Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan spelt pancakes!

on 26/01/2015

A few days ago, My husband made these delicious easy to make spelt pancakes! Just see for yourself, don’t you want 1, 2 or 3?

_1320044watermark-1

These pancakes are very tasty & very easy to devour too! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

_1320040watermark

Recipe: For 8 medium thicker pancakes

Ingredients:

250 gr white spelt flour (less than 7 tablespoons)

100 ml unsweetened soy milk (6 +1/2 tablespoons)

2 tablespoons coconut sugar

1 tablespoon canola oil (15 ml)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract/ I use home-madeΒ (10 ml)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

400 gr lightly sweetened vegan soy yoghurt or coconut yoghurt, room temperature!Β (3/4 cup +3 tablespoons )

canola oil to fry your pancakes in

Method:

1. Take a large bowl & add baking soda & yoghurt. Mix well.

2. In another bowl, add salt, sugar, vanilla extract & oil. Mix well. Now, add yoghurt-baking soda mix to this other bowl & mix slowly your flour through it until it is all used up. Leave this batter to sit on your kitchen counter for about 15 minutes. This way, the batter will sit & get thicker! πŸ™‚ That is what you want!

3. Now, fry your pancakes in a smaller non-stick pan, on medium-high, on 2 sides until golden brown & cooked through! Keep them warm on a plate with aluminium foil over it. Place them on top of each other & attack! These ae very lovely with hot maple syrup over them or with the same yoghurt you have used in the pancakes & some lovely home-made jam! MMM,…;)

Ready to attack them!

Ready to attack them!

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

You can also find this tasty recipe here on Instructables!Β http://www.instructables.com/id/Vegan-Spelt-pancakes-1/

You might like:

1. Apple spelt pancakes!

2. Blueberry crΓͺpes!

3. Vegan Gluten-free oat cherry pancakes with cacao nibs!

4. Vegan pumpkin spiced pancakes with home-made pumpkin spice!

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

42 responses to “Vegan spelt pancakes!

  1. jefboven says:

    Congrats, Peter!

  2. Those pancakes looks and sounds yummmm….

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Yum! I would love a few for my breakfast!

  4. lou says:

    Hallo Sophie,
    Spelt pancakes, yumi, yumi.
    Mamalou

  5. afracooking says:

    I adore pancakes (and that is an understatement). I can never have enough different pancake recipes and this one really is original. Love the use of yoghurt and the fact that they use a nutritious flour. Great recipe! Thanks!

    • Sophie33 says:

      hahahahahha! We don”t eat pancakes often, but now, we can make them more healthy & we do try to add lovely products in our pancakes so that we can enjoy them more & more,…:)

  6. Sean & Linda says:

    These spelt pancakes look fluffy & thick! Yum yum yumm! x

  7. Johan says:

    Your pancakes look like the perfect breakfast! Delicious & healthy!

  8. Lovely, yes please!

  9. Oh it has been far too long since I have enjoyed a crumpet. Love the idea of trying a spelt version.
    Have a wonderful day Sophie. I am slowly starting to catch up after not blogging for the better part of a month.
    Have a wonderful day.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy xo

  10. Ricki says:

    Holy YUM, Sophie!! Pancakes just *happen* to be my very favorite breakfast food (I eat them at least 1-2 times a week!). I bet my hubby would love these, too. πŸ™‚

  11. These look perfect! Making them asap!

  12. Deena Kakaya says:

    They look so light! X

  13. hotlyspiced says:

    I recently made vegan pancakes using coconut milk. I do love the look of your pancakes; they look very light and fluffy xx

  14. Liz says:

    note to self: must do more with spelt! These look tasty.

  15. shenANNAgans says:

    Peter is a total legend! Wish I had me a someone special to make me a pancakes. #luckyyou
    I really need to make spelt a thing in my kitchen, especially so I can make my Sunday pancake fest a healthier breakfast option. Great recipe lovely, thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  16. Yummy, Sophie! I can see adding some blueberries in there…or even chocolate chips!

  17. I bought some spelt flour with absolutely no idea how to use it except as a sub for some AP flour, but this looks like a great option! Love pancakes!

  18. I think I might have some spelt flour in my fridge πŸ™‚

  19. I have never tried spelt flour before, not from conscious knowledge, but your pancakes look so fluffy and thick I need to try it! πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  20. Sarah says:

    Hey Sophie!
    I made your delicious spelt pancakes & loved them! They were very scrumptious & fantastic even! So yum yum too! xxx πŸ™‚

  21. Looks delicious! I have to try these!!

Comments are closed.
