Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Gluten-free, sugar-free banana almond butter cake with dark chocolate chips!

on 28/07/2014
Do you want a big bite?

Do you want a big bite?

This is the best gluten-free and sugar-free cake I have ever made. I didn’t use any flour. I also used coconut blossom sugar. It is a more rich, a bit moist and delicious cake with now and then hints of melted dark chocolate chips. Just check it out for yourself! To make it more special, festive and beautiful, I made it in a flower silicon mould.When the cake was ready, I said: Mama, made it,…hearing and singing the song of Jay-Z!! He rocks, you know!

Recently, I made my flower shaped cake again to bring to a party, a dessert party! Everyone loved it & instantly asked for the recipe! 😉 Yes, it is that delicious! 🙂 MMM!

The cake was all devoured after 2 days!

Beautiful, hey?

Beautiful, hey?

Recipe: For 1 flower cake

Ingredients:

2 large and ripe bananas, peeled and completely mashed with a fork

2 organic free range eggs, beaten loose

1/2 cup of coconut blossom sugar

1 cup salted whole almond butter, the oils well mixed with the almond butter

1/2 teaspoon of gluten-free vanilla extract, I use home-made

1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of baking soda

2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup of dark chocolate chips,  at least 72% cacao. I used Callebaut, because he is Belgian!

Method:

 1. Preheat your oven for 10 minutes on 180°C ( 350 F ). I use a fan oven. Adjust the oven temperature if necessary.
2. Take your Kenwood bowl and place the K-paddle. Add the mashed bananas, beaten eggs, coconut sugar, almond butter, cinnamon and vanilla. Mix on medium speed for a few minutes until it all comes together. Scrape the sides of your bowl with a plastic scraper. Remix for a minute or until all well mixed.
3. Now, add baking soda, apple cider vinegar and dark chocolate chips. Mix on medium speed for a minute or so or until it all comes together. Again, scrape the sides of the bowl with a plastic scraper. Mix until it all is beautifully combined.
4. Place your silicon flower baking tin on a silpat and then on an oven rack for stability. Fill the silicon flower for 3/4 with the batter and try to divide the chocolate chips all over the cake batter. So, that later on you will have chocolate chips all divide over the cake. Place in the bottom of your oven and bake for about 35 to 40 minutes on 180°C ( 350 F ).  You will have to watch the cake because the edges can go darker, if necessary lower the temperature but I didn’t have to! I tested my cake after 35 minutes with a test pin. You will have to test the pin right in the middle of your cake. If the pin comes out clean, your cake is ready. I put my cake back into the oven for 5 minutes extra and did the pin test again. After 40 minutes of baking, my cake was well risen, ready and golden brown.
5. Carefully with hand gloves on, remove the oven rack with the cake from the oven. Leave to rest in the silicon tin for about 15 minutes so that it is easier to remove afterwords. This will also give a lovely shine to the flower cake. After 15 minutes, carefully turn the cake over with the help of your 2 hands, out of the flower tin. Now, you will see the lovely flower pattern. Place on a wire rack to cool down completely. When cold, savour with a good cup of green tea with ginger or a great cup of black coffee.
 
 6. When completely cold, store in an aluminium foil lined round cake tin. You will see, this cake will not last long,…!!!!!
 
You can find this recipe, also here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Gluten-Free-Sugar-Free-almond-butter-banana-cake-w/
 
 

Stay tuned, Subscribe through the photo link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! Click onto this link below!

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂
Sophies Foodie Files
75 responses to “Gluten-free, sugar-free banana almond butter cake with dark chocolate chips!

  1. I love how dark this chocolate cake looks! Absolutely beautiful!

    • Sophie33 says:

      It is not a chocolate cake! It is a banana almond butter cake with dark chocolate chips! It is darker because of the coconut sugar in here & because elf the whole almond butter! 🙂

  2. Koko says:

    This truly sounds like the best cake ever! Haha I love it- mama made it! Woohoo! It must be so rich with all the almond butter and coconut sugar, and it’s amazing that there is no flour used. I am pinning this as a ‘must-make’!! xx

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, sweet Koko! 🙂 I already made it a few years ago, but had to remake it for the desert party! It is my best creation ever! 🙂 xx

  3. Rörschåch says:

    That looks absolutely decadent, Sophie. Love the pan you used. Well done, you.

  4. Love the recipe Sophie and it looks so pretty xx

  5. Norma Chang says:

    Beautiful cake and I too love the mold. Coconut blossom sugar is new to me, shall Google to learn more.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Here is the explanation, dear Norma! 🙂

      oconut sugar (also known as coco sugar, coconut palm sugar or coco sap sugar) is a sugar produced from the sap of cut flower buds of the coconut palm. Coconut sugar has been used as a traditional sweetener for thousands of years in the South and South-East Asian regions where the coconut palm is in abundant supply. The world’s largest producers of coconuts are the Philippines and Indonesia.

