Posted in Recipes

A rustic spinach & green asparagus soup & some latest awards!!!

A divine & tasty rustic spinach & green asparagus soup topped with cooked green asparagus tips & a dollop of Rambol herbs cheese,…mmmmm!

I made this soup last night & it is a really good -for-you soup. It doesn’t look so appetizing but I assure you, it tasted great! It is a combo of spinach, green asparagus, 2 cut up potatoes, vegetable stock & 3 big scallions. Topped with cooked green asparagus tops & a dollop of Rambol herb cheese that is melting into the hot soup! Yummy, I guarantee that you will love this soup as much as I did!I served the soup with garlic & herb toasts that I bought in the shop.

Recipe: For 2 big bowls

Ingredients:

200 gr spinach leaves, big stalks removed, washed & spun dry

1 bunch of green asparagus, ( 400 gr ) wooden tough bottom cut off, peeled or not peeled, you do what you want. I always peel them ( except the 5 cm more delicate top ), cut into smaller pieces but 4 asparagus tops kept separately.

3 big scallions, washed, dried on kitchen paper, roots cut off, cut into 2 & then sliced up finely , Β (green & white parts )

1 liter of a good gluten-free vegetable stock

2 medium potatoes, peeled & cut into smaller pieces

Maldon sea salt

black pepper, finely grinned

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

To serve: garlic & herb crackers+ a dollop of fresh rambol cheese with herbs & garlic

Method:

1. Take a steam cooking pot with steam lid & pour 1 or 2 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil in it. Heat up on medium high. When the oil is hot & sizzling, add the cut up scallions. Fry for about 5 minutes. Add the chopped asparagus & cut up potatoes. Fry further for about 5 minutes. Add the spinach leaves, some sea salt flakes, grinned black pepper & the gluten-free vegetable stock. Mix well & bring to the boil. When boiling, place the fitting lid on with the valve closed. Let it sit on the hot fire for about 5 to 10 minutes or until the nozzle of the lid is sizzling a lot & makes a lot of noise. Turn the heat off. Carefully, take the hot pot of the hot fire. Open the valve of the fitting lid & set the steam free! Only touch the lid when there isn’t any steam left. Then, mix the soup with only 1/3rd! Check the seasoning. It has to taste fab!

2. When the soup was cooking in the steam -pot, cook your 4 reserved asparagus tops in some salted boiling water until al dente. This will take a couple of minutes. Drain well & pour into ice water to keep the green colour & to cool off. Set aside. Take it out of the ice.

3. Just before serving, laddle your hot soup into 2 soup bowls. At 2 ends of the plate, place your cooked asparagus tops & place a dollop of your rambol herb & garlic cheese in the middle of your soup & serve it straight away with some tasty garlic & herb crackers! Enjoy it! πŸ™‚

Now, for something completely different!!!!

Recently, I received a few great awards! Yeah! I love getting awards & love dividing them to my fellow bloggers! πŸ™‚

Happy Times! πŸ™‚ With these 3 recent awards, I have got already 40 awards! Yeah!

I received 3 times the same award! Yeah! Happy Times!

All of the awards, were the Versatile blogger award. I received it from my friend Denise who is the Veggiewitch. She calls herself that, but of course she isn’t a witch at all: She is beautiful , she is a mom of 4 children & a vegan! She has a cool food blog called the Veggiewitch.Β Check her out, my friends:)

The second time, I received it from a nother new friend: Elle from this yummy vegan blog: Elle’s vegan food diary!Β Β She has got a vegan blog & I learn so much about her & about vegan cooking. She recently has become a vegan & she is loving it so much & she is very creative in her dishes! πŸ™‚

Thanks again, my friend! I am so honoured! πŸ™‚

The 3 award, the same one, I received from other friends, 3 sisters that share 1 tasty blog: Naturally sweet recipes!Β 

I know them for a while now & love their innovative, creative & tasty good for you recipes, sweet & savoury! They rock! πŸ™‚

They are Annie, Chelsea & Holly! Thanks again, my friends:)

The rules for this award are:

1. Thank the persons who gave you this award! I just did ( see above ).

2. Pass the award on to 15 more bloggers that You enjoy.

3. Contact the bloggers that you have chosen to let them know that they have been nominated!

I have to say at least 7 things about my life. I already did that many times, so I copied & pasted a few of my answers here:

1. I love cooking & baking on some good music. I can cook on different kinds of music. I adore Limp Bizkit & Linkin Park but also can enjoy Angie Stone, Joss Stone, Mary J. Blige, Red Hot Chili Peppers , Jay-Z , John Legend & excellent jazz, all types,….and my favourite band of all time is Within Temptation, a Dutch metal Goth band! But I am not a goth, you know!!

