Posted in Recipes

Marinated veal escalopes with a sweet potato mash and rosemary scented carrots

I made this tasty meal yesterday. Doesn’t it look lovely & truly appetizing?
I marinated veal pieces in a combo of fresh rosemary, garlic, lemon juice & olive oil. I placed all the ingredients in a zip lock bag & marinated it for about 3 to 4 hours in the fridge. I served it with a sweet potato mash & rosemary scented organic carrots rounds.
A perfect meal to enjoy with a loved one!
 
A tasty veal meal!
A divine, tasty & festive veal dinner!
 Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds
Ingredients:
** For the veal marinade:
2 thicker veal loins, each 180 gr, each one sliced into 2  thinner parts with a sharp knife or into 4 thinner parts
1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary leaves, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper
3 thicker cloves of young fresh garlic, peeled & finely cut up
juice of 1/2 lemon
a fruity EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )
Maldon sea salt
black pepper, freshly grinded
** For the sweet potato mash:
about 400 gr. peeled sweet potatoes, cut up into equal sized chunks
some soy baking margarine
Herbamare salt
a splash of lactose – free milk or normal milk ( you can use dairy free milk to make it dairy free )
a few grinds of black pepper, if necessary
** For the rosemary scented carrot rounds:
a small sprig of fresh rosemary, the leaves torn from the sprig, the sprig removed & thrown away
about 350 gr of carrots, peeled & finely cut up into thinner rounds
a bit of Herbamare salt ( is also gluten-free )
 
Method:
1. First make the veal marinade. You can do this a few hours before dinner. I marinade my veal for about 3 to 4 hours.
2. I take my pestle & mortar & add the rosemary leaves. Pound them a few times until the senses come out of the rosemary leaves.
Add garlic & pound them too in the pestle & mortar. Now, take an empty clean Ziploc bag & add the cut up veal loins. In a smaller bowl, add rosemary leaves, garlic pieces, juice of 1/2 lemon & a few tablespoons of your fruity EVOO, this will be about 3 to 5 tablespoons. You will need just enough to have a marinade to cover all of your veal pieces. Add a few grinds of freshly grinned black pepper or white if you prefer to the marinade. Now, add a bit of Maldon sea salt flakes to the marinade as well. Now, pour the marinade into the opened ziploc bag. Close the ziploc bag well. With clean hands, massage the meat from the outside of the bag for a few minutes. Than, place the closed ziploc bag into a smaller bowl for when there is leakage. Place into the fridge for about 3 to 4 hours.
3.  30 minutes before dinner, take the bowl & ziploc bag out ot the fridge. Open the bag.
4. In the meantime, boil the sweet potatoes with a bit of the Herbamare salt in the cooking water until tender. Drain well. Mash. Season with a bit more Herbamare salt. Add a bit of baking soy margarine to make the mash smooth & if necessary add a splash of milk. Taste. It has to taste fab! Add a few grinds of  black pepper to the mash, if necessary. Keep hot.
5. When the potatoes are cooking, cook also the carrot rounds until al dente or cooked through.  Add the sprigs of fresh rosemary to the boiling cooking water. You can add a bit of the Harbamare salt to the cooking water if you want too, but I didn’t. Normally, we don’t add salt to veggies in our kitchen. When cooked, drain well but leave the rosemary sprigs. Keep warm.
6. Finally, drain the meat from the marinade. Discard the marinade. Fry the veal pieces in soy baking margarine in a hot non stick frying pan for about only a  few minutes per side until the inside is still a bit rosé on the inside. You don’t want it to be hard & though on the inside. If you think the meat is rosé on the inside. Set 1 aside & check with a knife & cut through the meat. If okay, turn the heat off & set the pan aside with a fitting lid on & let the meat rest for 5 minutes. So, the meat will be juicer later & be succulent.
7. If the meat has rested, plate up your plates! See picture above! Serve at once!
 
♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

117 thoughts on “Marinated veal escalopes with a sweet potato mash and rosemary scented carrots

  1. Ah, Sophie, I think it is impossible for me to leave your site without having a smile on my face and a rumble in my tummy!

  2. Although I’ve cut down quite a bit on my meat intake…I still do carefully select the meat dishes I do enjoy ;o)

    Sophie, you always place great care to your preparations…much appreciated 😉
    This veal seems marinated with the perfect pairings!

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  3. Sophie, what a truly lovely meal! Peter is very lucky to have you cook these amazing meals!! YUM!

  4. Oh Sophie – so simple, hearty and delicious. I really wish i had a big plate of that in front of me now.

    My loved one would most definitely appreciate this!

    xx

  5. Sounds delicious Sophie! I make a similar marinade for pork – wish I could find veal – we never see it here!

    1. I know it is a classic marinade but I also love this with pork, turkey, chicken & fish! But with fish, you can’t marinate it for too long, otherwise the lemon juice will cook the fish a bit. So for fish, I would say: 30 minutes or so to marinate! 🙂

  6. Sophie, I would love it if I could come live with you for a week and have you serve me this every single night! That’s a perfect, comfort dinner if I ever saw one. Love the sweet potato mash, one of my fav veggies 🙂

  7. I hardly ever make veal anymore (pricey) and you have me missing it. Beautifully flavored and the sweet potato mash nourishes. Luscious dinner!

    1. I love veal a lot! The taste is sublime.
      You must cook or fry it until it is still pink, aka rosé in the middle but not raw! I love its delicate & subtle flavour a lot. It is great in marinades too!

