Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Avocado pesto pasta with smoked salmon!

on 17/04/2014

 

A lovely tasty dinner!

A lovely tasty dinner!

Yesterday evening, I made this easy to make, fresh, delicious avocado pesto pasta with smoked salmon! This avocado pesto is very refreshing & light, really Spring-like, my husband told me! 🙂

The avocado pesto itself is Vegan & Gluten-free! I know that you all will love this too!

To make it completely Gluten-Free , use GF pasta.

To make this meal completely Vegan, leave out the smoked salmon, use tofu or seitan! 🙂

A fresh avocado pesto with spelt farfalle & smoked salmon!

A fresh avocado pesto with spelt farfalle & smoked salmon!

Recipe: For 3 persons

Ingredients:

1 ripe avocado, avocado cut into 2, big stone removed with a  knife, avocado flesh scooped out with a large spoon

3 fat cloves of garlic, roughly cut up

1 cup of fresh cleaned basil leaves, pushed into the cup

4 tablespoons of a fruity evoo

zest of 1/2 organic unwaxed lemon

juice of the same 1/2 lemon

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

20 grins of finely milled black pepper

330 gr of white spelt farfalle

150 gr of good smoked salmon, thinly sliced

1/4 cup of toasted pine nuts / How to toast your pine nuts? Take a fitting non-stick pan & heat up on low. Place your pine nuts in here, in 1 layer in it. After a few minutes, the nuts begin to get brownish in colour & will get fragrant. Turn the heat onto lower but don’t let the nuts burn,…Turn them over & they must be brownish on both sides! Turn the heat off. Now, you have toasted pine nuts!

Method:

1. Cook your spelt farfalle according to your packet instructions. Drain well. Keep warm. In the meantime, make your avocado pesto! Take a food processor & add cut up garlic, basil leaves, olive oil, avocado flesh, zest & juice of 1/2 lemon, sea salt & black pepper. Pulse or mix on speed 1 again & again or until fully joined, like this picture:

The lovely avocado pesto!

The lovely avocado pesto!

Taste! You must taste the basil, lemon, garlic & in the end the avocado. It must taste awesome! 🙂

2. Cut your smoked salmon pieces into smaller pieces, like picture above, about 50 gr per person, per plate.

3. Plate up! Divide the spelt farfalle over 3 pasta plates. Add to each pasta plate, a dollop of 2-3 on top of the pasta. Arrange your smoked salmon pieces besides the pasta dish, like picture above & place a cooked spelt farfalle in the middle, on top of the avocado pesto! Enjoy instantly with loves one’s! 🙂 Avocado power, yeah! xxx

 

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s Seasonal salad, with a Vegan & GF coriander-avocado dressing!

2. Sort of guacamole open smoked salmon sandwich with home-grown garden cress!

61 responses to “Avocado pesto pasta with smoked salmon!

  1. Belinda says:

    MMM,..What a lovely divine looking pasta dish! That avocado pesto looks freaking delicious too! Yulmmm! I can’t wait to try it out too! x

  2. Sean says:

    This avocado pesto pasta looks tremendously divine, dear Sophie!
    Yum yum Yumlmmm! 🙂

  3. Johan says:

    What a cool looking avocado pesto! How do you come up with this tasty inspiration? I bet this works its magic on that yummy spelt farfalle! xxx

  4. I can’t believe I haven’t thought of putting avocado in pesto before! 😀 It sounds absolutely divine! I love the combination with the smoked salmon. This recipe is definitely on my to-cook list 😉

  5. Avocado pesto is a new idea to me, sounds good 🙂

  6. Liz says:

    always fun to find new uses for avocado–looks great, Sophie!

  7. Brilliant Sophie! The avocado combined with the basil would have been amazing!

  8. Never heard of avocado pesto before Sophie but when I think of it, it sounds delicious!! Great recipe!

  9. mmm I am a big fan of pesto and pasta 😀
    I bet this salmon is an awesome idea!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. londarmonica says:

    I like the use of avocado with pasta.

  11. mmmarzipan says:

    I love how customisable this is and the suggestions you make! Lovely!

  12. I always love trying new pesto recipes so can’t wait to give this a shot!

  13. mmm..love that pesto! An awesome meal, Sophie.

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    The avocado pesto looks vibrantly green and beautifully creamy. What a lovely pasta dish with lots of lovely flavours xx

  15. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – I love your avocado pesto – delicious!

  16. whatuful says:

    awesome! I DO love salmon!!! 😀

  17. YUM!! really great combination.

  18. lefoodsnob says:

    Avocado + pesto = amazing! I need to try this! I have a friend who smokes her own salmon. I’m positive I could get her to try this recipe with me. Thanks for sharing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Having a dear friend who smoked her own salmon is a plus, lucky you! I know that the two of you will love this too! x

  19. Georgina says:

    What a great idea! I love avocado, and this looks like a great way to make pesto. Delicious!

  20. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Sophie, I love the idea of adding avocado to the pesto! I like to toss a few cubes on top, but mixing it in sounds creamy and fabulous!

  21. surprisebjg says:

    Amazing mouth watering!!

  22. Koko says:

    Oh, you’ve done it! This meal combines three of my FAVOURITE things… pesto, avocado, and smoked salmon. It looks mouth-watering…just delicious.

  23. purabinaha says:

    Lovely…avocado and salmon are really a match made in heaven! I loved the look of your pesto pasta…right down my alley!
    Purabi Naha | Cosmopolitan Currymania

  24. afracooking says:

    Yum, what a lovely creamy sauce. Looks great darling!

  25. Norma Chang says:

    Very clever indeed. Beautiful color and creamy texture, love it.

  26. Juliana says:

    Beautiful pasta Sophie, I love the avocado pesto and yes to smoked salmon….yum!
    Have a great week 😀

  27. Love avocados. My Larry grew up with a avocado orchard at the back of his hers– so they’re a favorite. This looks delish Sophie!

  28. I have some avocados that need to be used up before we go overseas and this sounds like a great idea!

  29. keshafay says:

    wow, that looks delish!

  30. Carolyn Jung says:

    I love smoked salmon together with avocado on sandwiches, so I can only imagine how great it all would be on pasta. Delicious!

Comments are closed.
