Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

A warm Puy lentil, parsnip & watercress salad!

on 08/11/2013
MMM! :)

MMM! πŸ™‚

This evening, I made this tasty warm Puy lentil, roasted parsnip & watercress salad. A seasonal warm salad! I topped it with shaved sheep’s Pecorino. I drizzled this tasty salad with a fitted garlic-lavender honey-mustard dressing! All of the flavours went magically together,..;You taste the sweet of the parsnip, the salty of the cheese on top, the peppery side of the fresh watercress & the dressing topped it with tasty deliciousness,…:) Oooh yeah! I know that you will love this warm tasty salad too! πŸ˜‰

Let’s digg in! πŸ™‚

Digg in, I say!

Digg in, I say!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

1/2 bunch of fresh watercress, big stalks removed

Pecorino sheep’s cheese, a smaller piece, grated not so fine

* For the cooked Puy lentils:

75 gr dried Puy lentils

1/2 white onion

1 dried bay leaf

4 parsley stalks

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

* For the oven-roasted parsnips:

3 big parsnips, peeled & cut up into bite-sized chunks

black pepper

sea salt

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

* For the mustard-lavender honey dressing:

2 teaspoons mustard

2 teaspoons lavender honey or another good honey

1 tablespoon lemon juice

4 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

1 fat clove of garlic, cut up finely

black pepper

Maldon sea salt

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β°C (400 F ) for 10 minutes. Place your parsnip chunks in 1 layer in a fitted non-stick oven dish & add some black pepper & sea salt. Drizzle with a fruity evoo. With clean hands, mingle everything together. Roast until tender. It took me 25 minutes. Turn your parsnips over, after half of the cooking time.

2. First, place your dried lentils in a cooking pot. Just cover them with water, bring to the boil & boil for 1 minute. Drain well & fill again with water until it just covers the lentils. Add your aromatics to the lentils. This is the 1/2 onion, 4 parsley stalks & 1 dried bay leaf. Bring to the boil & simmer the lentils until just cooked through. I had to add a bit of hot water to my lentils. My lentils were cooked through after 20 minutes. Keep warm. Take your aromatics out of your lentils.

3. In the meantime, make your dressing. I placed my garlic in my pestle & mortar & added a bit of sea salt & pasted it into a kind of paste. I put this into a clean jam pot & added the other ingredients too. I closed my jam pot with a fitted lid & shaked my dressing up & down & up & down until all was well emulsified. Taste! It has to taste fabulous!

4. When you are ready to plate up, divide your watercress on the 2 plates. Arrange your parsnip chunks all over the 2 plates & divide your cooked aromatic Puy lentils in the middle & around the sides of your plates. Drizzle your dressing all over each plate, into a circle. Scatter some grated sheep’s Pecorino cheese all over the top of each salad & enjoy instantly with a loved one, of course! πŸ˜‰ MMM,…I assure you! πŸ˜‰Β Stay tuned,Β Subscribe by email throughΒ the photo linkΒ belowΒ to getΒ my new cool newsletters aka posts!Β Join 1,800 email Subscribers! It is free! Get my E-Book: Healthy Vegan Christmas here too! πŸ™‚Β 

 

 

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files


78 responses to “A warm Puy lentil, parsnip & watercress salad!

  1. Sophie, I see what you did there. You psyched me out a bit. I thought you had combined parsnips with the puy. Well done. Really like what you did with the dressing. Brings it all together.

  2. What a flavourful salad, lovely job my friend πŸ˜€
    I need to get more acquainted with watercress!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. Sophie, Please edit. I swear, I couldn’t find the parsnips in that recipe. Now I found them. Sorry! I think I need my weekend desperately.

  4. I finally found puy lentils in our local store. With parsnip and watercress, it must be one of those unique tasting salad, I guess. πŸ˜€

  5. Liz says:

    Warm salad is the way to go now. It sounds very delicious. Thank you for sharing!!! Fabulous weekend to you!

  6. Liz says:

    never been a parsnip fan, but something about the way you’ve prepared it has me wanting some πŸ™‚ Like the idea of combining it with lentils, too.

