Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Vegan, Gluten-Free curried sweet potato, pointed cabbage mash with falafel!

on 16/03/2014
A divine vegan & Gluten-Free dinner!

A divine vegan & Gluten-Free dinner!

This evening, I made this tasty vegan dinner.

Yum Yum Yummm!

Yum Yum Yummm!

There is also pointed cabbage in here! What is that, I hear you say,…???

A lovely pointed cabbage!

A lovely pointed cabbage!

Pointed, hearted or sweetheart cabbage as it is sometimes known, is a type of green cabbage with green leaves and a pointed head. The leaves are more open than those of a green cabbage and they have a softer texture and sweeter taste. When buying pointed cabbage look for crisp, bright looking leaves and avoid any that are wilting, yellowing or have discoloured patches or holes.

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

4 larger firm sweet potatoes, peeled & cut up into smaller chunks, washed & well-drained

Herbamare salt

Maldon sea salt

Black pepper

a fruity evoo

3 teaspoons of hot curry powder

100 ml coconut milk

1 + 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder

2 smaller dollops of vegan butter

2 tablespoons quinoa flakes

12 Vegan  & Gluten-free organic Tamruc falafel balls, mine were special ones with added dates, raisins & basil & parsley in them.  My brand was: Florentin Organic Kitchen, I bought it in the Bioplanet!

260 gr of shredded, cleaned pointed cabbage, the main hard core removed &outer leaf removed

To serve: 2 tablespoon pine nuts, 1 tablespoon per plate

Method:

1. Cook sweet potato chunks with some Herbamare salt added. Cook until al dente. Drain & steam off the excess of water. Add some black pepper & sea salt to taste, but not too much. I added 2 teaspoons of hot curry powder & 2 teaspoons of garlic powder. Mix & mash well. In the meantime, take a larger non-stick pan & pour 1 tablespoon or two of that fruity evoo all in it & heat up. When hot, add shredded pointed cabbage & stir fry until al dente. Add 1 teaspoon of hot curry powder & 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder & stir well. Add also the 2 tablespoons of quinoa flakes. Mix. Pour 100 ml of coconut milk to the mix. Mix well. Heat up. When cabbage is ready to eat, add to the sweet potato mix. Mash it through the sweet potatoes mash. I added 2 dollops of vegan butter to it. Mix well. Taste! It has to taste fabulous!

2. Fry your vegan, gluten-free falafel in some fruity evoo on medium heat on all sides until hot & browned on all sides. Cut each of your falafel into 2.

3. Take 2 clean plates & add pointed cabbage-sweet potato mash in the middle of each plate. Flatten it a bit. Divide your cut up falafel halves onto the 2 plates. Just before serving, scatter your 1 tablespoon of pine nuts over each platter & devour instantly with a loved one! Enjoy! The dates & raisins in the falafel go beautifully well with the hot curry powder & pointed cabbage -sweet potato mash! You also need the pine nuts! 😉 Yummmm!   

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook now! 🙂

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Curried pointed cabbage stir-fry with apples, raisins & pecans!

2. Spiced pointed cabbage & veggies soup with chickpeas 


64 responses to “Vegan, Gluten-Free curried sweet potato, pointed cabbage mash with falafel!

  1. Divalicious says:

    Looks delicious and now I have a hankering for some falafel…;)

  2. Great recipe Sophie

  3. This looks really tasty!

  4. Hey Sophie– love falafel. This looks great. You are so inventive!

  5. Sean says:

    Yum Yum, Sophie! Another tasty vegan gluten-free dinner! I can’t wait to make it too! 🙂

  6. Johan says:

    What a pretty delicious dinner, Sophie! My dinner for tonight! 🙂

  7. boeddhamum says:

    All favorite ingredients: what a nice combo and comforting plate of food!

    xo Linda

  8. wow, simply delicious!!!
    never had sweet potato curry before, sounds comforting…

  9. Hey, I learned something new today – pointed cabbage!

  10. Victoria says:

    I also ate pointed cabbage before but only in a stir-fry! Your dinner sounds healthy & with Sophie’s twist, I love it! 🙂 Thank you!

  11. Lovely! Anything with sweet potato :))

  12. These look UH-MAZ-IING!! You always have the best gf recipes!

  13. Sunny says:

    Ah, I love the sound of this dish!! Definitely will make it on to my repertoire for dinner this week!! 🙂

  14. Seriously, these keep making my mouth water. I must stop looking at these when I’m already hungry. This sounds and looks amazing!

  15. Thank you for teaching me about pointed cabbage 🙂

  16. hotlyspiced says:

    I cooked a dinner tonight with cabbage and a hot curry powder – it was wonderful! I’m glad you enjoyed your meal too xx

  17. Belinda says:

    Ooh Sophie! What a great tasty dinner! 🙂 Yum Yummm! Looks very appetizing too!

  18. Delicious Sophie! I love falafel! And we used to grow sweetheart cabbages – haven’t for a few years now, as the bugs seem to like them too much! 🙂

  19. Koko says:

    Mmmm this looks so good! I would like to try this lovely mash with New Zealand sweet potatoes, called Kumara! I just love falafel…your brand with extra dates and herbs sounds amazing!

  20. What a creative way to serve up falafel! I just got back home from Hawaii and happened to find leftover falafel still waiting for me in the freezer… This idea couldn’t have possibly come at a better time. 🙂

  21. Liz says:

    the cabbage is so pretty!

  22. Carolyn Jung says:

    I’ve never seen a pointy cabbage like that. Looks almost flower-like.

  23. What a delicious cabbage mash, this looks lovely 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  24. LOVE falafel! what a recipe! perfection xxxxx

  25. Liz says:

    Thanks for teaching me about pointed, hearted or sweetheart cabbage. I much prefer the sweetheart name..you certainly have tons of ideas on what to do with ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

  26. afracooking says:

    I never thought of combining falafel with anything else than pita/wrap or tabouleh. Great idea!

  27. laurasmess says:

    That is a seriously weird cabbage. I had no idea that pointed cabbages existed! Very cool Sophie! Love the idea of making curried potato mash. I’ve never actually put anything significant in to season my mashed potato before. I can’t wait to try this idea! xxx

  28. Molly says:

    Yummm, I love this idea! Homemade falafel is delish but I’ve never thought to smother it in sweet potato. That pointed cabbage is fascinating.

  29. Tammy says:

    Love this recipe!

  30. rika@vm says:

    That’s a pretty gorgeous cabbage and how interesting that it has a softer texture & sweeter taste! This looks pretty good in a stir-fry! I love sweet potatoes! x

  31. Georgina says:

    What a lovely dinner. This is definitely one to try!

Comments are closed.
