Posted in Gardening, Recipes

Pasta dish straight from the garden,…

Yesterday evening, I invented this lovely pasta dish. I had 3 veggies from my garden, I had to use up. Can you guess which veggies?

MMM!
MMM!

I had lots of sugar snap peas, garlic & red beetroot leaves & stalks! 🙂 Ooh yes! I needed to cut away a few leaves from the beetroot because my purple kohlrabi’s needed to get more sunlight in between the rows of red beets! So, I cut away a few stalks with the attached leaves. I took 4 smaller garlic bulbs out of the garden & used 1 whole one in this dish. The garlic is young, extremely fresh & yummy! So, let’s see how I made it!

red beetroot leaves a stalks!
red beetroot leaves a stalks

IMG_1772watermark-2

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

250 gr spelt penne

4 young garlic cloves, 1 small bulb, peeled & finely cut up

100 gr sugar snap peas

1 medium white onion, peeled & cut up into strips

200 gr smoked bacon that is dairy-free

150 gr beetroot leaves & stalks, leaves cut up & stalks finely cut up

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Cook your spelt penne according to your packet instructions. When boiling, add your sugar snap peas & cook them until just al dente. This will take maximum 2 minutes. Take them out of the pasta pot & rinse with cold water to keep the greenness! Drain well & set aside. When pasta has been cooked, drain well & keep warm.

2. In a large non-stick frying pan, pour a few drizzles of that fruity oil in it. When hot, add cut up garlic, onion & red beetroot stalks. Fry until just tender. Stir often. Season with some grins of black pepper & a few ounces of sea salt. Place into another pot with fitted lid. Add some oil to the pan & swirl around. When hot, add smoked bacon & fry on both sides until browned & cooked through. Season with 10 grins of black pepper. When the bacon is nearly ready, top with the cut up beetroot leaves & place fitted lid on. After 2 minutes, stir the wilted leaves through your bacon. Now, add back to the pan, the fried garlic, onion, stalks & cooked cooled sugar snaps. Stir everything round into the pan. Heat up until it is all piping hot! Serve at once. Plate up with cooked penne & top with the mixed veggies-smoked bacon! Also scrape the bottom of your pan, to add the juices & fried garlic pieces! Yum Yum Yum! 🙂  

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

29 thoughts on “Pasta dish straight from the garden,…

  1. Really, a garlic-strengthened dish, full of health and beauty.Congrats, Sophie!

  2. That looks absolutely delicious!! And all of your veggies from the garden look extraordinary! Happy cooking to you! Nicole

  3. Hey Sophie! We made your lovely pasta dish & loved it so much! Divine! xxxx

  4. I made your delicious pasta & loved every bite!
    it was just so delicious! You can taste the bitter & the sweet,…A great tasty contrast! 🙂

  5. Yesterday evening, I made your awesome glorious pasta & my hubby & I loved it too! 🙂
    Easy, simple, fresh flavors & so beautifully combined too! 🙂 x

  6. I love how you use your wonderful home-grown vegetables and herbs in your dishes – nothing better than straight out of the garden!!

  7. YUM!!! love the fact you take your veg straight from the garden! Lucky gal!!

  8. How lucky are you being able to eat straight from your garden. Food always tastes better when you know exactly where it came from huh? I cant wait for the warmer weather to get my garden on too.

Comments are closed.