Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Nadine’s easy gluten-free chicken curry, with GF brown rice noodles!

on 06/10/2013
Sophie's tasty easy chicken curry with Gf brown rice noodles!

Nadine’s tasty easy chicken curry with Gf brown rice noodles!

Yesterday evening, I made this tasty easy gluten-free chicken curry & served it with gluten-free brown rice noodles. This is an easy recipe from my best friend, Nadine! I adapted it to my needs & made it a bit more spicier! πŸ˜‰

Recipe: For 4 persons

Ingredients:

* For the chicken marinade: ( 3 to 4 hours before dinner )

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon gluten-free chicken seasoning

1 tablespoon turmeric ( Curcuma )

2 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil = evoo

* For the rest:

380 gr gluten-free brown rice noodles

350 gr organic chicken fillets, dairy & gluten-free, cleaned & cut up into bite-sized chunks

1 yellow bell pepper, cleaned, seeds & white bits removed, cut into smaller strips & then into smaller pieces

a good wok oil, with roasted sesame in it

a fruity extra virgin olive oil, the same as above

350 gr mixed wok veggies ( mine had soy sprouts, Chinese white cabbage, leeks, white onions & red bell pepper pieces in it )

1 can of coconut milk/ I used fair-trade, well shaken, poured out & whisked all up with a whisk

2 tablespoons of a good gluten-free, Thai red curry paste

To serve: freshly cut up coriander leaves

Method:

1. 4 hours before dinner, make your chicken marinade. Take a large Ziplock bag & add chicken chunks. Add garlic powder, chicken seasoning & turmeric. Spoon all over the chicken pieces so that each piece has been coated with the spice mix. Now, pour 2 tablespoons fruity evoo all over it & mix well with a spoon all over & under the chicken pieces. Remove air from bag & close it with the ziplock system. Now, with your hands, outside the bag, massage the meat, all over. Place into a fitted bowl for whenΒ there is leakage. Place in the fridge for at least 3 to 4 hours. I marinated my chicken for 4 hours! When you are planning to make dinner, take out of the fridge.

2. Firstly, boil your GF brown rice noodles according to your packet instructions. Drain. Take your wok. I have an electric one with non-stick coating. I smeared my wok in with a combo of wok oil & fruity evoo, all over & on the sides too. I wokked my chicken first, on all sides until nearly cooked through. Your house will smell amazing! This took me about 3 to 5 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chicken pieces. Remove the chicken & keep warm. Add some more wok oil & add pepper pieces & stir-fry for a bout 2 minutes, add other wok veggies & stir-fry for about 2 minutes or so. Add some splashes of boiling water to the wok to steam the veggies a bit, with the lid on. Now, add 2 tablespoons of red curry paste & stir well. Fry for another 1 to 2 minutes Β & add all the coconut milk. Stir well. Place the lid on & off & reduce the coconut milk a bit so you will end up with a lovely coconut sauce. Check if the veggies have beenΒ cooked & check the seasoning. Add your noodles & fried chicken back to the wok. Stir everything round into the hot wok. Place the lid back on & heat up again. After 1 minute or so, my curry was ready to be devoured,…:)

3. Serve your easy chicken curry into lovely white bowls & scatter some cut up fresh coriander leaves all over your tasty dish! Serve instantly with loved ones! πŸ˜‰ Enjoy! xxxΒ β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

 

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s easy Vegan & Gluten-free curry

34 responses to “Nadine’s easy gluten-free chicken curry, with GF brown rice noodles!

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Looking delicious Sophie (and Nadine)! Love your idea of whipping up the coconut milk.

  2. Such a delicious and comforting meal! Love brown rice noodles!!

  3. lou says:

    Hello Sophie,
    I like Nadine’s dish very much. You’ve made it a little bit tastier, well done. Enjoy!
    Mamalou

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    This looks like a lovely recipe Sophie. I would change the garlic powder to fresh garlic or granulated garlic because in Canada garlic powder always has additives like salt. Granulated garlic is simply freeze-dried and pulverized garlic. I haven’t seen brown rice noodles so I’m going to keep my eyes open next time at my Asian market.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Normally, I do that too but garlic powder is easy to use & strong in flavour to use in marinades,…:)
      I buy my brown rice noodles, all Gf in my food health shop though!

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Thanks for the tip, I’ll check my hf shop next time. I love white rice noodles so I’ll likely love the brown variety too!

  5. Liz says:

    good call on the spicy–looks hearty and delish πŸ™‚

  6. Wow! This looks very delicious! Yum!

  7. Susanne Haun says:

    I like noodles and I try this recept…..

  8. Looks delicious! I like how you made it spicier πŸ™‚

  9. Love the kick of spice you threw in this!

  10. Bernice says:

    Looks yummy!!!

  11. Love this recipe Sophie– love anything noodle-y. And we have all these ingredients at my market here! Trying it out this week. Thanks for all you post…

  12. Can’t go wrong with curry! I always serve mine with plain old white rice, but I love the idea of a noodle-y accompaniment. Gotta try that next time.

  13. Koko says:

    I love curry…especially Thai curry! This looks so good Sophie! I always eat curry with rice or quinoa, but why not brown rice noodles. They make this dish extra special…I think I will try noodles from now on! Maybe even some zucchini noodles or something. Great recipe, Sophie!!

  14. Liz says:

    That’s a lot of turmeric. Does it still taste nice? I don’t know why I always use just a little turmeric, like one teaspoon at most. I would love to fry chicken with a larger dose of turmeric. Never tried it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yes, Liz? inwas only used into the marinade & it was delicious! Otherwise, I wouldn’t say so,….

      • Liz says:

        Thanks. I have some boneless chicken that needs quick frying. Should I pour the chicken + all the marinade in the wok when frying?

      • Sophie33 says:

        It is more of a dry marinade with the minimum of oil to combine the spice stick to the chicken pieces.

      • Liz says:

        I’ll try it. Will let you know the outcome. Thanks!

  15. Mmmm… Divine and comforting!

Comments are closed.
