Posted in Uncategorized

Vegetarian Beetroot risotto with 2 cheeses! :)

dscn0245watermark

Every winter, I make this delicious easy to make vegetarian beetroot risotto with 2 cheeses! Which one’s? Read on,…:)

When you add the 2 cheeses to the risotto, after cooking, the risotto will turn pink red bubblegum color,..cool,..hey?

Recipe: For 4 persons

Ingredients:

400 gr small to medium-sized fresh beets, cooked for 35-40 minutes, or until tender. With plastic gloves on, peeled & cut up into bite-seized smaller chunks

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely minced

3 tablespoons of a fruity evoo

1 large white onion, peeled & finely minced

1 liter hot vegetarian gluten-free stock

300 gr uncooked risotto rice/ I used Arborio

100 ml white wine or a bit more/ I used Wine Chateau Genoels – Elderen, Chardonnay white 2006 ( that is a top Belgian wine!!!)

50 gr freshly grated Parmesan cheese

150 gr fresh sheep’s ricotta cheese

black pepper

Method:

1. Take a larger cooking pot & heat up on medium-high. When hot, pour 3 tablespoons of that fruity evoo in it & swirl it all around the pot.

2. Add chopped onion & garlic & fry for about 4-5 minutes. Now, add the rice & stir it all around the base of the pot for about 3 minutes or so. Add beet chunks & stir continuously! Add wine & stir non-stop. Gradually, add the hot stock  & only pour in more stock until the rice has absorbed the stock & do this process again & again until al the hot stock has been used up. This will take about 15 to 25 minutes. Check the rice. It must still have a bite to it but must be cooked through, al dente. Take it off the heat. Your risotto still must be a bit liquid & moist too! Off the fire, add your 2 cheeses & stir it well through the risotto. This will bind the risotto more,…Check the seasoning again. Maybe you must add some grins of finely milled black pepper.

3. Serve at once with a loved one & drink the same wine like the one you have used in your risotto! 🙂 MMM,…& cheers!

Stay tuned, Subscribe through the photo link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! Click onto this link below!

  http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

42 thoughts on “Vegetarian Beetroot risotto with 2 cheeses! :)

  1. This looks great, dear Sophie! I’ve been thinking and thinking about what to serve when our vegetarians friends are coming, this might be exactly what I’ve been looking for. I’ve no experience with risotto rice, I suppose there are lots of different types?
    Wishing you a happy week in front of you,
    Dina Xx

    1. Yes, I prefer the arborio rice. It is the best one.
      What is the best rice for risotto?

      Answer: The most crucial properties of a good risotto rice are high starch content and the ability to absorb liquid. Arborio rice has long been a traditional favorite and probably the best known rice for risotto-making.

      1. Thank you so much for helping out, Sophie – I have put it on my list! 🙂
        Big *hug*
        and lots of fayriedust from Siri & Selma as well 🙂 🙂

  2. What an amazing colour! By coincidence I just posted a recipe for beet root amuse shots. I am totally inspired to do do a colour themed dinner 🙂

  3. Belgian Chardonnay, wow!! That must be an amazing addition to this colorful dish!
    I love beetroot and will definitely make this one time when my son isn’t home, he hates beetroot ;-(
    Are you feeling better yet, Sophie?

    XX Linda

  4. I,made your delicious bubblegum coloured risotto just now, we finished our diner & it was lovely! My hubby, my kids & I all loved it so much! Easy to make too! 😊😊

  5. A beautiful dish that I’m sure is delicious. I see in the comments that you still aren’t well. I hope you feel much better soon.

  6. I made it too! It was just FABULOUS! xxx Rich in flavors but ooh so delicious!

  7. I made it & my wife & I both loved this creamy yet filling tasty beet risotto! xxx

Comments are closed.