Posted in Uncategorized

Gluten-Free Maple & cognac marinated pork chops, served with a parnsip & potato mash!

I love this lovely & delicious recipe. It is easy too. This is a true Winter recipe. Parsnips are in season. Parsnips are very underestimated vegetables in Belgium. This is one very festive dish, fit for The Christmas Table! 😉

A very festive dish!
A very festive dish!

MMM …

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:
2 thicker organic pork chops, cleaned, no bone & no fat
* For the marinade:
120 ml of cognac, I use Courvoisier cognac, is gluten-free
60 ml of maple syrup
1 heaped tablespoon of Dijon mustard
3 fat garlic cloves, peeled & finely cut up
sea salt
grinned fresh black pepper
* For the parsnip & potato mash:
600 gr of potatoes, peeled , washed & cut into 4
400 gr of parsnips, peeled, washed & cut into smaller pieces, the hard wooden nerve on the inside, cut off
sea salt
grinned black pepper
freshly grated nutmeg
a splash of heated milk
a bit of soy baking margarine
Method:
1. Take a large Ziploc bag. Clean your pork chops & cut away the fat. Score your pork with 3 or 4 semi cuts/ don’t cut the pork through,…you just want the marinade to soak in your pork. Place the pork chops in the bottom of your Ziploc bag.
2. Make the marinade. Take all ingredients for the marinade & place them into the bag. Add some sea salt & a few grins of black pepper to taste. Mix with a spoon. Close zip from the bag & place into a fitted bowl for when there is leakage. Place into the fridge for at least 4 to 12 hours! I marinated for 7 hours.
3. When you want to make dinner, take pork chops out of the fridge. Lift pork out of marinade & save the marinade. Boil potatoes until cooked through!! Drain well. Mash. In the meantime, boil parsnip pieces until al dente in boiling acid water. That will prevent the parsnips of becoming brown. This will take about 5 to 10 minutes. Drain well. Mash together with the potatoes & add some heated milk, baking margarine, sea salt, grinned black pepper, some freshly grated nutmeg. The mash has to taste fab!
5. Now, fry your pork chops in some baking margarine, until rosé on the inside. Adjust the heat if necessary because the meat will caramelise & can burn easily!! This will take about 4 to 6 minutes per side. Wrap the pork chops in aluminium foil to rest for 5 minutes or so & to keep them warm. So, that the meat will be juicy & tender. In the meantime, boil the marinade until it is a bit thicker. If it is not the right consistency, add 1 tablespoon of maïzena express. (this is cornstarch ) Let the sauce boil for 1 minute to thicken & whisk well because you don’t want any lumps! Preheat your serving plates!!!
6. Plate up, with a medium cooking ring on the middle of the plate & fill up with mash. Level the top with a knife & remove carefully the ring. Slice the rested meat in thinker slices & place round the mash. Laddle the sauce around & on top of the meat & enjoy!!

Stay tuned, Subscribe by email through the link below to get my new cool newsletters aka posts! Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! 

 http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Sophies Foodie Files

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

34 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Maple & cognac marinated pork chops, served with a parnsip & potato mash!

  1. I know exactly what you mean I really do not make parsnip often enough. Love the idea of using it for a mash!

  2. Sophie – this is my kind of dinner…yummmm! Love the cognac in this recipe – so tasty. I just did a new pork chop recipe too…great minds think alike my friend! 🙂

  3. Sophie, I have JUST discovered parsnips and their goodness. You are right, they are underestimated. They taste amazing and I really like their texture. I was looking for recipes for them (I’ve only used them in soups so far) and I totally look forward to making the mash. Yay!

    1. I have many parsnips recipes on my blog, filled under recipe by ingrediënt, just scroll alfabetically to parsnips & you Will find many special recipes with parsnips like vegan parsnips & smoked tofu burgers,….Yeahhhh! X

      1. Wow, that was fun browsing your recipes by ingredient. Made me want to try a whole bunch of them! I do like the Roasted balsamic & rosemary parsnips a lot too. Another parsnip recipe I’m interested in trying out.

  4. I love parsnips too but they’re quite expensive here – so much more than pumpkin or sweet potato and I have no idea why. I love the sound of your maple marinated pork – that must have delicious flavour xx

  5. This looks rich and marvelous Sophie– and I remember “maizena” from the years we lived in Spain! This is on my after Christmas things to try list.

  6. Yummy. This looks so good. I’ve never tried parsnips (that I’m aware of!) but this looks like an excellent recipe to try!

Comments are closed.