      In some areas, predominantly in Thailand, the terms “coconut sugar” and “palm sugar” are often used interchangeably. However, coconut sugar is different both in taste, texture and manufacture methods from palm sugar, which is made from the sap in the stems of the Palmyra palm, the date palm, the sugar date palm, the sago palm or the sugar palm.

      Coconut sugar comes in crystal or granule form, block or liquid. It is essentially a two-step process. It starts with harvesting or “tapping” the blossoms of a coconut tree. Farmers make a cut on the spadix and the sap starts to flow from the cut. The sap is then collected in bamboo containers. The sap collected is then transferred into large woks and placed over moderate heat to evaporate the moisture content of the sap. The sap is translucent and is about 80% water. As the water evaporates, it starts to transform into a thick syrup-like substance known as a “toddy”. From this form, it is further reduced to crystal, block or soft paste form, or it remains in this form. Essentially, coconut sugar’s form depends on the moisture content of the toddy.[1]

      Taste and flavor[edit]
      Coconut sugar is subtly sweet almost like brown sugar but with a slight hint of caramel. However, since organic coconut sugar is not highly processed, the color, sweetness and flavor can vary depending on different factors. Coconut sugar’s color, sweetness and flavor can vary slightly from packaging to packaging depending on the coconut species used, season when it was harvested, where it was harvested and / or the way the “sap” or “toddy” was reduced.[2]

  6. Katarina says:

    Wow, this sounds so good. Almond butter, coconut sugar, chocolate…YUM!

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, yes, Katarina! It is indeed that delicious!

      I already posted it on my blog a few years ago! 🙂 xxx

  7. Karen says:

    I can see why your pretty cake would have been popular at the dessert party…it looks and sounds great.

  8. Malar says:

    Absolutely delicious Sophie….

  9. Wow Sophie cake looks so delicious:-)

  10. priya says:

    It looks so beautiful Sophie……..and thank you very for sharing explanation of coconut sugar……it was a new term for me ……..

  11. radhikasethi says:

    Quite a stunner! Love it 🙂

  12. Woah chocolaty. …..gluten free, sugar free hmmm just loving it….can delish this with a cup of coffee. ..love the mould. …amazing Sophie. ..you rock….

  13. hotlyspiced says:

    I love your flower cake! That mould you have is gorgeous. I must buy one of those. I haven’t heard of that kind of sugar – I’ll look out for it xx

    • Sophie33 says:

      I nearly use this coconut sugar all the time since the last 3 years! It is healthy, has a lower Gi index then honey & is a bit more caramel like in flavour. The only downside is that it is still very pricey. 1 pot of 600 Gr. Is 9€!!!!

  14. Oh hello beautiful, come to me! This looks sinfully delicious!

    • Sophie33 says:

      No, no, Pamela.it is healthy! You only need a smaller privé but I assure you, you want more,….😀😀

  15. Yes I would love a big bite, looks delicious!

  16. Carolyn Jung says:

    That is one decadent looking cake. Plus, I love the flower shape. Who wouldn’t smile when seeing that come to the table!

  17. What a beautiful mould, the cake looks even tastier coming out from it 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  18. Thank you for sharing this recipe Sophie. I will pass it on to my sister 🙂

  19. surprisebjg says:

    Smells & looks delicious and mouthwatering!

  20. Soo very perfectly Baked!!!Looks wonderful!!

  21. wow, banana and dark cocoa chips is most be hips and special…..
    looks beautifull too thx to the mould, i want the mold now!!! hehehe
    ps: i think a lot more serial photograph made the post even more seductive to the reader Sophie

  22. Finn says:

    Today, I made your delicious gluten-free cake, dear Sophie!!!’
    It is really delicious & very filling too! Yummmm! I think I am going to eat a piece for breakfast tomorrow morning,….yummmmmm. My wife & kids say : Thank you, dear Sophie! 😉

  23. Johan says:

    I made it also today & I am enjoying a big piece of it, right now, with my café latte,…so fabulous even!!!!! Xxxx

  24. That looks like the best sort of banana cake- Dark, moist, and utterly decadent! None of this banana bread nonsense, it’s an unapologetic (yet still remarkably healthy) dessert!

  25. Oh wow.. this is making my mouth just water looking at it… I must have it now!

  26. apsara says:

    No grain at all? What an awesome cake, Sophie, looks gorgeous! Congrats on the views from FB. You’re officially famous. 🙂

  27. OnaPona says:

    dit klinkt overheerlijk !!! weer iets voor op mijn to-do lijstje

  28. Bernice says:

    This sounds awesome and I love the flower cake – so pretty!!

  29. Liz says:

    yum yum yum!

  30. Great combination of flavors Sophie!! and I love, love than cake pan!

  31. Sean says:

    I have made it 2 times now & my mom, dad & 2 sisters loved it so much!!. I also made it for my grand-parents.,success guarantueed! Thanks again! 😀😀😀😀

Comments are closed.
