Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Do you want a slice of Vegan spiced tofu quiche?

on 14/01/2015

Yesterday evening, I invented this fabulous Vegan Spiced Tofu Quiche! I had a leftover organic vegan puff pastry that I needed to use up. Check it all out!

_1320581watermark

Come on over @ my house & I will serve you a big slice, if you want! ๐Ÿ˜‰

_1320556watermark-1

I had a new square non-stick pastry tin that I needed to try! It really worked out well! I just had to grease the tin, sides & removable bottom & the Quiche came out perfectly! It was the 1st time, I created a vegan Quiche using drained & Vitamixed silken tofu! My husband & I ate 2 pieces each. In the pst, I made Vegan Quiche tartlets using a home-made spelt oil pastry & using soy cream in my tartlets! You can find the recipe: Here!

_1320570watermark-1

You can serve it with a nice simple side salad & dressing but I didn’t bother! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yummmmmm!

Recipe : For 1 medium Quiche: 22.5 cm x 22.5 cm!

Ingredients:

* For the rest:

a vegan puff pastry, mine was organic & round

* For the filling:

1 cup (90ย gr) red bell pepper strips, seeds & white parts removed

3 filled cups + 1/4 cup orange chard, ( well pushed into the cups), (168 gr),well rinsed, pad dry, leaves & stems used, cut up into smaller pieces & leaves cut up into smaller pieces = 1 bunch!

1 cup + 1/2 ย cup (138 gr) of cleaned, cut up brown mushrooms

1/2 teaspoon dried Provenรงal herbs

Himalayan pink salt, in a grinder

black pepper

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

some knobs of vegan butter

2 fat garlic cloves, peeled & finely chopped

1 dried red chili pepper, stem cut off, cut up finely & use the seeds too!

1 cup + 1/2 cup (360 gr) of well-drained silken tofu ( instead of eggs!! )

Method:

1. Take an oven rack out of your oven & place a Silpat over it. Take your non-stick pastry tin & smear it all in with vegan butter. This means, the bottom, the sides all the way up & the removable bottom too. Place it on the Silpat. Preheat your oven for 10 minutes on 210ยฐC ( 410 F).

2. Place a larger pan & heat up on medium high. Add some drizzles of that fruity evoo in it & swirl it around. When hot, add chopped garlic & chili pepper. Fry for a few minutes, stirring often, lower your heat if you need to. Now, add red pepper strips & cut up stems of your chard. Add some salt & 10 grins of black pepper. Stir often & fry until nearly al dente. This is about 8 minutes. Finally, add chopped chard leaves. Stir often & add a splash of hot water to the pan & place fitted loud on. Let the chard steam until al dente. Check seasoning again & place fitted lid on. At the same time, heat non-stick pan oh high heat. Add drizzles of olive oil & few knobs of vegan butter & heat up. When hot, add chopped mushrooms & 1/2 teaspoon of dried Provenรงal hens. Stir often & fry until cooked through & browned on all sides. This will take a few minutes. Add fried mushrooms to veggie mix & stir through.

3. Your drained silken tofu, check it agin. Pour the excess of water off & place the tofu in your Vitamix. Blend it together on high-speed until a bit thicker & really creamy. Place your veggie mix into a larger bowl & pour the Vitamixed tofu onto the veggie mix. Mix carefully with a spoon. Check the seasoning again.

4. Take your vegan puff pastry out of its package & roll it out & place with your hands it into your pastry tin. The pastry is round & my tin is square. Carefully push the sides & bottom of the pastry into the tin. Now, you see now that the cornersย are not covered in pastry. Trim off the excess of pastry on top of the sides & cut away & push with your fingers the extra dough into the sides & all up the sides too, something like this:

Placing the excess of pastry where you need it!

Placing the excess of pastry where you need it!

