Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Gluten-free Vegan Buckwheat Oat Apple Muffins! A tasty breakfast!

on 09/08/2014

Yesterday, I bought gluten-free buckwheat flour & gluten-free brown rice flour. I wanted to make tasty muffins with them so I made these beauties!

A thing of beauty! :) Gluten-free & Vegan!

A thing of beauty! 🙂
Gluten-free & Vegan!

This morning, I made these delicious easy to make gluten-free vegan buckwheat oat brown rice apple muffins! One muffin really fills you up with deliciousness & goodness for your body! They aren’t that sweet either. I also made them vegan! 😉 Yeah! 🙂  They are great as a lovely breakfast on the go, or when you sit down with a good vegan café latte. I enjoy them with some vegan butter! 🙂 These also make an excellent food gift, just see for yourself! 🙂

An excellent Food Gift! :)

An excellent Food Gift! 🙂

Recipe: For 15 larger flower-shaped muffins

Ingredients:

* The dry ingredients:

2 cup of buckwheat flour

1 cup of brown rice flour

1 cup of gluten-free rolled oats

1 large juicy apple, peeled, cored & cut up into smaller chunks

1 tablespoon + 1/2 tablespoon gluten-free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon finely grinned Maldon sea salt, in a pestle & mortar

2/3 cup  coconut sugar

3 tablespoons grinned flaxseed/ I ground broken flaxseed in my dry container of my Vitamix on full-speed until it resembles a flour. Measure 3 tablespoons.

* The wet ingredients:

2/3 cup water

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup + 1/2 cup unsweetened soy milk

Method:

1. Preheat your fan oven to 200°C ( 400 F ) for about 10 minutes. If you don’t use a fan oven, change it.

2. Take a larger bowl & place a sieve over it. Sieve your 2 flours. Remove sieve. Add baking powder, sugar, sea salt, GF oats & coconut sugar. With a spoon mix it gently, to keep the air in. Finally, add the chopped apple pieces through it.

3. In a smaller bowl, add 3 tablespoons flaxseed powder. Add water. Whisk away & let it sit on your kitchen counter for about 5-10 minutes or until it forms kind of a gel. The mass will become thicker. This is instead of eggs, works as a binder.  Now, add canola oil & unsweetened soy milk & whisk until fully joined. Now, add wet ingredients to the bowl with dry ingredients & mix it just gently through, just until it is all gently mixed in because you don’t want the air to be gone! 😉 I use silicon flower mats so I don’t have to grease them. With the help of a larger spoon, spoon your muffin mix for 3/4 into the flower muffin mat. I have larger flower muffin shapes then the normal muffins so you will end up with huger flower-shaped muffins! 

I could fill 15 flower-shaped muffins. I place them on a Silpat on an oven rack for stability. Place them in the lower side of your oven & bake for about 20 minutes until a test pin comes out clean. Leave the muffins in their silicon casings for about 10 minutes. This way, your muffins will get a lovely shine on them & they are easily to remove. After these 10 minutes, carefully flip them over & out of the mats & place on a cooling rack to cool down or savor them still a bit warm with some vegan butter & a vegan café latte! They are very delicious! 🙂 MMM,…

Excellent with vegan butter! :)

Excellent with vegan butter! 🙂

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe through the photo link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! Click onto this link below!

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

You can find this tasty recipe also here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Vegan-Gluten-Free-Buckwheat-Apple-Oat-Rice-muffins/

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:
1. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins!

2. Sophie’s Gluten-free moist courgettes( zucchini) muffins!

53 responses to “Gluten-free Vegan Buckwheat Oat Apple Muffins! A tasty breakfast!

  1. They look wholesome, Sophie.

  2. Dina says:

    Wow, now you have given us a great idea for our apples. Sophie! 🙂
    We love it! 😀
    Have a happy weekend,
    Dina, Klausbernd and the girls

  3. Awesome guilt free treat for the week end dear Sophie. …yum yum…

  4. Lovely!!! What a great start to the day xx

  5. Tammy says:

    So pretty and I’m hungry!

  6. acbistro says:

    healthy start of the day !!!

  7. Not only do they look beautiful, I love what is inside too. Mmmm! 😛

  8. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    I think they are delicious and very yumi, yumi!
    Mamalou

  9. shenANNAgans says:

    Any leftovers? The look delicious Sophie. 🙂 Got a few apples that are begging to be used in this recipe. Happy weekend.

  10. sure i want this for my morning supper!!!!

  11. shaheen says:

    So so lovely to hear from you Sophie and so glad you liked the Raw Raspberry Mousse Tarts, will you be sharing it on your blog I would love to see how yours turned out compared to mine.

  12. Fig & Quince says:

    you make glutten free look gooood

  13. yummy looking muffins!

  14. I’ve seen these all over Facebook, so I HAD to visit and get the details!

  15. Karen says:

    A healthy way to start the day. 🙂

  16. Flower muffin mat??!! Adorable!! I’ve never seen anything like that. And I love the combo of apples and oats– sweet and healthy together. Thanks for another good recipe Sophie…

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, Rhonda & it isn’t that sweet either with the coconut sugar in here!

      They are so good for breakfast! x

  17. milkandbun says:

    They are so beautiful! Thou I’ve never seen brown rice flour..

  18. Koko says:

    I need to make these!! I love the combination of buckwheat and brown rice flours used here… I think they produce the best gluten free baking results! These look so yummy Sophie… I’m just juicing today so I’m extra hungry for these!!

  19. rika@vm says:

    Mmmm beautiful looking muffins! I would totally make this version with savory ingredients – leeks, onions, ‘cheeze’ and bacon bits. Mmmm!

  20. Liz says:

    Those are awesome, Sophie. Tasty for sure, but I also love your baking pans. You have the funnest pans, glasses, straws, placemats, etc.

  21. afracooking says:

    This is a recipe after my own heart! Full of nutrition and ever so tasty. I really need to get my hands on some coconut sugar and start experimenting with it!

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes & these muffins really fill you up & are not so sweet either! 🙂 xxx
      I buy mine in my local organic bio-planet shop!

  22. Francesca says:

    They are beautiful for sure! If I could I would eat a muffin every day. Maybe I could since these are gluten free …

  23. hotlyspiced says:

    Your flower muffins are so pretty. What a great muffin-pan. I must look out for one. I haven’t tried vegan butter – must give that a go. And yes, these would make a wonderful breakfast xx

  24. Nazima says:

    great idea – an nice idea using flaxseed. a very healthy breakfast!

Comments are closed.