  8. Hi girly from Sunshine Florida!!!
    I love the new look of the blog! Hope you’re settling in to your new surroundings! When you get a breather, come on over to ORMG, I nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award!
    Kisses & Hugs!
    Kim

  9. Yes, Sophie, that does look marvelous! I adore sweet potatoes too! Like the veal marinade …..great dish all around.

    Love the new blog look!

  10. Ohmygoodness Sophie!! I LOVE sweet potatoes with rosemary-best combo ever! Have you ever tried roasting sweet potatoes with olive oil and rosemary-it is the best! It really brings out the flavor!

    1. Yes, I did try that a few times! I also love roasting sweet potato fries with spices & a fruity evoo drizzled!,…mmmmm!

  11. We hardly cook veal here as it is very expensive. Your meal sounds so delicious!

    1. @ Jeannie: Veal isn’t expensive over here & I love to make it from time to time because I don(t like the taste of real beef!

      @ Jean Ann: Yes, perfect for Easter, I agree! 🙂

  12. Can I come live with you too? No one around here enjoys veal and I am simply craving it now since you went and posted this delicious sounding meal. Please????

    1. Yes, you can! If I can live with you for a while because I have never been to the USA before!

      I was smiling when reading your comment! hahahaha! 🙂

  13. Thanks for the wonderful comments, they really make my day and sorry for the late replies!
    This recipe looks great, I don’t eat red meat, but I’d love to try this marinade on chicken and the veggies sounds tasty. Rosemary is one of my favourite herbs but I always forget to use it! Great meal, thanks for sharing!

    Teenie Foodie

  14. O that looks delicious Sophie. Looks like we both had veal this weekend.. 🙂 Love the new look of your blog too!

    1. @ The Teenie Foodie: You are so welcome, my new friend! 🙂

      @ Simone: Yes, your recipe was a bit more adventures!!!

      @ Megan: Enjoy!!!

  15. Belle assiette.
    Ces escalopes marinées doivent être tendres et délicieuses.
    je n’ai encore jamais fait de purée de patates douces.
    Il faut que j’essaye.
    Bonne semaine et à très bientôt.

    1. @ Duo Dishes: thanks, friends! 🙂

      @ Nadji: Lerci beaucoup, mon amie!

      @ Pam: thanks, girl!

      @ Blond Duck: Thanks & kisses!

      @ Cozy kitchen by the sea: Thanks & I hope you are doing okey, my dearest friend! Kisses & many greets from the center of Brussels! x xx

  16. It’s been awhile since I’ve had some veal, and you paired yours so nicely with the mashed sweet potatoes, which are also very good for you.

    1. @ Rosa: I loved reading your great comment: Lipsmacking good! hahahaha!

      @ Lisaiscooking: Thanks, girl! 🙂

      @ Ellie: Thank you!

  17. Hi Sophie finally I arrive your new home!! how are you, this meal look delicious and yummy! gloria

  18. I love sweet potato mash. So good! Oh and just wanted to thank you for your kind words on my blog!
    I also use brewers yeast or nutritional yeast to get a buttery/cheesey flavor without cheese and it has tons of iron, b vitamins, and extra protein!
    CHeers,
    LC

  19. Hey daaahling, just wanted to let you know I’m doing a give away on my blog for $80/ 60 Euro Amazon gift card :), do stop over and enter!
    *kisses* HH

  20. That sweet potato mash sounds killer- So simple, but so tasty! I happen to have one sweet potato on hand… I might have to make a scaled-down version tonight.

  21. I’m commenting to let you know what a outstanding discovery my wife’s princess went through visiting yuor web blog. She came to understand several details, which included what it is like to possess an amazing giving spirit to make others just fully grasp some tortuous issues. You actually did more than people’s desires. I appreciate you for presenting those informative, healthy, edifying and in addition fun tips on the topic to Lizeth.

  22. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid clear idea.

    1. Hello there,

      On the top home page on the right hand, you will find RSS-Posts & RSS-comments. You must click onto the RSS posts if you want to subscribe to my posts updates. Then, you must follow the instructions & go to your email & confirm the link for my updates. You can do the same for my updates for my comments! Thanks! & enjoy!

  23. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Every man is the architect of his own fortune.” by Appius Claudius.

  24. Keep up the superb piece of work, I read few posts on this internet site and I conceive that your web site is really interesting and has circles of wonderful information.

  25. I’ve recently started a blog, the info you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  26. I truly enjoy examining on this site, it has got good blog posts. “The great secret of power is never to will to do more than you can accomplish.” by Henrik Ibsen.

  27. Perfectly written content, appreciate it for entropy. “The bravest thing you can do when you are not brave is to profess courage and act accordingly.” by Corra Harris.

  28. I have been surfing on-line more than three hours nowadays, but I never found any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty price enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before. “A winner never whines.” by Paul Brown.

  29. I enjoy your writing style really loving this website. “What a child doesn’t receive he can seldom later give.” by P. D. James.

  30. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  31. I believe this internet site holds some really wonderful information for everyone :D. “Nothing surely is so disgraceful to society and to individuals as unmeaning wastefulness.” by Count Benjamin Thompson Rumford.

  32. Marinated veal escalopes with a sweet potato mash and rosemary scented carrots Sophies Foodie Files I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Marinated veal escalopes with a sweet potato mash and rosemary scented carrots Sophies Foodie Files Best Regards Rolf Craig

  33. Keep up the wonderful work , I read few articles on this internet site and I conceive that your web blog is really interesting and contains lots of fantastic information.

  34. Wonderful blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thank you!

Comments are closed.