Finally, trim the excess of pastry on top of the rims & put it away. Prick the dough many times with the help of a fork. Carefully pour veggie-tofu mix all on top & all over the pastry. Spread it all evenly out with the back of a spoon. I added 10 grins of black pepper & 5 grins of grinned Himalayan pink salt over the surface top of the tofu mix. It will look something like this:

_1320526watermark

Place into the hot oven & bake for about 31 minutes. After 25 minutes, check it out. My puff pastry needed normally 35 minutes of baking in a 210ยฐC oven. Check with your pastry instructions first! ๐Ÿ˜‰ With oven gloves on, carefully remove the wire rack out of the oven & place on your kitchen counter. Let the Quiche rest into the tin for 5 minutes. When cold enough to handle, carefully remove the upper tin with your hands.ย Then, remove the removable bottom.ย Use a palet knife! Do not use a knife!!ย Place it on a wire rack. When you are ready to eat the Quiche, place on a chopping board & cut into 4 pieces. Serve at once! because this Quiche was very delicious & even fantastic, we savored 2 pieces each. And it is not a very big Quiche either! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Enjoy! xxx

You can find this tasty quiche recipe also here on instructables!ย http://www.instructables.com/id/Do-you-want-a-slice-of-Vegan-Spiced-tofu-quiche/

 

โ™ฅย Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

56 responses to “Do you want a slice of Vegan spiced tofu quiche?

  1. You always come up with the most interesting dishes Sophie ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jefboven says:

    This piece looks wonderful, I’m sure it must taste wonderful as well!

  3. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    Very interesting and the guiche looks amazing! I just want to taste a slice of that dish. Yummi…
    Mamalou

  4. Tammy says:

    I do want a piece! This looks terrific Sophie and my kids (always worried about their protein) would eat it too!

  5. Sally says:

    Yes please is the answer. What a fabulous recipe… another to add to my tofu collection. Determined to get veggie teen to like it. Happy 2015 Sophie

  6. Barbara says:

    Hi Sophie! Happy 2015 to you!
    Love your quiche idea, never would have thought to use tofu in one!

  7. I have a running vegan dinner party every month and a lot of chard from my garden in the freezer. Thanks for a great idea! I know what to make now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Ina Gawne says:

    Love your quiche Sophie…great idea to use silken tofu!

  9. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    What a great vegan quiche! I wish I could have a piece too. Thanks for sharing, Sophie.

  10. Great work honey!!

  11. Liz says:

    address please? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Always love a new tofu recipe!

  12. Wow sophie… Amazing dish

  13. My second comment bit oh my gosh

  14. shenANNAgans says:

    Gahh… I commented and it disappeared. Sigh!
    The first comment said something like, well now, you sure do come up with some interesting recipes, not sure this is something I would enjoy, but my bestie is a tofu nut, I shall make for her and see what she thinks. Happy rest of week to you my friend. xo

  15. Katarina says:

    It looks so tasty!

  16. Sarah says:

    I made your divine tasty quiche today & served it as a nice healthy lunch with e Seasonal side salad & simple dressing! The quiche was the star! xxx So delicious too, dear Sophie! xx

  17. I’ll take a slice of anything with a crust ;-)!

  18. What a creative idea!!! It turned out beautifully!

  19. Hi Sophie. Just hopped over to check out your blog and immediately spotted something I love ๐Ÿ™‚ — this looks so yummy! Will definitely go to my dinner roster when chard’s in season. Pinning!

  20. A tofu quiche, what a great idea!

  21. Diana says:

    Yum! This looks delicious! Will give it a try for sure!

  22. Sean & Linda says:

    We made your delicious tasty quiche & loved it so much too!
    It came out perfectly too! xxx

  23. Sunny says:

    The answer would be yes! That looks amazing, Sophie!! xxx

  24. Koko says:

    Wow, this would make an amazing brunch dish for guests!! I am going to bookmark this recipe… It sounds awesome!

  25. Johan says:

    I made your lovely vegan quiche yesterday afternoon!
    My husband & I loved it! It was fantastic even! xxx

Comments are closed.