  7. Penniless Veggie says:

    Wowser! This is such a unique yet perfect autumnal combination. You really think your flavours through don’t you? Great stuff!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ I was playing with this salad for a while now but only today, came up with the perfect combinations! πŸ™‚

  8. Ina gawne says:

    This salad looks scrumptious Sophie! I love salads of any kind…the parsnip in this salad is a wonderful addition..yummm!

  9. twbarritt says:

    I love lentils, and they would be delicious with parsnips – two wonderful, earthy flavors! Dinner salads are my favorite!

  10. Looks great Sophie. Nice balance of flavour!

  11. Pass a spoon over, please! This looks mouthwatering!

  12. Tammy says:

    Sophie,,, this is my kind of dish! I love it. The only modification that I might make is in the dressing. I am not much of a sweet dressing person but I think I might top it with a bit of sriracha!

  13. afracooking says:

    What a truely inspired combination. I really enjoy lentils and the sweetness of parsnips is so wonderful. Putting them together is pure genious! πŸ™‚

  14. Puy lentils are my favorite! Lovely combination, Sophie.

  15. Love your salad combinations Sophie! πŸ™‚

  16. lou says:

    Hoi Sophie,
    it looks again very colourful and the taste will be delicious!
    Well done, Love.
    Mamalou

  17. chef mimi says:

    Le puys are my favorite variety of lentil and i love them in salads. This salad looks absolutely divine!!!

  18. hotlyspiced says:

    What a winning dish. I love parsnips but have never had them like this before. I think this would be very yummy with the shaved pecorino over it xx

  19. Barbara says:

    I love lentil salads, Sophie! Never have been too crazy for parsnips, but this dish looks great!

  20. What a lovely salad Sophie and I adore lentils. My husband would love the addition of the parsnips. He’s always asking for more recipes using them. Hope you are having a lovely weekend.
    Sam

  21. uberdish says:

    Oh, I have to make this dish! I love the addition of roasted parsnips. Yum!

  22. gotastΓ© says:

    Sophie, this is such a mouthwatering recipe with so many of my favorite ingredients. I love watercress salads and sheep’s pecorino? Aw….and honey mustard sauce. Oh my… you won’t know what I’m missing here…danny

  23. mmmarzipan says:

    wow! delicious!

  24. I wasn’t going to guess I would have a craving for lentils today, but because of your post I do! πŸ™‚

  25. What a beautiful looking salad! How delish!

  26. THis. IS. Gorgeous.

  27. Oh yum!! We have our first snow of the season on the ground, so a warm salad sounds really good right now!

  28. Lovely salad!
    look at the color, i’ve never taste puy lentil before, i’m on search on it now…..

  29. Puy lentils and oven-roasted parsnips are so good together! Interesting ingredients for the dressing – I would love experiment with floral dressing sometimes!

  30. Koko says:

    This dressing sounds AMAZING! I would love to maybe sprinkle some dried lavender in their too. Oh, Sophie, this dish is so healthful and tasty looking!

  31. Hi! I’ve just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! http://tastytreats13.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/awards-2/ Congratulations!

  32. Lavender honey? Mmmm… everything looks and sounds exotic!

  33. mmmarzipan says:

    Just gave you a little shout out on my blog too, by the way πŸ™‚ x

  34. Looks hearty and delicious Sophie! And, surprisingly, I have parsnips in the fridge! thanks.

  35. Puy lentils are probably my favourite kind, and parsnips… Mmmmm! I’m just holding out for a frost!

  36. This is wonderful Sophie. I love the combination of parsnips with puy lentils. Lovely.

  37. vixbakes says:

    Hi Sophie, this looks delicious. I totally must try this recipe soon. I think a sprinkle of toasted hazelnuts would work great with it as well…

  38. Mmm, what a perfect autumnal salad! I’ve been really loving savory hazelnut dishes lately, too, so this is right up my alley.

  39. laurasmess says:

    Gorgeous recipe! I love, love the sound of that dressing with the sweet parsnip and watercress. Yummy and nutritious. It’s salad weather here at the moment so I can see myself eating a big plate of this very soon! x

Comments are closed.
