Posted in Recipes

Mom’s brown baked rice & vegetables dish

This dish is a dish , I learned from my mom. It is a quick & easy to make dish. You can use whatever vegetable you have in your fridge or pantry.

This is also tasty & healthy. I served it with baked chicken pieces. It is also great with a good veggie or bean burger, Home-made , of course! Try my spiced bean burger with this tasty meal! Yummy too! 😉

This is a vegetarian meal if you leave out the meat, vegan too! 😉

A tasty dinner: Healthy too!
A tasty mix of great veggies

 

Brown baked rice with red onions

Recipe: For 2 persons, with seconds

Ingredients:

** For the fried brown rice & red onions:

2 sachets of each 125 gr brown rice, that need 11 minutes of cooking / I used whole-grain brown rice from Lima.

2 fat red onions, peeled & cut into smaller wedges

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

a fruity Extra Virgin Olive Oil ( EVOO )

a good vegetable stock to cook the rice in

** For the vegetables mix:

250 gr of soy bean sprouts

250 gr of leeks, well washed, cleaned & cut into smaller rings ( white & green parts )

1 red bell pepper ( paprika ), washed, cleaned, seeds & white parts removed, cut into thinner strips

1 yellow bell pepper ( paprika ), washed, cleaned, seeds & white parts removed, cut into thinner strips

6 tablespoons of Heinz tomato ketchup

a good chicken stock or vegetable stock to cook the vegetables in / I used chicken stock because I ate this with baked chicken pieces

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

coconut oil/ baking margarine/ fruity EVOO

** To serve: baked organic chicken pieces, seasoned with chicken spices

Method:

1. First, cook your rice according to your packet instructions. I cooked my rice in a good vegetable stock for more flavour. After cooking, when the rice has been cooked through & swollen, drain well. Cut the sachets open & keep warm.

2. In the meantime, take a large cooking pot with fitting lid. I use my Creuset pot. Heat up on medium high. Add the fat that you are using, I used coconut oil & let it melt. When hot & sizzling, add chopped leeks & fry  for about 3 to 4 minutes. Add strips of yellow & red bell pepper. Stir often. Add some black pepper & some flakes of Maldon sea salt. Put the lid on & fry for about 5 minutes until the vegetables start to soften. Now, add the bean sprouts & stir often. Add the hot chicken or vegetable stock, just enough that the vegetables are submerged into the stock. I poured about 350 ml into the pot. Stir everything around & place the fitting lid on. Turn the heat up! Cook for about 5 to 7 minutes or until the vegetables are just cooked through. When they are nearly cooked, check the seasoning. The sauce will be reduced a bit & that is what you want. Now, add 6 tablespoons of Heinz tomato ketchup to the pot & stir well. Taste! It has to taste fab! Add some seasoning, if you need to. Turn the heat off & set aside to keep warm.

3. Take a large non-stick pan & heat up on high. Pour 2 tablespoons of fruity EVOO in it. When heated, add the red onion wedges. Fry until softened & nearly ready. Season with black pepper & sea salt.

Now, add the cooked & well-drained rice & place it into the hot pan. Add a bit extra oil to the pan. Fry the rice a bit until it is all very hot & all the rice has been fried a bit, for about 3 to 5 minutes.

Plate up & serve instantly! Enjoy, my friends! 😉

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

44 thoughts on “Mom’s brown baked rice & vegetables dish

  1. Another great recipe! I am a fan of brown rice- it’s so healthy and tasty! And the vegetable mixture looks delicious! We used maldon sea salt a lot in cooking school, so I’m glad I have some at home.

  2. Sophie – this looks so so good! Love all the vegetables, and bean sprouts add such great texture too! Yummmm, this is making me hungry!

    1. I also love brown rice & at the same time it is really good for you too!
      What’s NOT to LOVE here?

  3. Sophie – I love this and have it bookmarked for a dinner party where a vegan friend is coming (I also noted your spiced bean burgers – I’m not a vegetarian but I adore them!) Your Mom definitly knew what she was doing.

    1. Thanks , Claudia 🙂

      My spiced bean burgers aren’t vegan because there is cheese in them but they are vegetarian though! 🙂
      Happy Times!

  4. This looks like one of those recipes that you just play and play with and it never turns out the same way twice yet is delicious every time 🙂

  5. Ahhh, a pot of brown rice. I make it weekly to go with everything. Thanks for the links to your other recipes also.

  6. I love the recipes I got from my mom. They are so good and have wonderful memories attached to them. This looks so tasty and healthy, Sophie, just what I’m looking for this month.

    1. Me too, Cathy! My mom is great in the kitchen & I learnerd a lot from her. My father has a veggie garden & she uses all the good home-grown veggies from her garden.

    1. Hey ,…my long lost friend! 🙂 I hope you are doing well! 🙂
      You may fly over to Belgium to have dinner together,..that would be awesome!

  7. wow!!! this looks so healthy and delicious. i’m always trying to find good ways to incorporate brown rice in my diet. this recipe is a keeper!
    have a great day,
    mini baker

  8. Love this dish, Sophie! Brown rice is so delicious and nutty-tasting and with the veggies, a perfect match!

  9. That looks good, even first thing in the morning. My tummy is rumbling right now.

    Right, time to check out that bean burger 🙂

Comments are closed.