Posted in Recipes

Pecan & sage crusted turkey fillets, red quinoa & sage scented parsnips & carrots! :)

MMMM!
MMMM!

Because the weather has changed over here in Belgium, I needed a more comforting dinner. Because it is Autumn, I wanted to eat my first parsnips & the time was right for creating something new with them, so I created this divine tasty dinner! I am sure that you all will love it too! πŸ™‚ Bye By Summer, we will see you next year,…

I encrusted flat organic turkey fillets, on both sides with crushed pecans, fresh sage from my sage plant & some fresh garlic! I served it with cooked red quinoa & roasted sage scented parsnips & carrots. It was a fabulous, easy & divine fragrant dinner! Best served with a loved one,…He or she will praise you,...This reminds me of the great song by Moby: Praise you!

Check it all out! πŸ˜‰

The lovely double crust of fresh sage, crushed pecans & garlic!
The lovely fried double crust of fresh sage, crushed pecans & garlic!

Recipe: For 2 persons:

Ingredients:

* For the sage, pecan crusted turkey fillets:

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & cut up

2 packed tablespoons of fresh cleaned sage leaves, torn up

1 egg, whisked loose with a fork

black pepper: 10 grins

Maldon sea salt: 1/2 teaspoon & pinch or two

1 cup peeled pecan halves

2 flat turkey fillets, Β that are Dairy-free & Gluten-free , each about 150 gr/ If your turkey fillets are not flat, flatten them out with a meat basher!

a fruity evoo to fry your pecan sage crusted turkey fillets in

* For the sage scented parsnip & carrot mix:

300 gr peeled carrots, cut horizontally into 2 & then crosswise into 2 ( weighted when peeled & cut up ) See pic above!

190 gr peeled parsnips,Β Β cut horizontally into 2 & then crosswise into 4 or 5 pieces ( weighted when peeled & cut up ) See pic above!

4 fat cloves of Unpeeled garlic

1/2 fat big white onion, peeled & cut into finer wedges

a fruity evoo: 3 tablespoons

black pepper: 10 grins

Maldon sea salt: 1/2 teaspoon

fresh sage leaves: 1/2 tablespoon, torn up

* For the cooked red quinoa:

enough red quinoa for 2 persons, well-rinsed under cold water & well-drained too.

black pepper: 6 grins to add to the boiling water

a few pinches of Maldon sea salt

Method:

1. First, make your pecan sage encrusted turkey fillets. Take your food processor & put the S-blade in it. Add garlic, torn sage leaves, black pepper, sea salt & pecan halves. Blitz on full power or less power until it all resembles bread crumbs, stop & taste! It has to taste pungent & just right & has to look something like this:

The lovely pecan, sage, garlic mix!
The lovely pecan, sage, garlic mix!

2. Take 4 clean plates & on plate 1, you place your flattened turkey fillets. On plate 2, you pour the whisked egg, you dip your turkey fillets on both sides into the beaten egg On plate 3, you place the pecan-sage-garlic mix, spread out. You dip each side of the turkey fillets into the mix & on plate 4 you place them, spaced apart, something like this:

The encrusted turkey fillets!
The encrusted turkey fillets!

Then, I placed cling film over the plates & put them in the fridge to stiff up a bit, while you prepare the rest of your dinner. Because they only need Β few minutes per side for frying.

2. Now, preheat your oven to 200Β°C for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature, if you need to. In a large non-stick oven roasting dish, place your carrot & parsnip strips in 1 layer in it. Tuck your onion wedges & unpeeled garlic neatly between it all. Scatter your torn up sage leaves over it, add your pepper & sea salt. Pour 3 tablespoons of that fruity evoo over it. With clean hands, mingle everything together. Place into the hot oven & bake for about 25 to 35 minutes. I needed 30 minutes. After 15 minutes of roasting, turn all the veggies over to prevent burning & for an equal roast. When done, check if the veggies are cooked through. Check often.

3. In the meantime, cook your red quinoa according to your packet instructions. I added 6 grins of finely milled black pepper & a few pinches of sea salt to the boiling water. Drain well & steam off the excess water. Keep warm. Take the encrusted turkey fillets out of the fridge & remove cling film.Β Now, take large non-stick pan & heat up on medium-high. When hot, pour enough of that fruity evoo into the hot pan & place your 2 crusted turkey fillets in them. Fry for a few minutes onto each side until the crust has been browned, is crunchy & the turkey has been cooked through. This can take a few minutes more. Lower the heat if you need to.

4. Plate it all up, serve at once & enjoy it best with a loved one,…He or she will praise you, like forever,…that is what happened to me last evening! πŸ™‚ Yeahhhh!

β™₯Β Stay Tuned & subscribe by email! Join 1,800 email subscribers now!!! It is free!!!! Click the link here below to subscribe!!!

http://eepurl.com/bSJtUr

Follow me on Facebook too! πŸ™‚

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Roasted parsnips with rosemary & balsamic vinegar!

2. Vegan spiced parsnip & smoked tofu burgers!

3. Baked parsnips with sage & soy cream sauce!

4. Maple & cognac marinated pork chops, served with a potato & parsnip mash!

Author:

Hello! My name is Sophie & I love to cook & bake mostly healthily but with a twist! There is a bit of gardening & travelling in here too! Enjoy! :)

58 thoughts on “Pecan & sage crusted turkey fillets, red quinoa & sage scented parsnips & carrots! :)

  1. That does look divine, Sophie! I’ve only recently introduced parsnips to my kids, and guess what? No complaint! I think that’s about the only “new” veggie my son didn’t spit out upon first try. Ok, then, we’ll be eating lots of parsnips this winter. πŸ™‚

    1. I have many recipes on parsnips on my blog, also mentioned below my post, check them out, sweery! Enjoy them all! xxx

  2. Sophie! You used parsnips. I love parsnips. The recipe is so easy. I love the toss and then roast. One could have a cocktail while everything cooks. Thank you!

  3. Every part of this meal sounds awesome! So autumnal! I’m a vegetarian so I think I’d try the pecans on tofu or tempeh, maybe. Yummm.

  4. Beautiful meal for Peter and you! I love parsnips! I often make parsnip ‘fries’ by just slicing them up like fries and roasting them! They are such a perfect vegetable for Fall. The weather has changed here too….time for comfort food!!

  5. I bet the pecan really added the perfect texture and flavour to the turkey fillets! Fall is the perfect time for root veggies, I just adore them roasted.

  6. Nice meal Sophie, I especially like the pecan crusted turkey…yum!
    Thanks for the recipe and have a great week πŸ˜€

  7. I love the look of this dinner. I wish turkey was more readily available here but we seem to only be able to buy whole birds at Christmas time. It’s amazing how quickly your seasons change. Over here we’re really enjoying Spring xx

  8. The meal sounds exciting. I love the carrot and parsnip mix most. But i also love it that there is some chunk of turkey to go with it. Veggies alone, tend to make me feel hungrier faster. Thanks for sharing! Best wishes!

Comments are closed.