Posted in Gardening, Recipes

Just beet it! :)

A vegan Gluten-free top side dish!
A Vegan Gluten-free top side dish!

Yesterday evening, I made this glorious rosemary scented oven roasted beet side dish! I used fresh rosemary from my garden! This was just the perfect side dish,…my husband told me, I obviously agreed! 😉

Just so beautiful on the inside!
Just so beautiful on the inside!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

2 bunches of fresh red beets, peeled & cut up into 4

1 big large white onion, peeled & cut up into wedges

4 cloves of Unpeeled garlic

3 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

10 grins of finely milled black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

2 fresh sprigs of fresh rosemary, each about 10 cm long, cleaned, pad dry on kitchen paper, you don’t need the stalks! The rosemary leaves all cut up finely!

To serve: Cooked quinoa, where I added some herbed sea salt & few grins of black pepper to the cooking water + fried vegan Gluten-free sausages

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180°C ( 350 F ) for 10 minutes.

2. Take a large non-stick roasting tin & spread all ingredients in 1 layer in it, equally divided. Tuck your unpeeled garlic cloves & onion wedges between the beet chunks! Scatter your cut up fresh rosemary, sea salt & black pepper all over it & drizzle with your olive oil. With clean hands, mingle everything together & place into the oven for about 20 minutes. After this time, turn veggies over for an equal roast. Turn oven up to 225°C ( 425 F ) & let it further roast for about 15 minutes or until beets are cooked through! Lower the heat, if you need to, for not burning the onions! 😉 Turn oven off. Leave it for at least 5 minutes & serve with your cooked quinoa & fried vegan gluten-free sausages! 🙂 MMM!

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me now on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

BewarenBewaren

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

61 thoughts on “Just beet it! :)

  1. Ah, roasted beets, they are so good now they come fresh from the land. Totally different from winter beets. It’s so nice to add a little from your own garden!
    I am off to my vegetable plot right now to get me some herbs and Romaine lettuce 🙂

  2. oh wow! this looks yummy! I absolutely adore beetroot but unfortunately I almost never cook it because my family hates it (honestly, I don’t know why :p ) I’m so jealous right now!

  3. I love beets and don’t they bring wonderful colour to the table. What a great dish and I love how the beets are paired with caramelised-looking onions xx

  4. you’re so creative, Sophie. Fresh rosemary from the garden? I would love that. Great combination with beets!

  5. Rosemary is my favourite herb! Especially fresh. Lucky you, to be able to pick it from your garden! I love beets, and those roasted onions really kick it up. Such a good looking side dish! And thanks for giving my rice krispies a try Sophie!! I’m so glad you liked them 🙂

  6. I made your lovely delicious side dish this midday & it was superb, my friend! 😊
    My wife agreed with me! 😀

  7. Yum Yum Yum Yum yummmm! Your roasted beet dish looks freaking delicious! 😊

  8. Whenever people tell me they hate beets, it’s inevitable that they’ve only had the crinkle-cut canned ones. If only they would try roasting fresh ones like this. It would totally change their minds.

  9. Mmm, sound so simple and good! I always make sure I have roasted beets to drop into my salads, but I usually just cook them up plain. The seasonings you’ve included here would be such a delightful way to shake up my standard beet routine. 🙂

  10. I envy your herb garden. I am terrible at growing herbs… I’ve killed more than I want to admit! However, I am a wonderful supporter of my local market garden and I pick up all of my necessary herbs from there. Some of them will definitely be going towards this lovely beet dish Sophie! xx

    1. yeahh! A good local market is important to me too!

      I buy there what I can’t grow in my garden! 🙂 Enjoy it, dear Laura! xx

  11. Whenever I do not have time to blog for a while and then get back after a bit, you have the most amazing recipes waiting. These beets look so inviting!!! Beautiful!

  12. I made this tasty oven dish & it was superb, really fabulous even! My house smelled amazing & just wonderful!

Comments are closed.