Sophie's Foodie Files

Mostly healthy tasty colorful cooking & gardening with Sophie's twist!

Roasted spiced parsnip, pumpkin & chickpea soup, Vegan + Gluten-Free! :)

on 26/09/2013
MMM! Roasted spiced parsnip, pumpkin soup with chickpeas

MMM! Roasted spiced parsnip, pumpkin & garlic soup with chickpeas

Yesterday, I made this tasty soup! This is also Vegan + Gluten-Free! I roasted my parsnips, pumpkin, unpeeled garlic & an onion in the hot oven & spiced them all up using turmeric & smoked spiced paprika! Then, I added a vegan & Gluten-Free vegetable stock & added 1 can of drained chickpeas. I poured 3/4 of my soup into my Vitamix. It is a smooth, divine & very tasty soup with here & there chunks of roasted garlic, pumpkin & parsnip in there,…

Yummmmm! πŸ™‚

Recipe: For 6 persons, with a lot of hunger

Ingredients:

600 gr peeled parsnips, Β cut into smaller strips ( weighted when peeled )

220 gr peeled pumpkin, cut into smaller chunks ( weighted when peeled )

1 fat big onion, peeled & cut into smaller wedges

4 fat cloves of unpeeled garlic in their skins

2 teaspoons of turmeric ( Curcuma )

3 teaspoons of smoked spicy paprika ( PimentΓ³n picante )

28 grins of finely milled black pepper

Maldon sea salt: 1/2 teaspoon + a few pinches extra

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

1500 ml of a hot good Vegan + Gluten-Free vegetable stock

1 can of cooked chickpeas, rinsed & well-drained too

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200Β° C ( 400 F ) for about 10 minutes. In 2 non-stick oven roasting tins, place your parsnips & pumpkin cubes in 1 layer in it. Tuck your onion wedges & unpeeled garlic cloves neatly between it all. Now, scatter your turmeric, smoked spicy paprika, finely milled black pepper & sea salt all over your veggies, divided over the 2 oven tins. Do the same with your fruity evoo, drizzle it all over the veggies, equally divided over the 2 roasting tins. With clean hands, mingle everything together so that all veggies are coated with the spice-oil mix. Place into the oven & roast until just tender & cooked through. It took me 25 minutes. In half of the roasting time, turn all your veggies over for an equal roast & to prevent burning on one side!

When ready, test with a fork to see if the veggies are cooked through. If so, place all of your veggies in 1 big cooking pot & add hot vegetable stock. Add drained chickpeas. Stir well & taste. My soup was just right,…spiced but you can still taste the roasted parsnips & pumpkin too. I got the roasted garlic out of their shells & placed it back into the soup. I poured 3/4 of my soup into my beloved Vitamix & blended the soup until creamy & completely smooth. I left the rest of the soup whole, like you can see in my picture above. You can still see some chickpeas, parsnip & pumpkin pieces & a garlic clove or two. I like that sometimes in my soup. If you don’t like that, blend the soup completely smooth,….Enjoy instantly,..this is a kind of one pot meal soup! Enjoy! πŸ™‚ x

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Vegan white cabbage & pumpkin soup

2. Vegan smoked spiced paprika, white beans & chickpeas soup

3. Spiced pointed cabbage, veggie & chickpeas soup

4. Spiced Summer pumpkin, butternut pumpkin & red bell peppers soup

54 responses to “Roasted spiced parsnip, pumpkin & chickpea soup, Vegan + Gluten-Free! :)

  1. Sally says:

    Love parsnip soup but have never thought of putting chickpeas with it. Very nourishing πŸ™‚

  2. Esther Dillen says:

    It was yummy indeed! Breakfast thos morning: excellent πŸ™‚ talk soon!!

  3. Ally says:

    I love pumpkin; I love chickpeas. A scrumptious combo. I’m sure the parsnip adds a delicious flavour too. πŸ™‚

  4. Looks and sounds delish! πŸ™‚

  5. Delicious combination, Sophie, and I love the color. Feeling like fall!!

  6. Liz says:

    gorgeous πŸ™‚ love the combination of the chickpeas, parsnips, turmeric, etc. Fall is here!

  7. Katarina says:

    Great combination of flavors! Hugs.

  8. Loving how creamy and fresh this soup looks, definitely going on my Fall menu!

  9. What a fabulous fall soup Sophie!! Gonna have to try this! Celeste πŸ™‚

  10. A fantastic autumn soup, Sophie. It has EVERYTHING I love.

  11. ritavegas says:

    Yumm Yumm! I love soups and it’s getting colder here in Las Vegas.. Your soup is on my list! I’ll make it definitely πŸ™‚

  12. Jim Brennan says:

    You’ve done it again, Sophie. Soup time!

  13. Molly says:

    So glad it’s finally the time of year for root veggies and creamy blended soups! πŸ™‚

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    I love parsnips and roasting them before adding them to the soup would certainly bring out their flavour. This looks like a comforting meal on a cold night xx

  15. This soup looks delicious! I love pumpkin and chickpeas–tasty but healthy too!

  16. Roasted soup – I love the flavours of roasted vegetables – this sounds so good Sophie! Perfect for autumn πŸ™‚

  17. Koko says:

    Ohhhhhh my god, this soup sounds perfect. I am craving soup these days!! I am sick, yet not skipping work, and I’m soo worn out because of that and not so hungry for regular meals. Soup is exactly what I do feel like…something light and comforting and filling. I think I will have to make this this weekend. Thanks Sophie!! πŸ™‚

    • Sophie33 says:

      I hope you will be feeling better really soon, my dear friend! xxx Make this soup & you will feel better straight away! πŸ˜‰ Ha! xxx

  18. Love the way you use roasted veggies and chickpeas.. so hearty! πŸ™‚

  19. Yum! Must be delicious on a cold, wintery day! :3

  20. Liz says:

    This soup is a winner. I love all the ingredients in it and would love to eat it. I love it that you add chick peas too. Thanks so much for sharing.

  21. Tammy says:

    I love one-pot meals.

  22. Wow, this looks like a fantastic soup! I love pumpkin soup and next time I’m adding parsnips and chickpeas to it. Sure love fall!

  23. Yum! This sounds really really good! Great post!

  24. MakeSomethingMondays says:

    This is, by far, my favorite food blog. You have great recipes (including this one). Soup is my world.

  25. Ina gawne says:

    Wow Sophie – this soup looks and sounds scrumptious….one of my favorite comfort foods – yummm!

  26. Love all the spices and ingredients used for this soup — totally making this πŸ˜€

  27. Bernice says:

    I like the spices you added – a nice touch!

Comments are closed.