2. Since june 2006, I am a chronic pain patient. I have chronic pain in my right leg & in both my arms. I am in pain all day long, that’s why I don’t work anymore for the moment because it isn’t possible. I hope I can learn to live more comfortably with it, in the future,…

3. My favourite colours are: yellow & mild red!

4. I am in love with the Spanish culture, their language & their music. I am in my 3rd year of Spanish.

5. I have over more thanΒ 150 cookbooks & I read them like thrillers! I have a lot of English & Spanish cookbooks.

6. Β I love baking all sort of different cookies. I have more than 120 cookie cutters. I bought 100 of them once in Salisbury, Uk in a cookery shop, when I was there on holiday. When I am visiting a food or cookery shop , I am always on the look out for new cookie cutters that I don’t have. My favourites of this moment are: an elephant, captain hook with a wooden leg & no arm, a clown’s head & a knight on his horse!

7.Β By now you know that I am a real foodie. I love travelling & seeing new places, villages, meeting new people from all around the world.Β I have inherited my cooking & baking skills from my late grand mother. She was my father’s mother. I have her creative skills. She cooked & baked with me when I was a kid. Sadly, she died when I only was 13 years old.

8. I am always thinking about food & thinking what I will be making for supper or the day after & the day after that,…Sometimes, I drives my husband crazy! I am inspired by everything & everyone!

I will give this lovely award to the following bloggers, in no particular order:

1. Koko @ Koko’s Kitchen, because she is my friend since I started blogging, in November 2008. She so deserves it. She cooks beautiful, mostly healthy food. I learned a lot from her & I love her dishes & enthusiasm. She lives near Vancouver, Canada! πŸ™‚ I cook a lot of her recipes.

2. Ina @ Gluten-free delightfully delicious: She is a glutenΒ – free queen & makes lovely, tasty & never to fail recipes. She rocks too! πŸ˜‰ She also lives in Canada.Β I cook a lot of her recipes.Her food & dishes are never bland!

3. Kiran @ Kirantarun.com/food. I only know her for a little while but she has become a close & special friend to me. She & her husband are from India & Malaysia & are living now in the USA. She is a great cook & photographer. Her dishes are always vibrant & ooh so tasty! Easy to make too! πŸ™‚

4. Jen@ Zestybeandog’s blog:Β Jen is living In Austin, Texas, USA. She is a good cook, I believe! She cooks & eats like I want to eat. Her dishes rock! πŸ™‚ I cook a lot from her beautiful & colourful food!

5. Duckie @ A duck in her pond. Miranda lives in Texas,in the USA. She is a really good writer & her blog is about fun, food & writing! All of her posts are great & lovely to read! She rocks too!

6. Charlie, aka Hotly Spiced @ Hotly spiced.com.Β She lives in Australia. She is a really good writer, cook, baker & a fun person in general. Her dishes & posts always make me laugh. We all love Β her & her blog. We feel her. She writes about her past, her family & about good food. Her recipes really work well! πŸ™‚

7. Sarah @ Deliciouslysarah. She is also a Flemish person & a Belgian foodie Β like me that has a wonderful blog making especially sweet desserts. Her recipes inspire me all the time. Check her out. She recently started blogging!

8. Jef @ Weerwerk. That’s my dad. He has a filosofical blog in Dutch. I am so proud of him. He deserves this lovely award too! πŸ™‚

9. Tandy @ Lavender & lime.Β She lives in South-Africa & is a wonderful cook. She makes me laugh & her recipes are always a bit special. She also gives us each Friday, food quizzes! Oh yes, I learn a lot from her blog posts!

10. Norma Chang @ Garden to wok. Norma is a great cook & she grows a lot of vegetables in her garden. She keeps us updated about all things & veggies in her garden & cooks food with it. She is a lovely person with a lot of knowledge. I learn a lot from her. She is an author & publisher!

11. Simone @ Junglefrogcooking.Β She is a great & excellent cook, a fab photographer & a really good traveller. She lives in The Netherlands. She is a fun person & writes with enthusiasm! Great recipes, easy Β & sometimes a bit more challenging but doable! πŸ™‚

12. Oysterculture @ Oysterculture & foodΒ . She is lives in the USA. She writes lovely posts about certain foods, food markets, etc. She gives us each time a lot of info about typical & not so typical foods & her recipes are always special,…to me anyway! She so deserves it!

