Posted in Recipes

Vegan basil herbed tofu ricotta, served on GF vegan brown rice pasta!

A delightful & easy peasy vegan pasta dish to make in 15 minutes!

A few weeks ago, I bought this stunning vegan book called Vegan with a Vengeance from Isa Chandra Moskowitz from the PostPunk Kitchen. She inspires me all the time. I know she has written several cookery books now & I have 3 of them! Ooh yeah, baby. I can buy them or order them in Belgium in the English book store Waterstone’s in Brussels. I am one lucky girl! 🙂 Go check out Isa’s website for some vegan recipes, tips & super appetizing vegan inspiration! 😉

This basil herbed tofu ricotta is an adapted recipe of her tasty recipe in her 1st book ever: Vegan with a Vengeance!  She rocks my taste buds! Ooh yeah! This pasta recipe is a very tasty one, easy  & quickly to make. It took me 15 minutes from beginning to finish! 🙂

Yummy! Vegan basil & herbed tofu ricotta! 🙂

This is so good & tasty!

Recipe: For about 3 persons or for 2 persons with a lot of hunger!

Ingredients:

1 pack of 250 gr firm herbed tofu, drained, pad dry on kitchen paper, pressed for about 30 minutes, pad dry again on kitchen paper

1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast

2 teaspoons of a fruity EVOO

2 teaspoons of lemon juice

10 grins of finely milled black pepper

1/4 teaspoon of sea salt flakes + a bit more

15 large green basil leaves, cleaned & more finely cut up

300 gr of cooked & drained GF & vegan brown rice spiral pasta

Method:

1. After draining the herbed tofu well, pad the tofu dry on kitchen paper & mush the tofu with your hands, until it’s crumbly.

2. Add lemon juice, sea salt, black pepper & cut up basil leaves. Mix with a spoon. With your hands, mush the mix again until you reach a ricotta-style texture. This can take 2 to 5 minutes.

3. Add the fruity EVOO & mix with a fork. Add the nutritional yeast & mix again all together. Taste! It has to taste fab! Add some seasoning if you need to.

Use instantly on your cooked brown rice pasta & mix it into your hot pasta & enjoy instantly with a loved one! 😉 Enjoy, my lovely ones!

Note: This herbed tofu ricotta mix keeps well in the fridge for about 3 days. This basil tofu ricotta is also tasty heated up in the microwave with some leftover pasta. Yummy Yum!

This would also be quite tasty with some dry roasted pine nuts on top of the tofu mix pasta. MMM … Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,850 email Subscribers! It is free! 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

56 thoughts on “Vegan basil herbed tofu ricotta, served on GF vegan brown rice pasta!

  1. Oh Sophie you’ve out done yourself here! Your pasta looks scrumptious and the fact that it’s quick to “throw” together makes it all the better!

    Thank you so much for sharing…

    1. Thanks but the basil tofu ricotta was invented by Isa , I just used herbed tofu instead of normal tofu & used less nutritional yeast, etc!

  2. Hello Sophie,
    Your recipe looks very tasty. I’ll do my utmost best to make this once.
    You inspire me.
    Thank you .

  3. Isa is so amazing and inspiring when it comes to vegan food! This looks filling and tasty. Who wouldn’t like this!

  4. Sophie – this truly looks delicious – and I am not even a tofu fan! I bet it was hearty and filling too! 🙂

  5. I love VwaV, it and Isa’s Veganomicon are my two go-to cookbooks (and yup, I’ve made the tofu ricotta from VwaV, and I LOVE it!).

    1. I have got vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, vegan pie in the sky & Vegan with a vengeance! I just used herbed tofu instead of normal tofu & used less nutritional yeast, etc!

  6. I cannot comprehend the speed at which you publish such excellent recipes!

    D

  7. That cookbook sounds really interesting Sophie. I love how quickly and easily this pasta can be made. It looks like a terrific mid-week meal xx

  8. Isa Chandra is a wonderful vegan recipe developer. So glad you tried her recipe. Looks so delish!

  9. That looks so heavenly! I definitely need to check out her website! I just love your blog Sophie and look forward to it all the time! 🙂

  10. Yum yum Sophie! It’s Spring here and my basil is about to sprout any day now… This looks like a good recipe to start with! I’m thinking it would be pretty good as leftovers to take to work for lunch the next day too, maybe as a salad…

  11. Great pasta Sophie! It’s so healthy! I’m not a huge fan of tofu, but your pictures do make it look tasty!

  12. This book would make a great gift to several egan friends! A ricotta made from tofu certainly looks like real ricotta..I’m dying to taste! Over pasta..I must taste! Beautifully done, Sophie!

  13. My goodness….your tofu does look like ricotta cheese! That’s such a healthy dish! Thanks very much for sharing. Hope you have great weekend.

  14. So simple and yet so tasty, I totally like the idea of using tofu as ricotta…yum!
    Thanks for the recipe and hope you are enjoying your week Sophie 🙂

  15. looks sooo delicious! just one Q, what exactly is fruity EVOO? can I use regular EVOO?

  16. I didn’t realise how many of your posts I’d missed Soph. Stupid wordpress reader isn’t very useful at times! Love the look of this tofu ‘ricotta’ scramble. Fresh herbs make such a difference in dishes like this. Beautiful. Definitely want to try it for a yummy but healthy dinner xx

Comments are closed.