too!,..;So are we! Her creations are so doable & made with tons of love! πŸ™‚

5. Elle @ Elle’s vegan food diaryΒ . She is a vegan & lives in Vancouver, Canada. Her fun is about fun in the kitchen. She is very inventive & makes me smile a lot! πŸ™‚

6. Madison@ Veggieful. She is a 21-year-old vegan & lives in Australia. She cooks, eat & lives vegan & is passionate about it. Her recipes rock my taste buds. She is also engaged to the lovely Jerome.

Her food makes me smile! πŸ™‚

Enjoy the jam & the awards, my friends! πŸ™‚ Happy Times!

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

42 thoughts on “Vegan double ginger & rhubarb jam & some latest awards, yeah!!!

  1. Love!! Jam looks amazing, I’ll had to make this one! Thanks so much for the award as well πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Sophie, congrats on your awards. Love your jam and thanks for your sterilisation tips. Thanks so much for your award and your lovely comments. I will enjoy discovering the other blogs you have awarded. I’m sorry to hear that you have been in chronic pain for such a long time. That must be so hard t live with. Love the sound of all your cookbooks and cookie cutters – that’s quite a collection xx

    1. Thanks, Charlie! You soeserve this award! πŸ™‚
      Yep, chronic pain is shit! 😦 I love my cookie cutters & cookooks a lot!

  3. Sophie, this jam looks to die for. I will be making this hopefully tomorrow, as I have a GIANT bag of rhubarb in my freezer and I was unsure what to do with it!

    Thank you SO much for the award. Your blog is so wonderful and I love that we have been foodie friends for so long now. You are wonderful! I love seeing what you cook and you are an inspiration! Thank you again πŸ™‚ xoxoxoxoxoxox

  4. Hi Sophie, I tried rhubarb and ginger jam last year and was disappointed because it wasn’t very gingery, will try again with your recipe as the addition of stem ginger sounds just the trick!
    Congrats on the awards, you deserve them, you have a great blog πŸ™‚ and also 1000 thanks for nominating me for the beautiful blogger award yippee!

    1. This jam is very gingery & I love it that way. You shoud try it, indeed! πŸ™‚ You also deserve this great award! xxx

  5. The jam looks and sounds wonderful. That’s quite a collection of cookie cutters, have you used all of them? I cannot imagine how you keep track of what you have.
    Congrats on your awards and thanks for the nomination. I am deeply touched and honored.

  6. Good heavens, it never dawned on my to combine ginger with rhubarb for jam. Next year, I’ll try it with one batch. Must be delicious on toast, Sophie!
    Thanks so much for the award….you actually gave me something similar a while back and I answered the 7 questions here: http://moveablefeastscookbook.blogspot.com/2012/03/award.html
    Really, I am honored by the award and what you had to say about me and my blog…it’s greatly appreciated. I think highly of you and your recipes as well and treasure our blog friendship.
    (and yes, I live in South Florida!)

  7. Hiiii Sophie, wow this jam looks amazing! I’ve never had ginger & rhubarb jam before, or even made my own jam of any kind! Haha. I really would love to try making my own jam. Anyway, hope you had a fabulous holiday!!

  8. Sophie – your jam sounds wonderful! Ginger would be lovely with rhubarb! It is also delicious in homemade marmalade too! Yum! I was sorry to read you live with pain every day! Can you do yoga? Sometimes yoga can really help people in chronic pain. I hope your pain eases until one day it is all gone! πŸ™‚

  9. Aww, thanks for the award and the super-sweet comments, too! Glad I can bring some passion (and some laughs) to my blog! Definitely going to check out your other nominees, too–I love finding great new blogs (and people!). And ohh, I’m so obsessed with ginger, this jam sounds so good! As in, anything with ginger will sound good to me, but with rhubarb and spread on some good toast? Yummm.

  10. Sophie! Thanks so much for the award and for all your support – I always look forward to your all your nice comments on my blog πŸ˜€
    And this ginger and rhubarb jam sounds so incredible and creative! I’ve never heard of such a combination, but it sounds exactly like something I’d like to try out!

  11. Congrats Sophie! πŸ™‚ That jam looks delicious! I’ve never made my own and not sure I ever will- but I’ll gladly drool over yours!

  12. I looove cookie cutters too and have a huge collection as well! I love the sound of the pirate cutter πŸ™‚

  13. Congrats on the awards Sophie. You certainly deserve them and your blog gets better and better with each passing day. Now, for that seriously delicious looking jam, oh my heavens!!!

    I’m never going to make my own jam but thankfully I have a daughter who is always seeking new jam recipes. She will LOVE it!!!

    Thank you so much for sharing and for telling us a little bit more about your wonderful self…

Comments are closed.