Posted in Gardening, Recipes

The first 2 green courgettes turned into a lovely pasta dinner!

A few days ago, I harvested the first 2 green courgettes called black beauty! Ooh yes! So, I needed to use them up & I invented this lovely easy peasy pasta dinner! Looks great right?

Ready to devour!
Ready to devour!

If you want to make it completely gluten-free, use Gluten-free bacon & GF pasta!

If you want to make it completely vegan, use vegan tempeh bacon!

Recipe: For 3 persons

Ingredients:

300 gr spelt penne

1 + 1/2 green courgette, cleaned, cut up into smaller chunks, see photo above

1/2 cup (78 gr) red bell pepper, deseeded & white bits removed, cut up into smaller chunks

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely chopped

12 yellow cherry tomatoes, left whole

black pepper

pink salt

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

200 gr of smoked bacon pieces

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

to serve: grated Gruyère cheese

Method:

  1. Cook your pasta according to your packet instructions. Drain well & set aside.
  2. At the same time, heat up & a large non-stick pan & at a few drizzles of a fruity extra virgin olive oil. When hot, add chopped garlic, red bell pepper pieces & chopped courgette. Stir often & fry for about 5-10 minutes. Season with dried thyme, black pepper & pink salt. Check if the veggies are cooked through & browned, soft at all sides. When nearly done, add yellow cherry tomatoes to the hot pan & fry until they are super hot & ready. Spoon all of the veggies into the pot with hot pasta or remove from the hot pan. Now, fry your smoked bacon pieces into that same pan but add a few drizzles of that same fruity oil first. heat up & fry on high heat until browned & cooked through. Taste. Adjust seasoning to your liking. I added about 10 grins of black pepper & about 8 grins of pink salt extra. It all has to be fab in the mouth!
  3. Plate up, like photo above or mix bacon through veggie-pasta mix & serve at once. This is also nice topped with freshly grated Gruyère cheese,….yum yum!♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

    http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

19 thoughts on “The first 2 green courgettes turned into a lovely pasta dinner!

  1. They’re just perfect Sophie! I love your dish..such a yummy and creative use of your gorgeous veggies!

  2. Awesome recipe, Sophie! We get courgettes every now and then from the allotments, I’ll try this one next when our friendly neighbour knocks on the door! 🙂

  3. Ooh what beautiful courgettes!! My parents and my aunt are both growing courgettes this year and they both have more than they know what to do with! Now my fridge is overflowing with courgettes….I must try and use them up in a yummy recipe like this one!

  4. My zucchini plant doesn’t do well this year….keep producing male flowers with long thin stalks..well, can’t blame me..because I even tried hand-pollinating, but didn’t work, plus we had lots of rain and no sign of summer until this week…fortunately, my cucumber plant grows pretty good. Your zucchini dinner looks great, Sophie.

    1. ooh nooo. We had that in the beginning of the courgget plants when they were still growing! We had the same weather you know. only this week has been temperatures of 28°C & +! xxx

  5. I had two zucchini, one has died, I never got one squash I don’t know what I did wrong except maybe the way I planted them. I got one squash blossom. Your recipe is just lovely, I am a fan of anything with a little bacon, it adds so much flavor and this is one I must try. I may forego the pasta and just do the zucchini and other ingredients with the bacon. That would be so yummy. I forget sometimes that you are not vegan you have such a wonderful variety of recipes so everyone no matter how you eat can have some.

    1. Thanks so much, Suzanne! xxx Soory to hear about the zucchini plant, but sometimes, you must give the plant a few weeks. In the beginning, we only had male flowers for 3 weeks & then, came the female flowers. xxxx

      1. The male flowers, don’t have a zucchine behind them. the female flowers have a small fruit growing behind them. I also pollinate my female flowers with the male flowers when there are not many bees around. I learned it all from youtube. Once you know, it is very easy to do.

  6. A delicious way of using your courgettes. May I ask a question, what is the difference between regular bacon and gluten free bacon…I have a friend who is just starting to eat gluten free?

    1. I think it is the same bacon but in their products no gluten is used. It is all said on the package. I try to buy my organic meat from butchers nearby us. If is isn’t mentioned just ask. Because most of the time, here in belgium, lactose & gluten is added. I lived gluten-free for 1 year to test my allergies & intolerances. Now, I can eat gluten, but not too much. That is why I use a lot of spelt flours,spelt spaghetti etc! It has less gluten to digest & is more healthier too!

      1. Thanks Sophie! I have a friend who is doing the same thing for allergies and we have them for dinner often. I never thought about bacon and I use it when I cook greens. I’ll have to check the label if I’m cooking for him.

  7. A lovely easy tasty pasta dish with home-grow foods! Lucky you & Peter! xxxx

Comments are closed.