Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Simple pesto pasta with smoked bacon

on 03/05/2015

A few days ago, I made this easy fresh basil pesto pasta with smoked bacon & courgette. You can make it completely vegan, by using vegan tempeh bacon bits in here! πŸ˜‰ I had a pot of fresh organic basil in my kitchen & had to use it up. I made a lot of different pestos in the past, some of them, very creative but never the old one, the normal basil pesto. You can read about my home-made red pestoΒ ,about my spinach & rocket leaves pestoΒ & about my coriander & walnut pesto here!Β So, I invented this lovely easy peasy dinner! πŸ˜‰ MMM!

MMM! :)

MMM! πŸ™‚

Recipe: Enough pesto for 2 persons

Ingredients:

* For the basil pesto:

2 medium garlic cloves, peeled & roughly chopped

1 big plant of basil leaves, cleaned, stems removed, roughly chopped

20 grins of black pepper

1/4 teaspoon of crushed Maldon sea salt

1/4 cup (25 gr) grated Parmesan

1/4 cup (35 gr) pine nuts

1/4 cup + 1/8 cup (90 ml) of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

* For the rest:

350 gr egg-free dairy-free spelt spaghetti

1 medium courgette, (220 gr) skin washed, pad dry, cut up into thinner rounds & each round cut up into smaller strips

200 gr smoked bacon pieces, Use smoked bacon that is dairy-free.

black pepper

some sea salt

Method:

1. First, make the toasted pine nuts.Β Place pine nuts in 1 layer in a dry pan & heat up on low-fire. Let the nuts toast without burning them. Often, shake your pan. With your hands & spoon, turn the nuts over for an equal roast. After a few minutes, they will be golden & roasted. Your kitchen will smell amazing! Turn heat off & set aside.

2. Now, make your basil pesto. Take your beloved food processor & place the S-blade in. Add chopped garlic, basil leaves & pine nuts. Add grated Parmesan cheese, 20 grins of black pepper & your sea salt. Pour 60 ml of your fruity evoo in it. Put lid on & pulse a few times or on higher power to mix it more finely. It is up to you! Sometimes, I like a more coarse pesto but sometimes I like it to be more fine. I added 30 ml oil extra so that is 90 ml in total. Taste! You must taste the basil first & then all the rest! It has to be pungent a bit with that raw garlic & that lovely parmesan! I like that my pesto is not to oily. This is the way, I like it! :).

3. In the meantime, cook your spelt spaghetti according to your packet instructions. Rinse well with water. Fry your courgette pieces in that same fruity evoo until browned & cooked through. Season with some sea salt & black pepper. When your courgettes, are nearly ready, push them to one side of a pan. On the other side, fry your smoked bacon pieces until browned & cooked through. I seasoned my bacon with some black pepper. Stir the courgette pieces through the fried bacon. Take your spaghetti & add 3 to 4 tablespoons of your pesto through the hot pasta. Put it into 2 clean pasta plates & top each plate with the smoked bacon-courgette mix! Enjoy! All for he flavours go wonderful together! MMM! πŸ™‚

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Sophies Foodie Files

38 responses to “Simple pesto pasta with smoked bacon

  1. Janet says:

    Hi Sophie,

    Digging how you make sure people are active in your entire site. Pesto is so luscious. Bring me a barrel and a spoon, may be some wine to wash it all down. I have a spaghetti squash somewhere in the house. Pesto tossed “spaghetti”. Summers!

  2. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Looks absolutely mouthwatering and healthy too, Sophie.

  3. Dana says:

    Omg WOW! I love bacon and this looks incredible. Adding basil pesto is such a perfect spring touch.

  4. Dina says:

    Oooooh Sophie, this looks yummy-marvelous, we’ll try it this coming week. Yesterday we made your Risotto, all smiles around the table! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Wishing you a wonderful Sunday,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma

  5. Oh pesto, how I love thee! Will have to make this with tempeh as you suggested. Thanks Sophie!

  6. singhcircle says:

    Your reveries are so detailed, no one could ever go wrong! Awesome pictures, too!!

  7. singhcircle says:

    Sorry, I meant recepies! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

  8. jefboven says:

    BASIL PESTO; iTR4S

  9. jefboven says:

    BASIL pesto. It’s all in the family.

  10. Liz says:

    This meal is very simple but totally looks tasty. If I hadn’t had dinner, I probably would have jumped into the screen. I hope 2015 is great for you. Have a wonderful week!

  11. boeddhamum says:

    Although I do not eat bacon, this meal with the home-made pesto and courgette looks scrumptious Sophie;-)
    Do you grow your own basil too?

  12. Mixing the red and green pestos sure does create some wild color palate on the plate! It’s beautiful, and I’m sure the flavors are every bit as vibrant as the hues. πŸ™‚

  13. Mitzie Mee says:

    Everything gets better with bacon, doesn’t it? Looks delicious:)

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    I love pesto spaghetti. I’ve never added bacon before so I’d like to try this. This would be a lovely family meal xx

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    It’s totally worth the effort of toasting the nuts. Pine nuts have again gone through the roof here in Canada. I used to pay about $15 for 500g but now it’s $27 for the same bag. But the kicker is that they are grown in China!

  16. Pasta!!! I’m with Eva above and can’t find pine nuts on the inexpensive to save my life. When I get back to GA, I’ll have to check Aldi.

  17. Sean & Linda says:

    We made your lovely pesto pasta just now as a late lunch!
    It was just perfect in flavors & colors! x

  18. Sean & Linda says:

    We made your lovely tasty pasta dinner yesterday evening!

    Easy but very delicious! πŸ™‚ x

Comments are closed.
