Posted in Gardening, Recipes

Roasted radishes from the garden & potato wedges served with a fresh chives dressing, a lovely side dish!

IMG_1402watermark

Yesterday, I invented this lovely side dish. I had a bunch of mixed side radishes from my garden & wanted to use them in a different way. I cleaned them & each I cut up into 2 halves & roasted them in the oven together with white peeled potato wedges. I served a home-made fresh chives white balsamic vinegar dressing to drizzle over the roasted radishes & wedges! It was amazing! The roasted radishes are a bit more sweet & apart & the dressing over them, it takes these roasted radishes & potatoes to a whole other level!!!

IMG_1387watermark

I served this delicious dinner with mixed salad leaves from our garden & with edible chives flowers too. I drizzled the dressing also over my salad. I served it with pork shnitzels. MMM,…:)

Home grown radishes!
Home grown radishes!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

* For the roasted radishes & potato wedges:

455 gr ( 3 cups) skinned white potatoes, cut up into wedges

108 gr radishes, preferably home-grown , for more flavor. I only had 15 medium-sized, you could use more of them

black pepper: 10 grins

Maldon sea salt: 1/4 teaspoon, crushed

2 + 1/2 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

* For the chives-white balsamic dressing:

6 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

3 tablespoons of a white balsamic vinegar

Maldon sea salt: a few pinches

black pepper: 18 grins

2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200° C for 10 minutes. Take a non-stick oven dish & place your cut up radishes & potato wedges in 1 layer in it. Scatter black pepper & sea salt all over the veggies. Drizzle your oil all over them. With clean hands, mingle everything together! I scattered some sea salt extra over the mixed veggies, a few pinches. Place into the hot oven & roast for about 25-30 minutes, turning the veggies carefully over in half of the roasting time. When ready & brown, check if your potato wedge is to your liking. Turn oven off.

2. In the meantime, make your dressing. Take a lovely bowl an add all ingredients in it. Mix well. Taste. You must taste the white balsamic vinegar & the lovely chives with an added kick of the pepper. Yum. Prepare your other sides too. I fried my pork schnitzel in some fruity evoo, the same as used above & placed my mixed salad leaves on my plate. I also topped my salad with 2-3 chives flowers. Serve at once & drizzle your lovely dressing over the roasted veggies & & over your salad too. Enjoy, with a loved one! 🙂

This lovely recipe was featured onto the main page @ Instructables on June, the 8th 2015. Up til now, it has viewed: 678 views! Ooh yes! You can read it all here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Roasted-radishes-white-potato-wedges-served-with-a/

♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

35 thoughts on “Roasted radishes from the garden & potato wedges served with a fresh chives dressing, a lovely side dish!

  1. Love roasted radishes and think that the combination with potatoes is wonderful. Drizzling that dressing on the salad and roasted veggies sounds delicious. I think the pork schnitzel would be just the right protein with this. Wonderful meal.

  2. I have never had roasted radishes before…and I love the combo with potato wedges. YUM!

  3. I’m not all that keen on radishes as my mother grew them when we were growing up and there was an abundance of them and so they surfaced at just about every meal. I like the sound of roasting them; we were always served them raw xx

  4. This dish looks absolutely delicious!!! I have been wanting to grow radishes and when I do I will give this one a go! Thank you for sharing this one! Wishing you a wonderful day! Nicole

  5. We made your lovely delicious tasty side dish & loved the dressing! So pure & tangy! We also loved the combo of roasted radishes & oven roasted potato wedges! Divine combination too! xxx

  6. What a delicious and different dish. My husband doesn’t care for radishes but I bet he would love them prepared your way. 🙂

  7. I made your delicious combined dish & loved the roasted radishes to! That chives dressing was divine oover them & over the roasted white potato wedges too! xxx

  8. I have never tried roasting radishes before, I’m not sure why- what a good idea, they look great!!

  9. I made your tasty recipe & was very much surprised how tasty it all was! 🙂 x

  10. I never heard of white balsamic! And this is just a beautiful dish – roasted vegetables… chives… I could enjoy a serving right now!!

Comments are closed.