Posted in Uncategorized

Spiced Swiss chard! A lovely Vegan Gluten-free side dish!

A few days ago, I found some beautiful rainbow Swiss chard & some dark yellow Swiss chard in my organic store. The 2 bunches looked really good & fresh, so I had to take them home. I wanted to make something new with my multicoloured chard. This tasty side dish is vegan & gluten-free!!!

Spiced up multicoloured swiss chard!
Spiced up multicoloured swiss chard!

I served my side dish with organic chicken gyros & cooked red quinoa. This was a rather light dinner with tons of flavour!

A very nutritious tasty dinner!
A very nutritious tasty dinner!

Read on,…

I invented a lovely semi-sweet-spiced mix base & sautéed that in my pot & then added the stems of the yellow chard & the rainbow chard. In the end, I added the leaves of each sort of chard. It looks good, hey? 🙂

The base of this semi-spiced chard mix!
The base of this sweet-spiced chard mix!

Recipe: For 2 persons, with seconds

Ingredients:

* For the sweet-spice mix base:

1/2 red bell pepper ( paprika), deseeded & white parts removed, cut up in larger pieces

2 smaller red onions, peeled & cut up roughly

15 grins of black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt

3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & cut up roughly

1 long fat red chili pepper, seeds kept, cut up into pieces

1/2 orange bell pepper ( paprika ),  deseeded & white parts removed, cut up in larger pieces

* For the rest:

a fruity evoo

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

1 bunch of yellow Swiss chard, stems + leaves kept, well-washed & spun dry: yellow leaves, cut up + yellow stems, cut up into smaller pieces

3/4 bunch of rainbow Swiss chard, stems +  leaves kept, well-washed & spun dry: purple-pink  leaves, cut up + pink stems, cut up into smaller pieces

Left: the stems, cut up & right: the leaves all cut up!
Left: the stems, cut up & right: the leaves all cut up!

* To serve: I served it with cooked red quinoa that I seasoned with a spiced sea salt, into the cooking water. I served also fried marinated organic chicken gyros with it. It really all goes well together,…all the flavours mingle beautifully! 🙂

Method:

1. First, make the sweet-spiced base mix, aka paste. Tak your food processor & place the S-blade in. Add 1/2 red bell pepper, 3 cloves of garlic, 1 chili pepper, 2 cut up red onions & 1/2 orange bell pepper in it. Pulse or mix until it all comes together & forms more of a paste with little bits of everything in it. See picture above! Taste! I added 1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt & 15 grins of black pepper to it. Pulse & taste again. The paste must taste a bit sweet & than spiced with the chili pepper. 😉 That is what you want. Take away the S-blade.

2. Take a larger cooking pot, like a Creuset & pour 1 to 2 tablespoons of a fruity evoo in it & heat up. When hot, add spice paste & fry until fragrant & cooked through. Stir often. this will take only a few minutes. Lower the heat if you need to. Now, add the cut up Swiss chard stems, stir often & fry for about 5 minutes until nearly cooked through. I put the lid on. When the stems are nearly ready, add the cut up chard leaves & add a splash of hot water to the poy-t & place the lid on. Let the leaves steam until ready. Check the seasoning again & add some sea salt & black pepper if you need to. This is sort of a mini stew,.. if there is too much water in the pot, let it evaporate & serve instantly, with your other 2 sides or with whatever you want!!

Enjoy, my lovely one’s! 🙂 MMM!

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

 

Follow me on Facebook too! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Curried red lentils, Swiss chard & chickpea soup!

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

78 thoughts on “Spiced Swiss chard! A lovely Vegan Gluten-free side dish!

  1. Waw, Sophie, another great tasty looking dinner!
    I love the 3-some combo too! Yummmm!

  2. I love the beautiful colors of this dish! I am forever trying to come up with ways to use my stems and often I will just not even de-stem the chard because I get lazy. But I love their texture and color. I will have to try this dish because I like dishes that are sweet and spicy at the same time.

  3. I just love the rainbow of colours in this dish thanks to the beautiful swiss chard. This makes a great side dish. We have been eating lots of swiss chard here in new zealand, but they call it silverbeet. I think it is the same thing!

    1. I donb’t know if silverbeet is the same thing exactly! 🙂 I will google it though! I love it that you like it! x

  4. I grow swiss chard every fall in my garden. I use it mostly in winter stews. Your meal is delightful and very healthy meal too.

  5. making me hungry, Sophie. You have this gift for making good-for-you food look positively seductive!

  6. I love Swiss chard and this is an inventive way to serve it. It must have lots of flavour. You have a gift for being able to turn whatever it is you have in your fridge or pantry into a beautiful meal xx

  7. I love the way the colour of the stems are melding. Swiss chard is one of my favourites. You had a lovely meal!

  8. I love Swiss chard. In fact, as much as I know kale is the “It” veg these days, I hope people don’t forget about the wonders of chard. Especially the rainbow ones, which are so beautiful to cook with.

      1. I’ll have to go to London to get some! … which is not a bad idea! 🙂

  9. We looooove Swiss chard. 🙂 What a great recipe – and lovely images as well!
    have great weekend, Sophie!
    Love, Dina

  10. Sophie! How I have missed your work since I have been absent! Lovely post to return to… and another fab recipe! Thank you xx

  11. Yum, this looks gorgeous Soph! I love swiss chard, I think it’s a very underrated vegetable… it’s so beautiful to look at, too! The chicken dish sounds like a perfect accompaniment (with that gorgeous quinoa to soak it all up). Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. Yummo! xx

  12. Your Swiss chard sounds and looks delicious with this spicy paste…indeed makes a great side dish. Thanks for the recipe Sophie…have a great week 😀

  13. I love rainbow swiss chard. I like to grow it in my flower garden because its leaves are so beautiful.

  14. Wow that’s a lovely side dish! I love Swiss chards, they are very beautiful vegetable! I would love to try the sweet-spice mix base using seasonal vegetables! x

Comments are closed.