Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan spelt pancakes with passionfruit glaze!

on 12/07/2016

Yesterday morning, I invented these tasty beauties! I had some ripe passion fruit & a bag of sprouted wholemeal spelt flour lying around that I needed to use up so I created another new pancake recipe too. Just look at this beautiful one:

Let's digg in!

Let’s dig in!

Let’s see up closer:

These are 6 smaller wholemeal sprouted spelt thicker, fluffy pancakes that are also delicious on their own & fabulous when topped with this tasty passionfruit glaze,…it is what your mouth & body want!!! 😉 This is not a dessert though because it is too filling! For breakfast & brunch it is ideal! 🙂

Recipe: For 6 smaller fluffy vegan pancakes!

Ingredients:

Dry ingredients:

1 cup + 1/4 cup (131 gr) sprouted whole spelt flour (I used Rude Health)

2 teaspoons baking powder

Wet ingredients:

1/2 cup (137 gr) apple sauce

1/2 cup unsweetened soy milk

1/2 teaspoon home-made vanilla extract

1 tablespoon agave

Passionfruit glaze:

3 ripe passionfruit, each cut open, seeds & flesh spooned out

1 tablespoon agave

Method:

  1. Place dry ingredients & wet ingredients in this order into your Vitamix container. Place fitted lid & tamper in. Blend on high-speed until fully mixed. This took me about 10 seconds. Remove lid & tamper. Your pancake mix will be thicker, like this:

    Thick healthy pancake batter!

    Thick healthy pancake batter!

  2. Make the passionfruit glaze. Place ripe passionfruit seeds & flesh into fitted cooking pot & add agave. Stir & heat up. Simmer for about 3-4 minutes until it forms like a gel aka jam like consistency aka glaze. Taste. It is a bit sweet & you really can taste the full passionfruit flavour & that is what you want. Turn heat off & keep warm while you fry your pancakes. it will look like this:

    hot & tasty!

    hot & tasty!

  3. Form & fry your pancakes. Take a small pancake pan & smear it in with a fruity oil. Heat up on medium-high. Spoon 2 big small spoonfuls of the dough into your pan & flatten it all out with the back of your spoon to form quickly a roundish shape for your pancake. Wait until bubbles appear into the surface of the pancake & carefully flip your pancake over with help of a pancake spatula & fork. With your pancake flipper, push the upside of the pancake down for an equal fry. When done, place onto a plate & repeat the process. I oiled my pan again & again. When all the pancake batter has been used up, serve at once, like photo above & enjoy! 2 pancakes will be enough because they really fill you up & that is what you want! The pancake itself is a bit sweet, thick & fluffy & the passionfruit glaze on top is also a bit sweet & so addictive as well. Enjoy, sweeties! Love, Sophie! ♥ Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

    http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

29 responses to “Vegan spelt pancakes with passionfruit glaze!

  1. Rita Ann says:

    They looks so fluffy! I love passion fruit!

  2. Angie says:

    Must be very delicious! I love esp. that passionfruit glaze.

  3. Tammy says:

    Sounds so good!

  4. Sumith Babu says:

    I loved that passion fruit glaze, on the pancakes😊

  5. Oh wow, I’ve never seen such fluffy wholegrain pancakes! The passionfruit glaze is a whole dessert unto itself, though… I’d gladly just eat it with a spoon.

  6. Antonia says:

    Such a delicious and healthy breakfast Sophie!

  7. Sheryl says:

    This looks delightful. I don’t think that I’ve ever eaten passion fruit. I may have to give it a try. 🙂

  8. What a great way to start the day Sophie!! we ar big pancake fans around here (even sometimes for Sunday night supper). thanks.

  9. Norma Chang says:

    You have a passion fruit plant, how lucky. Those delicious pancakes are making me hungry.

  10. Johan says:

    I made your lovely fluffy wholegrain spelt pancakes & loved them on their own & topped with yummy passionfruit glaze was just the max! Super! xxx

  11. Koko Brill says:

    This looks like the yummiest breakfast ever. I bet a passionfruit glaze on pancakes is just to die for. I very rarely get my hands on any passionfruit…but I will be sure to keep this in mind for when I do!!

  12. I love pancakes, especially when they’re made healthy! Great job Sophie!

  13. dishdessert says:

    this is very nice,I liked your blog, I invite you to my blog:
    http: dishdessert.wordepress.com

  14. Sarah says:

    I made your lovely tasty sppelt pancakes & adored that yummy passionfruit glaze too! Divine combo, dear Sophie! x

Comments are closed.
