Posted in Recipes, Reviews

Vegan GF veggie tofu scramble and my favourite foodie product of the month!

MMM! Vegan deliciousness!
MMM! Vegan deliciousness!

Today, I made this tasty easy peasy mixed vegetable tofu scramble! I had a lot of veggies in my fridge to use up & wanted to use my new smoked Maldon sea salt for the very 1st time so I created this tasty lunch, breakfast or dinner! Check it out!!

There are NO EGGS in here though! :)
There are NO EGGS in here though! ๐Ÿ™‚

Recipe: For 2 persons with a whole lot of hunger!

Ingredients:

a fruity extra virgin olive oil ( evoo )

1/4 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon of smoked Maldon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon + 1/4 teaspoon of ground Jamaican pepper

1 teaspoon of ground turmeric ( Curcuma )

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

1 medium white onion, peeled & finely cut up

1/2 teaspoon + 1/2 teaspoon extra of dried Provenรงal herbs

125 gr of firm tofu, well-drained, pad dry on double kitchen paper, pressed for 30 minutes, if needed, pad dry again

1 large Belgian endive ( witlof ), cleaned, hard bottom on the inside cut out, chopped up into smaller chunks

5 big large white mushrooms, cleaned & cut up into thicker slices & then crosswise into smaller pieces

1 green bell pepper, cleaned, seeds & white bits removed, cut into strips

Method:

1. Heat a large non-stick pan on higher heat, add 1 tablespoon of evoo & heat up. Add chopped onion, garlic & fry for about 2 minutes. Stir often. Add 1/4 teaspoon of smoked Maldon sea salt & 1/4 teaspoon of ground Jamaican pepper. Stir often. Now, add green pepper strips & fry for about 3 to 5 minutes or until nearly soft. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil & add chopped mushrooms. Add some dried Provenรงal herbs seasoning, about 1/2 teaspoon. Add another 1/4 teaspoon of ground Jamaican pepper & 1/4 teaspoon of smoked Maldon sea salt. See that your mushrooms are browned on all sides & cooked through. Now, add crumbled tofu. Crumble it with your clean hands. Add 1 teaspoon of turmeric & scatter it over your crumbled tofu chunks. Fry & stir everything round in the hot pan. Fry your tofu scramble until cooked through & browned on all sides. Check the seasoning again & adjust if you need to. I added 1/2 teaspoon of dried Provenรงal herbs extra. Stir & taste again! Just before serving, I scattered some smoked Maldon sea salt flakes over the surface of my dish. Serve instantly with a loved one or gobble it all up by yourself! Enjoy! xxx ๐Ÿ™‚

I am going to start with a new blogpost every month about my favourite foodie product of the month & this time it is smoked Maldon sea salt flakes, yes, you guessed it right! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Smoked Maldon Sea Salt!
Smoked Maldon Sea Salt!

Smoked Maldon Sea Salt is my favourite cold smoked sea salt from the English town of Maldon. This smoked sea salt has a smoked flavour to it. This smoked sea salt is produced in the form of larger sea salt flakes & have a slightly brownish-whiteย colour, see?

Smoked Maldon sea salt flakes!
Smoked Maldon sea salt flakes!

Here are also some tried & tested recipe from my blog using Smoked Maldon sea salt:

1. Vegan spiced smoked cashew & black bean sandwich!

2. Cheesy smoked kale stoemp with fried vegetarian tofu burgers!

 

Stay tuned,ย Subscribe by email throughย the link belowย to getย my new cool newsletters aka posts!ย Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free!ย 

ย http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

59 thoughts on “Vegan GF veggie tofu scramble and my favourite foodie product of the month!

  1. Waw, Sophie! What a great tasty & filling tofu scramble! Being English, I also love smoked Maldon sea salt! Oooh yes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am getting hungry seeing your flavorsome dish!
    I didn’t know smoked Maldon sea salt yet, gonna look for it, thanks for the tip:-)

  3. Lovely tofu scramble Sophie, just my kind of thing! Everyone should try tofu scramble. Love the Maldon smoked sea salt too! Perfect tabletop seasoning for a vegetarian ‘bacony’ essence, great on a hot bowl of split pea soup too.

  4. Cute chubby little Top Chef, Sophie!
    Haven’t tried the smoked sea salt yet…guess I better as this sounds delicious.

  5. Sophie, this really looks delish! I’m going to give it a try. My almost-vegetarian daughter will love this, I think. I’ve made tempeh scramble before and she loved it. Tofu is even better, yeah? Thanks for the recipe, hon! XOXO

    1. Tempeh scramble sounds very interesting too!

      I hope you & your daughter will love it too! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a great & fun weekend! ๐Ÿ˜‰ xxx

  6. those are two of my favorites, too! Tofu scrambles and Maldon salt. Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks. I can find this smoked sea SALT online & in some great specialized stores in the bigger cities or in larger Foodie shops. โ˜บ๏ธ

  7. I love tofu scramble and have it at least once a week! And Maldon sea salt is the best ๐Ÿ™‚ I also use Nutritional Yeast, the vegan kind, which gives it a nice cheesy taste and the B12 is an added nutritional bonus. You can check out my recipe on my blog, but yours looks equally awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ Yum!

    1. I also am in love with the more normal Maldon sea salt! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I rarely eat Nutritional yeast because I can still eat cheese in moderation, being lactose-intolerant!

  8. Belgian endive & this yummy Maldon salted tofu scrambleโ€ฆthis sounds sooo good! I’m a huge fan of Maldon! x

  9. I may look like I’m stalking your page right now, but you are giving me so much inspiration as a newly turned vegetarian / trying to go vegan!

  10. I love smoked maldon salt!! This looks so yummy for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!! I like your tasty egg-free scramble!

Comments are closed.