13. Carolyn @ Foodgal; She has a fab blog about food, food festivals, does great & inspiring restaurant & cookery books reviews, etc. I love her unique style of writing. She entertains me a lot! πŸ™‚

14. Natasha@ 5-StarFoodie. She inspires me all the time. She loves cooking & baking & inventing Michelin star dishes. She loves eating & reviewing fancy restaurants. And we thank her for that! She cookes with special ingredients from time to time & she also inspires me all the time. Her food is just stunning & ooh so tasty & pretty looking!!!

15. Barbara@MoveableFeasts. She is a warm & lovely woman who lives in Florida, USA, I think! She is a great cook & a great woman. I like her a lot & her posts always bring me joy. She does posts about great chefs that we all have to know. Her recipes, sweet & savoury rock! πŸ™‚

I hope you all enjoy this tasty recipe & enjoy your well deserved awards, my friends! πŸ™‚ Happy Times! πŸ™‚

Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the link belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free!Β 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

58 thoughts on “A rustic spinach & green asparagus soup & some latest awards!!!

  1. Thank you for the award Sophie – you are too sweet! And congratulations to you too! An award very much you deserve. I don’t have 15 bloggers to send the award to, but I will most definitely pass on to bloggers I love!
    I love the delicious flavors you have going on in your soup too- yum! πŸ™‚

  2. Sophie, it’s so great to read your facts and get to know you a little more! I can definitely relate to the reading cookbooks thing! haha. πŸ™‚ So sorry to hear you are in chronic pain, that is one reason why we have gone more natural and tried to eat healthier. I’ve experienced that to some degree, it’s not fun. Hope you can find answers and healing! Thanks for sharing and hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Hi Sophie, thanks so much for honouring me with the versatile blogger award. That is so kind of you. Thanks for your kind words as well. I’m just waking up and this is a lovely way to start the day! I’m sorry to hear you have been in chronic pain for so long! It must be very difficult to manage life with chronic pain. I hope you can get some treatment for your condition. Your soup looks lovely and the ingredients are very healthy. I’m looking forward to discovering the other blogs you have awarded. Thanks again xx

  4. Where is the love button? WordPress really needs one!
    Thank you so much for the kind words, my friend. *squishy hugs*
    I’m looking forward to visiting the blogs you’ve listed above.
    I’ll definitely be checking that Dutch band, too. ;0)
    Veggiewitch β™₯

  5. Hello Sophie, Thanks for the award I am flattered and honored. Thanks also for the kind words, don’t know about the “lot of knowledge” though, I am learning new things everyday.
    Your soup is definitely “a really good -for-you soup”.

  6. Wow, 3 awards!! That’s awesome, congratz! (btw I love Linkin Park and Limp Bizkit, too =P)

  7. Sophie, how sweet of you to give me an award! I’ll try to post the seven things as soon as I can. I probably won’t pass it on to 15 others, but will have fun doing this on my blog. You said such sweet things about me and yes, I live in south Florida. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on receiving them yourself….you deserve lots of awards!

    BTW: I love the idea of an asparagus (my favorite) and spinach soup!

  8. linkin park, eh? good for you–they have a great sound! and i think your soup is lovely. πŸ™‚

  9. Wow, thank you for this honor. I had no idea you had such a strong attachment to Spanish culture, I am dedicating all my Spanish posts to you.

    You are such an inspiration and I confess that sometimes I am in the kitchen I wonder what you would do with the ingredients.

  10. I looooove the look of this soup. I am bookmarking it now, because I have to try it!

    Thank you for the award, Sophie- you are sooo sweet and kind and it is an absolute pleasure to be your friend. I’m so glad that our blogs brought us together!

  11. firstly, what a great soup recipe! I am sorry you are in such pain – I have been on medication for inflammation for 10 years now so I can relate! Thank you for sharing, and for the award πŸ™‚

  12. I love asparagus! How lovely to create a spring soup with even more fresh green flavors! So nice to read about your interests! I’m glad to finally find someone who may own as many cookbooks as I do! I’m afraid to count them!

  13. Congratulations on the awards. So deserving πŸ™‚
    The soup recipe looks wonderful. I love everything about asparagus. It’s so healthy.

  14. Congratulations on your award…very well deserved πŸ™‚
    Loved to read more about you…
    The soup looks and sounds tasty…asparagus and spinach…yummie!
    Hope you are having a wonderful week Sophie!

    1. I know the picture isn’t all that but I will tell you that is is perfect in the flavours! πŸ™‚ Ha!

  15. You definitely deserve them Sophie, Cheers to more great recipes!
    XXLinda

Comments are closed.